Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Six Onion Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Six Onion Soup

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on October 25, 2002

      Sharon, honey--this was absolute heaven for me. I love onions and the combination of flavors was intense and so delicious. My husband agreed as well. I served this with hot fresh baked bread and it was an out of body experience. Thanks so much for a truly fabulous meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2014

      So it drives me crazy when people make all sorts of changes to a recipe and then review it but.....I made a change in the recipe and now I'm reviewing it. Go figure. So we are trying to cut down on dairy and decided to try this with coconut milk for the heavy cream. Yes, we made a major change but I wanted to do a review anyways for two reasons. One, if anyone else doesn't want to use the cream I wanted them to know that the coconut milk does work and secondly that if it tastes so amazing without the cream it must be incredible with the cream. We used the Cuisinart stick right in the pot (seriously get one of these) which made it so much easier and left some of the onions whole for texture. The second batch we added some white wine to cut the sweetness a little but it is delicious without it. It is also very pretty with the scallions still green at the end and I would definitely serve this to guests. Thanks for a great new meal idea!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      I love onion soup and this one is just perfect! The rich flavor of the onions and the creamy texture make this hard to stop eating! I will make it again. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2006

      VERY VERY GOOD! Didn't have all the different onions and only used about 1\3 cup of cream! If your looking for a low sodium and low cal (milk instead of cream) this is for your! You would never know ! Will make this often, no left overs with this soup!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2006

      For my love of onions I just had to try this recipe and I am SO glad I did! This is the most absolute delicious full-of-onion soup you will ever have, creamy dreamy and oh so good! I love this soup and look forward to making it many times again, I was tempted to put some dry wine in, well mabey next time! This is a 5 star plus recipe, everyone who loves onions must give this a try! thanks for sharing this great recipe Sharon!...Kitten:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2006

      I'm sorry but didn't like the soup... although my wife said that it was okay which led me to give it 2 stars. I guess it is a personal taste but I will make it again later a pass judgement. I didn't want to give it an official rating until I gave it two trys.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2005

      This has become one of my family favorites. It is very good and easy to make. I made a few changes - I put 1 cup of white wine and used low sodium chicken broth. I also used half and half instead of heavy cream. Jarlsberg cheese makes a nice garnish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2004

      Definately worth the tears! This was sooo good! Wouldn't change a thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2004

      Love this soup!!! The only thing that I did different was to put some swiss cheese on the top and broil for a minute to melt it, and I didn't puree all of the onions. I will make this often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2003

      This was wonderful, the long, slow cooking in step 2 brought out all the flavour. I used more liquid too, and think the recipe would have served closer to 10 or 12. I also used my stick blender but not to thoroughly as I wanted to retain some texture. Thanks for a fantastic recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2003

      I made this today for dinner tomorrow night... but then, my husband and I started tasting it and I'm not sure there's enough remaining for tomorrow! Truly delicious and so easy. I followed the recipe exactly as given. Thanks for one that I will definitely be doing again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2003

      Wonderful soup and perfect for the cooler weather that's setting in. Rich, rich, rich oniony taste and creamy texture. I used my immersion blender as recommended by chia but did not puree completely to leave the texture 'interesting'. A keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2003

      My husband and I were completely bowled over by this soup. I used homemade chicken vegetable stock. The onion flavor was wonderful and the soup had a delicious rich flavor. I toasted french bread slices and floated them on top. I froze what was leftover so we can have this again. Thank-you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2003

      sharon, we all enjoyed this. i wound up using 6 c of chicken stock because 4 c didn't cover the onion mixture. i sliced everything and used the immersion blender to puree it at the end. the leeks and onion combo were very sweet due to the long cooking over the low flame

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Six Onion Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (345 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 336.5
     
    Calories from Fat 220
    65%
    Total Fat 24.5 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 14.5 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 79.5 mg
    26%
    Sodium 261.6 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 7.3 g
    29%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites