9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were way too salty and I like my food well seasoned. I'm surprised that I'm the first reviewer to mention this? The second time I made these I used only 1/2 teaspoon salt and that was plenty for my taste. These are very tasty and juicy. Easy to make once you get into a groove. Thanks for sharing Chia!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
epicureancruiser April 25, 2012

Very tender & juicy.. use fresh shrimp, feel the chrunch

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vilcie February 04, 2008

I made these the other day and they were great, even when eaten cold!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megan4703 May 12, 2007

No red capers, so I placed a largish piece of shrimp instead for colour. Not the most delicious dumplings we ever had, but very tasty indeed. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilovemy4kids May 09, 2007

I make these a lot of different ways. I decided to try another way (this recipe) and I thought they were great! I steam mine on a bed of red cabbage. I added a picture of mine. The great thing about these dumplings is that you can fill them with virtually anything. I have even made BBQ Sui Mai (or Shumai)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Rock & Roll BBQ Chef February 17, 2007

Loved it! there is nothing I would change in it. Tasted just like the ones in yum char =D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lexx January 25, 2007

Wow! These little dumplings were excellent! ( Shrimp and pork...what's not to like?) Didn't use any capers as none were available. Wonder how ground turkey would work in this recipe. Will have to try this recipe again! =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aroostook March 11, 2005

This is almost exactly the same siu mai recipe that I make, except that mine includes a couple Tbs minced bamboo shoots and lacks the capers. I had submitted it for posting, but--having discovered yours--will now delete it as a duplicate. This is a wonderful dim sum, one of the best I've had. I hope you will post more of your dim sum recipes, chia.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
echo echo February 21, 2005

Delicious! I made this as written except for the red capers (I couldn't find any) and I ended up with exactly 24 siu mai. I felt very creative making these, it was a lot of fun! I don't know how attractive my pleats were but the siu mai were tasty nonetheless. Thank you Chia for posting this wonderful recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude February 20, 2005
Siu Mai