14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Sharon, honey--this was absolute heaven for me. I love onions and the combination of flavors was intense and so delicious. My husband agreed as well. I served this with hot fresh baked bread and it was an out of body experience. Thanks so much for a truly fabulous meal.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' October 25, 2002

So it drives me crazy when people make all sorts of changes to a recipe and then review it but.....I made a change in the recipe and now I'm reviewing it. Go figure. So we are trying to cut down on dairy and decided to try this with coconut milk for the heavy cream. Yes, we made a major change but I wanted to do a review anyways for two reasons. One, if anyone else doesn't want to use the cream I wanted them to know that the coconut milk does work and secondly that if it tastes so amazing without the cream it must be incredible with the cream. We used the Cuisinart stick right in the pot (seriously get one of these) which made it so much easier and left some of the onions whole for texture. The second batch we added some white wine to cut the sweetness a little but it is delicious without it. It is also very pretty with the scallions still green at the end and I would definitely serve this to guests. Thanks for a great new meal idea!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glimmer April 03, 2014

I love onion soup and this one is just perfect! The rich flavor of the onions and the creamy texture make this hard to stop eating! I will make it again. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 October 21, 2010

VERY VERY GOOD! Didn't have all the different onions and only used about 1\3 cup of cream! If your looking for a low sodium and low cal (milk instead of cream) this is for your! You would never know ! Will make this often, no left overs with this soup!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg P November 03, 2006

For my love of onions I just had to try this recipe and I am SO glad I did! This is the most absolute delicious full-of-onion soup you will ever have, creamy dreamy and oh so good! I love this soup and look forward to making it many times again, I was tempted to put some dry wine in, well mabey next time! This is a 5 star plus recipe, everyone who loves onions must give this a try! thanks for sharing this great recipe Sharon!...Kitten:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen April 19, 2006

I'm sorry but didn't like the soup... although my wife said that it was okay which led me to give it 2 stars. I guess it is a personal taste but I will make it again later a pass judgement. I didn't want to give it an official rating until I gave it two trys.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kappamu472 April 16, 2006

This has become one of my family favorites. It is very good and easy to make. I made a few changes - I put 1 cup of white wine and used low sodium chicken broth. I also used half and half instead of heavy cream. Jarlsberg cheese makes a nice garnish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Jones January 01, 2005

Definately worth the tears! This was sooo good! Wouldn't change a thing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Menguin May 11, 2004

Love this soup!!! The only thing that I did different was to put some swiss cheese on the top and broil for a minute to melt it, and I didn't puree all of the onions. I will make this often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy in WA January 02, 2004

This was wonderful, the long, slow cooking in step 2 brought out all the flavour. I used more liquid too, and think the recipe would have served closer to 10 or 12. I also used my stick blender but not to thoroughly as I wanted to retain some texture. Thanks for a fantastic recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS October 27, 2003
Six Onion Soup