14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is fantastic! Thought I would point out that all of you that are making this in the crock pot are missing the whole point of the recipe. It's supposed to get a lovely crispy crust on the outside, never going to achieve that in the slow cooker!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glenda September 12, 2012

Amazing flavors in the roast!! Made for New Year's Day dinner and enjoyed by even the pickiest of picky eaters. The gravy was excellent, too. Just added some dry white wine,cornstarch mixed with chicken stock to the drippings; then reduced to thicken. Thanks, yooper for making me the cooking star of the day with my family. LOL Made for the first meal in 2 for 1 event in Cooking Photos.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks January 04, 2010

I love this recipe- I made it quite awhile ago from the RSVP section of Bon Appetit (the first thing I look at when it comes in the mail)- I am happy to run into this again- thank you so much for posting :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chez Michelle June 07, 2009

Thanks yooper for a great recipe. I had to use dried herbs as that's all I had. Also followed another reviewer and put the cream of chicken in the bottom of the crock pot and cooked it on low for 6 hours. It was wonderful and the smell while it was cooking had the whole household asking "when will dinner be ready. Easy recipe with a nice crust and moist tasty inside. This would be an impressive company dinner too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 January 04, 2008

we loved it also. I made a 3 1/2 pound roast, and had to use dried herbs. Can't wait to try it again when I can get fresh herbs. Since my roast was smaller, it only took 3 1/2 hours to cook. Didn't change a thing other then not having fresh herbs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lou February 17, 2007

Outstanding! Outstanding! My family really enjoyed this roast. I also did mine in a Rival 5 quart Slow Cooker on Low for 6 hours. As suggested by one reviewer, I used a can of Cream of Chicken soup mixed with 1/2 cup of wine. I placed the soup mixture on the bottom of my slow cooker and placed the roast on top. I made small slits in the top to put in the spice mixture and also layered it on the top. It did form a nice crust and the broth turned into a wonderful gravy to serve over brown rice. My family couldn't stop eating both the rice and pork. LOL Just a note: when cooking with wine the alcohol burns off and you are only left with the flavor. If you don't want to use a full body wine you can purchase a Cooking Wine at your local grocery store. It works just as well. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M August 23, 2005

This was simply delicious. I had a 3.5 pound pork roast. Cooked ofr about 5 hours and it was still very juicy and just bursting with flavor. The crust was perfect. I did leave the wine out and we didn't miss it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff August 23, 2005

Awesome! Didn't have fresh herbs, so I used try and increased the garlic. Added a schwack of veggies chopped in large hunks at the 3 hours mark, tossed in olive oil and more rosemary. (I added potatoes, carrots, celery, whole green beans, onion, and more garlic!). They were 'perfect' when it was done at 6, and the roast was lovely, moist and tender.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amethyst42 April 29, 2005

This was so delicious, but, for me, the cooking time was way off. It looked so done after 3 1/2 hours at 275 that I used a thermometer to check - it was at 200 degrees! I took it out of the oven then and it was wonderful - if I had left it in for the entire time listed, I'm afraid I would have had pork jerky! I'm not sure what happened.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQue January 03, 2005

Very tender, and my what a nice taste. I used an 8 lb pork butt bone in. I also used dried sage (1 tbsp). I put it in @ 11:30 am, went to work came home and we ate at 6:30pm. A great make-during-the-day meal. My son said he doesn't like pork, but this tasted so moist, he loved it. Thanks for the recipe, and it was well written as well!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chill November 16, 2004
Six Hour Pork Roast