Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sirloin Tips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sirloin Tips

    Average Rating:

    73 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 73

    Sort by:

    • on July 23, 2011

      This had a VERY strong vinegar smell and taste IMHO. I will make it again, though, and completely omit the vinegar ('cause I think I have had enough of that for a long, long time). Without it, I think this dish would be very good, 4 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2011

      This is horrible! I read it and thought braisng beef with NO liquid for an hour and a half???? Vinegar/soy sauce/ mustard??? with nothing to balance that??? But the reviews were great....so I made it. I have read and re-read this and cannot see where I went wrong. It is digusting! There was NO liquid to braise the meat...so it is dried out and awful. There is nothing to balance the acidity of the vinegar/soy/mustard. I frantically tried to save it with a touch of sugar, more beef broth, etc. but could not. Brown, burned pieces of charcoal in a vinegary, nasty slop of "sauce". AWFUL!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      I made this using 3/4 pound sirloin tip steaks, 6 ounces fresh mushrooms, and a slightly reduced amount of mustard based upon the recipe reviews. A one-fourth batch was plenty for DH and I. We enjoyed our sirloin tips served with baked potatoes and tossed green salad. Thanks for a nice meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      I make this one night for dinner. My family thought it was stroganoff, which it does remind me of. I served this on noodles with collard greens. We liked this dish and will serve this again. Thank you for sharing, the beef was fork tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      I was disappointed with this. I was a little short of wine vinegar and made it up with wine, but otherwise followed the directions. The mustard flavor was strong and it made the sauce a bit twangy. The meat seemed overcooked, tough and dry, and bland. There was very little juice left at the end to add to the sauce and I could really tell that the meat and sauce cooked separately and just went together at the end. The flavors never really came together. DH also didn't think there was enough sauce to go over the noodles. If I were to make this again, I would cook it in the crockpot, doubling the sauce except for the mustard and maybe adding a little more seasoning to it. Thanks anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Aside from subsituting London Broil for the Sirloin, I made this recipe exactly as shown. However I found the sauce was way too sour for our taste. I had to triple the sauce, minus the vinegar, and add some seasonings to tone it down enough for us to eat it. After that it was very savory and I think I will try it again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      I've made this several times and it is wonderful! I've also used ground beef and made a gourmet hamburger gravy. My son always asks for more of that "stuff". Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      turned out fantastic but i made a few changes first i added a little more soy sauce and about a tbs or so of wocestershire i also poured the sauce over the meat and mushrooms then covered and cooked it all together. when it was done i mixed it with buttered noodles and the meat was so tender and flavorful it was delicious. thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      I made this based on the many five stars. I was quite disappointed. The only thing I did differently was use canned mushroom, as I didn't have fresh on hand. Although the meat did turn out rather tender, because of the cooking method, it had pretty much no flavor. Instead of the sauce and the meat melding as one, they were kind of like two separate entres that were accidentally mixed in the same pot. I wouldn't recommend this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      i guess me and my SO werent ready for such new tastes on our taste buds. it was a great recipe but the sauce took some getting used to. thank you for making this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      Another good one, Nezz. There are a few of you "super star chefs" that I rely on constantly. This will certainly be added to my "best of the best". Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      This recipe had fantastic flavor...my only problem was that my sauce stayed super THIN!! Not sure if i just had too much juice from the meat...or if i did not add enough corn starch...but the sauce barely coated the noodles because it was so thin! Other than that...the flavor was FANTASTIC and I will definitely be making this again! Thanks MiszzNezz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      Unbelievably DEE-lish. DH couldn't stop raving. I will make this one A LOT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      Excellent! The tips were soooo tender. I agree with the other commentors that the sause needs to be doubled. Red wine was substituted for the vinegar. Served over hot buttered noodles. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      My DH and I enjoyed this meal. However the only thing we wouldn't do is when doubling the recipe (as we did) do not double the vinegar. Its just too strong a taste. I also substituted about 1/2 cup of lactose free sour cream and 1/2 cup lactose free 2% milk for the whipping cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2007

      Very Good! I made this with beef tenderloin tips (if there is such cut, the ends, you know), so I skipped the oven baking all together. I just added the meat and mushrooms to the sauce and reheated. The meat was still pink and juicy inside and to die for. But, as some other reviewers, I also would double the sauce, next time. It was so good, that it's never going to be enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      Everyone I served this to went nuts! They loved it. But, I agree with DDW...use red wine vinegar, and double the ingredients for the sauce! Everyone was scraping the bottom of the dish to try to get more sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      Very nice! A good blend of flavors. I served this over refrigerator potatoes (#95606). thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      I have made this recipe years ago and had forgotten about it until running across this one. My family loves this recipe and the flavor of the sauce I think it TDF. I don't change a thing except I double the sauce and use a red wine vinegar. YUM - delish and the house smells heavenly while cooking, I have a hard time leaving the sauce alone while the rest is baking. Great comfort food and a nice change from regular stroganoff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2006

      Wow! This is super easy and soooo delicious! It's very unique, but addicting!! Thanks for an amazing recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sirloin Tips

    Serving Size: 1 (429 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 778.2
     
    Calories from Fat 509
    65%
    Total Fat 56.5 g
    87%
    Saturated Fat 25.5 g
    127%
    Cholesterol 269.0 mg
    89%
    Sodium 501.4 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 60.7 g
    121%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes