16 Reviews

Make room in your cook book for this dish! Miss Annie uses poultry seasoning to transform a simple chicken and rice dish into an addiction. I thin sliced the carrots and mushrooms and browned the onions and mushrooms. I might add a bit more poultry seasoning next time because it enhances the the other flavors without dominating. Thank you Ann, I will make this often and share the recipe with my family and friends.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac June 29, 2002

I was in one of those "I have stuff to make but don't want to make any of it for dinner" ruts, but knew I had to use up the chicken and mushrooms in the fridge, so I found this recipe. I used only 12oz of boneless skinless breast which I chopped and cooked with olive oil spray before cooking the rice mixture. I used brown rice (and had to add a bit more water as a result). I mixed in some thawed frozen spinach at the end, and now this fantastic, not-too-high-calorie dinner is ready! If I add a little cheese to it, I am sure even my picky two-old will eat it. Good stuff.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mighteechic October 04, 2011

Pretty good. As some other reviewers noted, it needs more salt.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Transplant July 23, 2010

There are NO WORDS... Well, I guess I can find a few. WOW, FANTASTIC, EASY, YUMMY.... I was actually searching for a good comfort food chicken and rice recipe and stumbled across this one. Miss Annie, the other reviewers aren't kidding about your talent with the poultry seeasoning!! This was so very good and (until I read the nutritional values) I thought it was good for me. :) I will, however, be making this again and again.... I, too, had to add more salt, but I will just make that adjustment next time. Also, I put in baby Bella mushrooms and broccoli and left out the carrots. Thank you, Miss Annie!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katindallas December 11, 2009

I was searching for a stove top chicken recipe to avoid heating up the house, when I stumbled upon this little gem. Nice, easy recipe with good flavour. I followed the recipe except that I used boneless, skinless breasts and cut them in 2" pieces. After they were cooked, I removed them and added them back in when the rice was done cooking. Next time, I would add a dash of garlic and maybe some wild rice too. Some of us added a bit of soy sauce to our plates and that was good also. Thx Miss Annie.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word June 24, 2009

Just made this tonight and it was so good! I too didn't have poultry seasoning so instead I put in some fresh garlic, basil, thyme, salt and pepper. I also added spinach at the very end once it was done cooking which added great texture and also made it look so colorful. The last thing I substituted was that I used 1/2 cup brown rice and 1/4 cup wild rice instead of the long grain rice called for and once again, it was delicious. Excellent recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mizz Voila February 18, 2009

Just made this for my family tonight. I didn't have any mushrooms but I don't think it affected the taste at all. The only other change I made was instead of poultry seasoning I used a couple of pinches of rosemary and it really gave it a nice flavour. My family wished I had doubled the rice. This is a really tasty dish, one I will be adding to our regular weeknight rotation. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Reggie's Mom February 17, 2009

Great simple recipe. Best part? No condensed soup. :-) I used thyme and garlic, salt & pepper instead of poultry seasoning, which I didn't have on hand.We'll make this dish again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin R. October 07, 2008

Extremely yummy. My whole family enjoyed it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anozira86 August 08, 2008

We loved it. I left out the salt since we watch sodium. It had so much flavor; we never missed it. I added carrots and broccoli to work on my veggie servings. It was absolutely awesome...a definite keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WW Girl July 14, 2008
Skillet Chicken and Rice