Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Everyday Party Ideas >

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    27 Easy, Crowd-Pleasing Recipes
    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Movie Night Just Got Way More Fun
    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    It's Not Delivery, It's All You
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Skillet Chicken Marsala Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Skillet Chicken Marsala

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on March 03, 2009

      This is wonderful. I sliced my chicken breasts in half instead of pounding them and made this with the chicken broth. I used a combination of button, cremini and portabello mushrooms. I allowed the chicken to simmer in the liquid for 20 minutes or so with a lid on top and the chicken was unbelievably tender and juicy. After removing the chicken from the pan I added a small amount of cornstarch and water and a little bit of half and half cream to make a cream sauce to pour over top. This was a very easy, very tasty dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      Excellent as written. I've reviewed this before but now I want to include these notations for my own later use. I use boneless, skinless thighs, chunked and not flattened, or chicken breasts as directed, but I have also used pork tenderloin medallions and they are excellent also (my husband's favorite!). I put this together differently because I want lots of sauce for angel hair pasta and I have been working on that and finally got it to my satisfaction, and in doing that I also modified the ingredients. I used about 3 T of my homemade parsley pesto with a little roasted garlic olive oil and added about 3 T refrigerated minced garlic, and about 8 very large sliced mushrooms in a skillet, and sauteed until the mushrooms were tender. Then I removed the mushroom mixture, putting about 2/3 of the mushroom mixture (reserving the remainder) in a saucepan and added to that a mixture or 1 C chicken broth and 1 tsp cornstarch, and 1/4 C Marsala and a sprinkle of smoked kosher salt and brought it to a boil until thickened and then added about 2 T heavy cream and 2 sliced green onions, heated well and turned off the burner. Meanwhile I proceeded to follow this Skillet recipe pretty much as written, just adding back the already sauteed mushrooms where the fresh ones would be added. To serve I put the cooked pasta in a pasta dish, topped with the sauce and then topped that with the Skillet Marsala Chicken mixture. These changes gave me the additional sauce I wanted without sacrificing any of the yummy flavor of this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      This was tasty when prepared per the recipe directions, but a few changes, in my opinion, greatly improve the dish. First, one needs to make more sauce by increasing the amount of mushrooms and the Marsala wine. More than double the amount of sauce called for in the recipe is not too much to serve with the amount of chicken listed in the ingredients. Second, if the chicken is dipped in milk before being dredged in flour, the texture of the coating is greatly improved. What is fantastic about this recipe is that it is so easily prepared "in one pot."

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      Wow...was this ever delicious!! I was amazed that something so quick and easy could be so flavorful. Like some previous reviewers, I doubled the sauce ingredients and mushrooms. Also, I made a slurry with a little water and cornstarch and added it to the pan to thicken the sauce. I used a marsala wine from a local vineyard and it worked really well with this recipe. My family devoured this and gave it 2 huge thumbs up. Thank you for sharing this fabulous recipe...it is definitely a keeper!! *Made for AUS/NZ Swap*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2014

      Yum! I used boneless skinless chicken thighs un flatened with Baby Bella mushrooms and okay, went a little overboard on the Marsala makes for more gravy juice...Delicious! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2013

      I've had a full bottle of marsala sitting in my cupboard for about five years and opened it tonight to make this amazing recipe. I diced chicken thighs and doubled the sauce by using 1/4 cup of marsala and 1/4 cup of chicken broth. Also used extra mushrooms. Very popular with all the eaters and very clean plates. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2012

      I adore chicken marsala and this recipe is top notch. Using the marsala wine really brings the taste to another level, so future reviewers...don't leave it out. TYSM Morgaine.
      Made for AU Recipeswap

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2012

      Great recipe! I misread the instructions and added marsala wine and chicken stock. It was a yummy mistake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2012

      Very good and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2012

      I think you just helped me make the best chicken marsala I've ever made. We loved this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      This is wonderful! We absolutely loved it! It's easy and quick and flavorful! I saute garlic, mushrooms and parsley first than took it off the heat (didn't want to burnt garlic) and then did chicken breast on high heat to get that golden color. Then I add all ingredients to chicken. I doubled the sauce and add 1tsp. of flour. Used chicken stock. Served with rice. Next time I will triple the sauce. Will definitely make again. Thank you morgainegeiser!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      This dish was delish! I made a few changes to the already easy recipe however. Rather than bread the chicken I sauteed them in EVOO, garlic, and onion until browned. I quadrupled the amount of liquid (a half marsala/half stock combo) and it was the perfect amount of sauce for 5 large chicken breasts over pasta. I also took the advice of previous postings and added fresh portabellas, heavy cream and blanched asparagus to simmer a few minutes before serving. This was a huge hit in our home. Highly recommend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      I was amazed at the simplicity of this dish and how great it tasted. I echo all comments about adding more liquid than the recipe calls for. I used a combo of Pinot Grigio and chicken stock. I put much more in than called for, and it still wasn't enough once I went to plate this with linguini. I also took the suggestion of dipping the chicken in in milk (buttermilk/skim milk combo) first. It made a great crust the kids really liked. Adding extras such as a red pepper, along with just a few red pepper flakes for some mild heat were very good ideas. You may even be able to add some asparagus to increase the health and color of the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      I also sliced the chicken in half rather than pounding. I gotta tell you, the more mushrooms, the better! The chicken was very tender and moist. This doesn't make a lot of sauce, but what sauce there is is very flavorful. Thanks for posting, and congrats on your football win!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      This was excellent! We tripled the recipe for leftovers throughout the week. I didn't have any mushrooms on hand, but next time I will make sure I do! Only thing I would do different is double the sauce! Thanks for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      WOW! Made this as written but added all the pallet of mushrooms (which was about 1.5 cups). Family loved the flavour and I also loved how quick it was to put together. We served it with crusty bread to soak up all the juices. Thank you morgainegeiser

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      Delicious! I made enough for 18 guests who simply loved it. I had 9 huge breasts which I halved. I omitted the flour and just browned the chicken in butter; then I placed it in a slow cooker. Next I browned the mushrooms in 4 Tablespoons butter and added 1 cup of Marsala Wine. Then I mixed 1/4 cup of flour into 1 cup of cream and 1 T lemon juice. I poured all onto the chicken, covered the slow cooker and cooked on low for 1 hour until it was time to serve. Leftovers heated up well in microwave.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      I thought this was a tasty chicken marsala dish that was easy to prepare. I doubled the sauce ingredients as other reviewers suggested, and had no problem with the thickness of the sauce, as I let it reduce for quite awhile. Thanks for a nice dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      WOW is right! Made this for the first time tonight and man, was it yummy! Simple and easy to prepare and the flavors are definitely there! I should have doubled the sauce ingredients but did not - I definitely will next time!.... This one is a keeper for sure. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      Excellent, quick and easy recipe that tastes wonderful!! I made as is except for adding 1/2 cup each of marsala wine and chicken broth. I also took another reviewers advice and added some cornstarch to thicken slightly. The sauce is yummo!! and I love the marsala with the mushrooms a very tasty sauce for chicken. It also goes well up there in my books for ease of making and the one skillet thing is great for less mess. Thanks for posting a great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Skillet Chicken Marsala

    Serving Size: 1 (185 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 254.9
     
    Calories from Fat 89
    35%
    Total Fat 9.9 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 287.2 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 26.6 g
    53%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites