Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Skillet Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Skillet Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on August 17, 2007

      My husband makes these on our camp stove when we go camping, to accompany scrambled eggs/bacon. He uses a cast iron skillet and cooks them in butter sprinkled with a little garlic powder. He covers the skillet with the lid while cooking and they rise up beautifully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2007

      These were wonderful biscuits! I've never made skillet biscuits before, but these are so delicious that I will be making them again. I had no trouble with the recipe. It worked just fine for me. Thanks, pattikay!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      This was my first time making biscuits and it was EASY and they turned out GREAT! I made 6 servings. I stirred the dry ingredients together in a small bowl and cut the butter into it with the back of a fork. After stirring the buttermilk in I formed it into a ball and then flattened it into a rectangle 1/4 inch thick...then I cut it into 6 squares. Although I didn't bother making perfectly shaped biscuits they tasted just right. I spray oiled my non-stick skillet and heated it over medium high heat...my biscuits took about 4-5 minutes per side and they did rise to about double in size. They were WONDERFUL with honey! Made for 1-2-3 hit wonders.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2013

      These biscuits were incredible. I used 1 tbsp of white vinegar and 15 tbsp milk instead of the buttermilk (kind of cooked this on a whim and never use buttermilk for anything else. It is always wasted here), and it still ended up great. Used a nonstick pan with Pam original flavor cooking spray and the biscuits rose about 1.5 to 2 times the dough size. They were golden on the outside and rich and buttery tasting within. This will become a staple in my home. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2012

      I'm giving this three stars because this appears to be a decent, simple biscuit recipe. However, I'm not giving it more because when I tried using a "lightly greased" skillet, the biscuits were hopelessly flat. I know the directions say not to expect them to rise as much, but our first batch were hard and unappetizing. If you want nice, fluffy biscuits, then use enough oil to come partway up the biscuit, at least. Once we poured in more oil, the biscuits were nice and fluffy like oven-made biscuits on the inside and crisp and tasty like fry bread on the outside.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      I actually have not tried these but just wanted to say that I had an aunt that made skillet biscuits years ago. She used an electric skillet and I was amazed when I saw her make them this way. Thanks for reminding me of that option. : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      I made these for breakfast, but I the amounts in half. I used a cast iron skillet that I just purchased, and cooked over medium heat with a thin layer of oil. This is where my problem came in, they began to burn but were still not cooked on the inside. I think, had I covered the pan and cooked at a lower temperature, I might not of had a problem. But 4 stars for the ease of the getter the dough together and the taste. Thanks for posting Pattikay!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

      Wow! Im not sure where the dense and chewy came from, because warm these were flakier than biscuits i have made in the oven. Could be that my buttermilk had turned a bit (i think bc it was bubbly) but the flavor was delicious. I only managed to save one for a pic since i scaled it in half. These are fabulous!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      pattikay....I haven't made these as buscuits yet, but will do in the near future. I grew up eating basically the same thing, but it was cooked as one large pan bread thing...not as bisquits. Mom would make biscuit dough, flatten it out to fit the bottom of a cast iron skillet and cook on top of the stove just until it browned on each side. As kids, we ate it with chocolate gravy or stirred up peanut butter and Grandma's molasses. Delicious! Can't wait to try the biscuits! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      Biscuits are just not for the biscuit impaired (me)! I made it with whole wheat pastry flour (which may have impeded the rising a little.) Used trans-fat free shortening. Very easy to make, up until the skillet part. :) I used a moderate to little less heat and a cast iron skillet. Was able to do 4 (4") biscuits at a time. They rose a little, but I ended up burning most of them. With butter, they aren't too bad. The kids all said they were "normal" or they liked them. I think I'll give up making biscuits. The problem was mostly me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Skillet Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (19 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 55.9
     
    Calories from Fat 20
    36%
    Total Fat 2.2 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.3 mg
    0%
    Sodium 113.1 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites