Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Skillet Chicken and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Skillet Chicken and Rice

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on June 29, 2002

      Make room in your cook book for this dish! Miss Annie uses poultry seasoning to transform a simple chicken and rice dish into an addiction. I thin sliced the carrots and mushrooms and browned the onions and mushrooms. I might add a bit more poultry seasoning next time because it enhances the the other flavors without dominating. Thank you Ann, I will make this often and share the recipe with my family and friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2011

      I was in one of those "I have stuff to make but don't want to make any of it for dinner" ruts, but knew I had to use up the chicken and mushrooms in the fridge, so I found this recipe. I used only 12oz of boneless skinless breast which I chopped and cooked with olive oil spray before cooking the rice mixture. I used brown rice (and had to add a bit more water as a result). I mixed in some thawed frozen spinach at the end, and now this fantastic, not-too-high-calorie dinner is ready! If I add a little cheese to it, I am sure even my picky two-old will eat it. Good stuff.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

      Pretty good. As some other reviewers noted, it needs more salt.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      There are NO WORDS... Well, I guess I can find a few. WOW, FANTASTIC, EASY, YUMMY.... I was actually searching for a good comfort food chicken and rice recipe and stumbled across this one. Miss Annie, the other reviewers aren't kidding about your talent with the poultry seeasoning!! This was so very good and (until I read the nutritional values) I thought it was good for me. :) I will, however, be making this again and again.... I, too, had to add more salt, but I will just make that adjustment next time. Also, I put in baby Bella mushrooms and broccoli and left out the carrots. Thank you, Miss Annie!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      I was searching for a stove top chicken recipe to avoid heating up the house, when I stumbled upon this little gem. Nice, easy recipe with good flavour. I followed the recipe except that I used boneless, skinless breasts and cut them in 2" pieces. After they were cooked, I removed them and added them back in when the rice was done cooking. Next time, I would add a dash of garlic and maybe some wild rice too. Some of us added a bit of soy sauce to our plates and that was good also. Thx Miss Annie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      Just made this tonight and it was so good! I too didn't have poultry seasoning so instead I put in some fresh garlic, basil, thyme, salt and pepper. I also added spinach at the very end once it was done cooking which added great texture and also made it look so colorful. The last thing I substituted was that I used 1/2 cup brown rice and 1/4 cup wild rice instead of the long grain rice called for and once again, it was delicious. Excellent recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Just made this for my family tonight. I didn't have any mushrooms but I don't think it affected the taste at all. The only other change I made was instead of poultry seasoning I used a couple of pinches of rosemary and it really gave it a nice flavour. My family wished I had doubled the rice. This is a really tasty dish, one I will be adding to our regular weeknight rotation. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      Great simple recipe. Best part? No condensed soup. :-) I used thyme and garlic, salt & pepper instead of poultry seasoning, which I didn't have on hand.We'll make this dish again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      Extremely yummy. My whole family enjoyed it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      We loved it. I left out the salt since we watch sodium. It had so much flavor; we never missed it. I added carrots and broccoli to work on my veggie servings. It was absolutely awesome...a definite keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      Very tasty. Easy to make and easy to clean up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2006

      Terrific recipe. I used asparagus because I didn't have carrots on hand. Also used a fat-free, low sodium chicken broth instead of water, and omitted the salt. My new comfort food. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2005

      Outstanding taste !! I have to admit that I made a couple of adjustments....I added capers....and I thickened the sauce a bit with some cornstarch...other than that, I stayed true to the recipe....and it was remarkably tasty. The poultry seasoning really added a nice touch...and the capers were lovely in that dish. I will make it the same way next time...but just more of it as I only made enough for 2 ! Thanks so much, Miss Annie, for a great keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2004

      Great recipe! The only thing I did differently was instead of carrots I used broccoli.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2004

      This was really quite good. I cut back on the fat by not using the olive oil, I just sprayed the pan a bit with Pam, and I cleaned out all the fat before adding the vegatables. I also used boneless skinless thighs and it turned out quite well. Very filling.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2013

      Bland, yet salty. Will not make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Skillet Chicken and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (396 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 467.8
     
    Calories from Fat 202
    43%
    Total Fat 22.5 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 103.5 mg
    34%
    Sodium 391.2 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 30.3 g
    60%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites