16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious. I agree about the amounts of spices; I just shook them on by eye, but probably used about 1 TBS of seasoned salt, and then used garlic powder and onion powder, and some salt and pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vap October 27, 2014

Excellent :) I subtracted the seasoned salt but followed the rest exactly. I also added eggs and cheese for a delicious breakfast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sobczakj1 April 14, 2012

Great alternative to fried fries. Very tasty. I also thought they were super quick. My kids love them. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Srb~ February 01, 2011

The basics are great, but I'm 100% positive that she meant TEASPOONS for the splices, and not TABLESPOONS. Even then, it is VERY salty, so I recommend taking it slow and tasting. Other than that, GREAT!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jjphoto April 26, 2010

These had a nice flavor but they wouldn't become crispy no matter how I tried. I'll try making them again and see if I can figure out what I did wrong.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RachelB-KY January 01, 2010

My family really liked this recipe. Crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. I will say that I reduced the salt content. I did NOT add seasoned salt and only added 1 tbsp of garlic salt. I substituted garlic powder for the other tbsp. Even then, they were still a little salty. I used red potatoes for this tonight, but think I will use russet potatoes next time as they have quite a higher lever of starch in them and would need the higher lever of salt for seasoning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Madisyn January 01, 2009

I'm sorry but this was wayyy too salty for us. I did not go with the 2 TBS, but I used 1TB and it was still to much. I also thought that the italian spices clased with the other flavors. I only used a teaspoon and a half. Mushy potatoes also. I might try this again, by using teaspoons and adjusting to taste and omitting the italian seasoning and the blanch time or omit blanching the potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diest February 24, 2007

Even though I read all the reviews I was too hesistant to add the amt. of spices as listed, so I reduced them to 1 TBSP, and they were still incredibly salty. I cut the potatoes in 1/2" thick rounds, and didn't boil for the length that was listed at 8 minutes they were getting too soft. Will make these again, but cut back the spices to 2 TSPS., I'm thinking that it was a typo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat July 23, 2006

These potatoes were very flavorful. I cut the spices from 2 tablespoons to 1 teaspoon each because I thought the 2 tablespoons would be to much for us. The 1 teaspoon worked out great for us. Thanks Jessica K. Bullwinkle.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bullwinkle July 20, 2006

These were awesome. Dh wanted came downstairs wanting to know what smelled so good. I'll make this again. Lisa

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LMillerRN July 02, 2006
Skillet-Browned Potatoes