18 Reviews

Tasty and delicious. My DH picked out this to make when we were picking recipes this month. We all loved them. Made for OZ swap OCT 2009.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn October 22, 2009

The bamboo steamer is new to me and I was out of my comfort zone with this recipe. That being shared, filling the wrappers was pretty time consuming. Next time we won't worry too much about their appearance. It really didn't matter because everyone scarfed them down. I used 92/8 lean beef and steamed for 15 minutes. Soy and ponzu sauces were great for dipping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SonnyHavens February 21, 2015

Been eating dim sum since I was a kid. This is the first recipe used for Siu Mai, awesome! I do make it simpler for myself and just cook the meat beforehand so that I can taste the mix before wrapping, else it's hard to gauge taste afterwards. Now to eat healthier, I use chopped, cooked chicken in my mini chopper/food processor and it's so delicious, think any meat works as part of the taste is the wrapper and I use Maggi seasoning instead of soy sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Puffnstuff November 26, 2013

We made these last night. Made a beef batch, shrimp batch and beef and shrimp batch. I think we overcooked the beef ones as they were a little dry, however still yummy. The prawn ones were amazing (I just buy the smallish prawns and cut them into little pieces) This was a fun, easy recipe to make and I can't wait to do it again using all different meats... I can't wait to make a chicken and prawn batch.

Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Satyne April 24, 2012

My beef was dry... I only cooked for 13 minutes :( should I have used a fattier cut of beef?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marsdiva December 18, 2011

These were delicious! They're my favourite thing to order at Chinese restaurants and they tasted even better homemade. My whole family loved them, thanks for posting. I also wanted to thank you for trying and reviewing my recipes, I'm really glad you enjoyed them. Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rainbow*Bubbles April 17, 2009

I have never had Siu Mai before, but these were wonderful. They are very similar to the gyoza that my mother used to make. I made the full batch, steamed 6 of them and froze the rest. I place them on a silicone cookie sheet and placed them in the freeze until they were set before putting them into freezer bags. My mother's gyoza used to freeze very well, so I am assuming these will too. I will post an update once I try the frozen ones. I had these with your Yakitori Chicken (Yakitori ( Japanese Grilled Chicken Skewers)). Made for March, 2009 Aussie/NZ Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 March 09, 2009

Very very good! I doubled this recipe, thinking I could, you know, save some for another day in the freezer. That didn't happen! Everyone in the house ate it all up within minutes. I forgot the egg, and omitted the water chestnut because I didn't have any, but still was great. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChloeBaby March 05, 2009

I tripled this recipe & made them with pork & baby shrimp, as well as jicama, then left out the mushrooms & had some GREAT TASTING DUMPLINGS! Easy & fun to make, as well! I'd set out two dips, one soy & the other a honey mustard, & both were well-used by the time these tasty bites were gone! Thanks for a great recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed as a PRESSIE in the Aus/NZ 12 Days of Christmas Recipe Swap]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 09, 2008

I used the pork and shrimp combo with water chestnuts and carrots. Made exactly as directed and served with soy sauce, chili flakes and lemon. Superb!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alenaellen October 22, 2008
Siu Mai or Siomai (Dim Sum Dumplings)