Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Six Hour Pork Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Six Hour Pork Roast

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2012

      This is fantastic! Thought I would point out that all of you that are making this in the crock pot are missing the whole point of the recipe. It's supposed to get a lovely crispy crust on the outside, never going to achieve that in the slow cooker!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Amazing flavors in the roast!! Made for New Year's Day dinner and enjoyed by even the pickiest of picky eaters. The gravy was excellent, too. Just added some dry white wine,cornstarch mixed with chicken stock to the drippings; then reduced to thicken. Thanks, yooper for making me the cooking star of the day with my family. LOL Made for the first meal in 2 for 1 event in Cooking Photos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      I love this recipe- I made it quite awhile ago from the RSVP section of Bon Appetit (the first thing I look at when it comes in the mail)- I am happy to run into this again- thank you so much for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      Thanks yooper for a great recipe. I had to use dried herbs as that's all I had. Also followed another reviewer and put the cream of chicken in the bottom of the crock pot and cooked it on low for 6 hours. It was wonderful and the smell while it was cooking had the whole household asking "when will dinner be ready. Easy recipe with a nice crust and moist tasty inside. This would be an impressive company dinner too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      we loved it also. I made a 3 1/2 pound roast, and had to use dried herbs. Can't wait to try it again when I can get fresh herbs. Since my roast was smaller, it only took 3 1/2 hours to cook. Didn't change a thing other then not having fresh herbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2005

      Outstanding! Outstanding! My family really enjoyed this roast. I also did mine in a Rival 5 quart Slow Cooker on Low for 6 hours. As suggested by one reviewer, I used a can of Cream of Chicken soup mixed with 1/2 cup of wine. I placed the soup mixture on the bottom of my slow cooker and placed the roast on top. I made small slits in the top to put in the spice mixture and also layered it on the top. It did form a nice crust and the broth turned into a wonderful gravy to serve over brown rice. My family couldn't stop eating both the rice and pork. LOL Just a note: when cooking with wine the alcohol burns off and you are only left with the flavor. If you don't want to use a full body wine you can purchase a Cooking Wine at your local grocery store. It works just as well. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2005

      This was simply delicious. I had a 3.5 pound pork roast. Cooked ofr about 5 hours and it was still very juicy and just bursting with flavor. The crust was perfect. I did leave the wine out and we didn't miss it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2005

      Awesome! Didn't have fresh herbs, so I used try and increased the garlic. Added a schwack of veggies chopped in large hunks at the 3 hours mark, tossed in olive oil and more rosemary. (I added potatoes, carrots, celery, whole green beans, onion, and more garlic!). They were 'perfect' when it was done at 6, and the roast was lovely, moist and tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2005

      This was so delicious, but, for me, the cooking time was way off. It looked so done after 3 1/2 hours at 275 that I used a thermometer to check - it was at 200 degrees! I took it out of the oven then and it was wonderful - if I had left it in for the entire time listed, I'm afraid I would have had pork jerky! I'm not sure what happened.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2004

      Very tender, and my what a nice taste. I used an 8 lb pork butt bone in. I also used dried sage (1 tbsp). I put it in @ 11:30 am, went to work came home and we ate at 6:30pm. A great make-during-the-day meal. My son said he doesn't like pork, but this tasted so moist, he loved it. Thanks for the recipe, and it was well written as well!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2004

      The herb mixture was fabulous. I had a large slab of pork loin and was unable to tie it up with the dental floss which was all I had (maybe if I had another set of hands I could have tied it) so anyways I just set it on racks in large roaster and at 4 hours it was overdone. Too bad but still a great roast. I didn't have fresh sage but had a dry bunch hanging so used 1 tbsp crushed and no white wine so for the 1 tbsp needed I just used the fruit juice my daughter happened to be drinking at the time. Will definitely try this again and check more often with my meat thermometer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2004

      Excellent! It was nice and crispy on the outside... very good flavor. Moist on the inside. I'll definitely make this one again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2003

      Oh yooper, this is the best roast pork I have ever tasted. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out as promised. The meat was extremely juicy and tender and the paste did form a very flavorful crisp crust. So awesome and my family was impressed with me. This one is spectacular and I recommend it for any pork lover. Thanks !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2003

      This was a great Sunday dinner. I made a couple modifications: used a crockpot, so the paste didn't get crispy, but it was still terrific. I also added a can of cream of chicken soup for moisture and it made wonderful gravy for our garlic mashed potatoes. I would eliminate the extra salt next time because I think the soup added enough. Another winner, Mark!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Six Hour Pork Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (471 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1257.8
     
    Calories from Fat 792
    63%
    Total Fat 88.0 g
    135%
    Saturated Fat 32.0 g
    160%
    Cholesterol 389.8 mg
    129%
    Sodium 2050.1 mg
    85%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 105.4 g
    210%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes