Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Skillet-Browned Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Skillet-Browned Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2014

      Delicious. I agree about the amounts of spices; I just shook them on by eye, but probably used about 1 TBS of seasoned salt, and then used garlic powder and onion powder, and some salt and pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      Excellent :) I subtracted the seasoned salt but followed the rest exactly. I also added eggs and cheese for a delicious breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      Great alternative to fried fries. Very tasty. I also thought they were super quick. My kids love them. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      The basics are great, but I'm 100% positive that she meant TEASPOONS for the splices, and not TABLESPOONS. Even then, it is VERY salty, so I recommend taking it slow and tasting. Other than that, GREAT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      These had a nice flavor but they wouldn't become crispy no matter how I tried. I'll try making them again and see if I can figure out what I did wrong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      My family really liked this recipe. Crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. I will say that I reduced the salt content. I did NOT add seasoned salt and only added 1 tbsp of garlic salt. I substituted garlic powder for the other tbsp. Even then, they were still a little salty. I used red potatoes for this tonight, but think I will use russet potatoes next time as they have quite a higher lever of starch in them and would need the higher lever of salt for seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2007

      I'm sorry but this was wayyy too salty for us. I did not go with the 2 TBS, but I used 1TB and it was still to much. I also thought that the italian spices clased with the other flavors. I only used a teaspoon and a half. Mushy potatoes also. I might try this again, by using teaspoons and adjusting to taste and omitting the italian seasoning and the blanch time or omit blanching the potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2006

      Even though I read all the reviews I was too hesistant to add the amt. of spices as listed, so I reduced them to 1 TBSP, and they were still incredibly salty. I cut the potatoes in 1/2" thick rounds, and didn't boil for the length that was listed at 8 minutes they were getting too soft. Will make these again, but cut back the spices to 2 TSPS., I'm thinking that it was a typo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2006

      These potatoes were very flavorful. I cut the spices from 2 tablespoons to 1 teaspoon each because I thought the 2 tablespoons would be to much for us. The 1 teaspoon worked out great for us. Thanks Jessica K. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2006

      These were awesome. Dh wanted came downstairs wanting to know what smelled so good. I'll make this again. Lisa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2006

      Great recipe for leftover potatoes; all that seasoning gives a real punch. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      We love grilled potatoes and campfire potatoes, but today wasn't a good grilling day. I did a search on skillet potatoes and found this recipe. Full of flavor and so tasty, this recipe was a great side dish to our Sunday dinner. It was so nice to have something a little different! I followed the recipe exactly, except I used red potatoes. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2005

      Well, Jessica, your recipe has now also made its way to OZ. I got home rather late - and ravenous - tonight and found this mentioned in the Zaar Tour recipes just made, and it was just what I felt like as a stand-alone, quick to make dish. I added two cloves of minced garlic. Great flavours, really enjoyed it. My cat had some too and polished up all that I gave him. Thank you! Another great Zaar Tour find!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2005

      This recipe was so good and easy to make! We loved the seasonings. I have never thought of adding Italian spices to fried potatoes and onions but.... this was delicious. Thanks for sharing this amazing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2005

      This was very good.Only used a bit of the spices.Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2005

      Very good. I used cajun seasoning for the season salt and green onion instead of regular. DH only eats green!?! These were very good! Nice heated up again for breakfast too! Thanks Jessica!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Skillet-Browned Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (310 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 456.3
     
    Calories from Fat 228
    50%
    Total Fat 25.4 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 121.7 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.5 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 7.4 g
    29%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes