30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is wonderful! We absolutely loved it! It's easy and quick and flavorful! I saute garlic, mushrooms and parsley first than took it off the heat (didn't want to burnt garlic) and then did chicken breast on high heat to get that golden color. Then I add all ingredients to chicken. I doubled the sauce and add 1tsp. of flour. Used chicken stock. Served with rice. Next time I will triple the sauce. Will definitely make again. Thank you morgainegeiser!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hanka December 12, 2011

This dish was delish! I made a few changes to the already easy recipe however. Rather than bread the chicken I sauteed them in EVOO, garlic, and onion until browned. I quadrupled the amount of liquid (a half marsala/half stock combo) and it was the perfect amount of sauce for 5 large chicken breasts over pasta. I also took the advice of previous postings and added fresh portabellas, heavy cream and blanched asparagus to simmer a few minutes before serving. This was a huge hit in our home. Highly recommend!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leshermommy January 24, 2011

I was amazed at the simplicity of this dish and how great it tasted. I echo all comments about adding more liquid than the recipe calls for. I used a combo of Pinot Grigio and chicken stock. I put much more in than called for, and it still wasn't enough once I went to plate this with linguini. I also took the suggestion of dipping the chicken in in milk (buttermilk/skim milk combo) first. It made a great crust the kids really liked. Adding extras such as a red pepper, along with just a few red pepper flakes for some mild heat were very good ideas. You may even be able to add some asparagus to increase the health and color of the dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klkilgore_4498286 January 19, 2011

I also sliced the chicken in half rather than pounding. I gotta tell you, the more mushrooms, the better! The chicken was very tender and moist. This doesn't make a lot of sauce, but what sauce there is is very flavorful. Thanks for posting, and congrats on your football win!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl January 07, 2010

This was excellent! We tripled the recipe for leftovers throughout the week. I didn't have any mushrooms on hand, but next time I will make sure I do! Only thing I would do different is double the sauce! Thanks for such a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Husker Fan October 24, 2009

WOW! Made this as written but added all the pallet of mushrooms (which was about 1.5 cups). Family loved the flavour and I also loved how quick it was to put together. We served it with crusty bread to soak up all the juices. Thank you morgainegeiser

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer March 02, 2009

Delicious! I made enough for 18 guests who simply loved it. I had 9 huge breasts which I halved. I omitted the flour and just browned the chicken in butter; then I placed it in a slow cooker. Next I browned the mushrooms in 4 Tablespoons butter and added 1 cup of Marsala Wine. Then I mixed 1/4 cup of flour into 1 cup of cream and 1 T lemon juice. I poured all onto the chicken, covered the slow cooker and cooked on low for 1 hour until it was time to serve. Leftovers heated up well in microwave.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grammyof3 February 19, 2009

I thought this was a tasty chicken marsala dish that was easy to prepare. I doubled the sauce ingredients as other reviewers suggested, and had no problem with the thickness of the sauce, as I let it reduce for quite awhile. Thanks for a nice dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny January 30, 2009

WOW is right! Made this for the first time tonight and man, was it yummy! Simple and easy to prepare and the flavors are definitely there! I should have doubled the sauce ingredients but did not - I definitely will next time!.... This one is a keeper for sure. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tucsonbrat January 10, 2009

Excellent, quick and easy recipe that tastes wonderful!! I made as is except for adding 1/2 cup each of marsala wine and chicken broth. I also took another reviewers advice and added some cornstarch to thicken slightly. The sauce is yummo!! and I love the marsala with the mushrooms a very tasty sauce for chicken. It also goes well up there in my books for ease of making and the one skillet thing is great for less mess. Thanks for posting a great recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Flying Chef January 07, 2009
Skillet Chicken Marsala