Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sirloin Tip Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sirloin Tip Roast

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on April 23, 2010

      This was a nice change to our usual roast. Instead of getting to pans dirty I used a deep cast iron pan and used a little oil once pan was hot. My roast didn't have much fat on it at all which is a good thing. I seasoned with salt and pepper and seared both sides. Poured the liquids over it then instead of cutting into my nicely seared meat and risk losing some of the great juices I just sealed in there. I layed them on top of the roast after I brushed with the dijon and then sprinkled with the other seasonings (except salt I used garlic salt in stead of the 2 separate) I didn't measure the Au Jus mix but rather just sprinkled over the roast. My roast was only about 2 1/2 lbs so I roasted it for 1 1/2 hours then took it our and placed on a plate and tightly covered with foil and let it sit there while I cooked my potatoes. I also emptied the rest of the Au jus mix in the liquid in my pan and mixed well and let reduce for a few minutes. We did enjoy this recipe but I think the next time i will eliminate the salt altogether since the au jus mix is salty enough. The smell of it roasting wasn't so good at first but once it got going the smell improved. I think we will keep this one around for another go! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2004

      I bought a Sirloin Tip roast on sale and had no idea what to do with it until I found this recipe. And am so glad I did, this was quite yummy!!!! I bought a 3 pound roast and cooked it for an hour with a meat thermometer( I like mine Medium Rare) I was afraid it would be tough, but it was quite tender. I used an entire packet of Au Jus Mix, I didn't see why I should throw away the rest, and the gravy was excellent!!!! We had some left overs and they made excellent sandwiches. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      This was my first roast and I am pumped! It turned out amazing. I did omit the au jus mix and added a little extra salt. I had a 3lb roast and cooked it at 325 for about an hour and twenty-five minutes to achieve an internal temperature of 140. This recipe is fabulous because it satisfied both my parents, my two brothers, my uncle and grandma. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      VERY good! I used fresh herbs from the garden and stuffed the roast with the herbs as well as the garlic. I only had cream sherry which worked fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2011

      I was so pleasantly surprised just how perfect my roast came out using this recipe and technique!!! Thanks so much, it was super tender and tasted fantastic!! Only ingredient I didn't use was tarragon...not too fond of it. I had a small 3.5 lb roast so cooked it for 1 1/2 hours....perfect medium to medium-rare. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      Awesome just the way it is written. Added some more wine and water to the bottom of the pan once the roast was done. Loosened the bits and strained, then brought to a boil and reduced some. Added a little corn starch to thicken slightly. Meat was wonderfully moist and tender., Au jus tasted great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2012

      Excellent! I followed the directions exactly and it came out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      I don't cook roasts very often. My mom was in town and I had already bought some sirloin tip roast on sale so I decided to try it. I had two smaller roasts. I cooked up both in about 1 1/2 - 2 hours. Was shocked how moist and great this was. Made a gravy with the drippings and served over potatoes on the side with a nice salad. Great meal. Great recipe. This goes in the favorites folder. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2012

      This is the first beef roast I've ever made and I thought it turned out wonderfully. I used a slightly smaller roast than was called for and it only needed the 2.5 hours to be medium rare. I saved some of the juices for au jus and the rest I made into gravy for the mashed potatoes. I did add some more water and red wine after an hour or so of cooking because everything in the bottom of my pan was dry. I will definitely use this recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      This was delicious. We even had some of it with eggs for breakfast. Ended up substituting worcestercire sause for the au jus and thyme for the tarragon, just because that is what I had in the house, and cooked a 9.3 lb sirloin tip roast for 3 hrs (Hubby likes it rare). I figured that it was better to have it a little undercooked so that warming it up for subsequent meals wouldn't overcook it. Turned out great. Wonderful flavor. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Spectacular. I Purchased a whole sirloin roast becaseu my butcher was out of prime rib for our New Years dinner. With this recipe I was more than pleased however I found the recipe after I returned home and had to sustitute yellow mustard for dijon and i used a worcestercire powder in lieu of the au jus mix and a littel extra shiraz/cab wine. WOW, everyone was more thatn pleased with this even after the substitutions and we will definatley have this time and again. Too simple and very Awesome.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      I tried this recipe about a month ago and my family really loved it... not only the night we served it hot, but also when we made sandwiches with the leftovers! I was a bit worried because I'd never cooked a roast before, and it looked pretty awful in the oven, but it was great! I didn't have any au jus mix, so I used boullion, and I didn't have any tarragon, so I used anise. I'm trying it again tonight using tarragon. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      Wow! I make tri-tip at least once a month. I'm always looking for new ways to prepare it. I am so glad I found this recipe. I rated it a solid 5 stars. I used beef bouillon granules instead of the au jus mix but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I don't like to roast anything by time alone so I roasted it using a digital meat therometer. My 2 1/2 pound roast cooked to an internal temperature of 125 degrees (rare)in a little over an hour. I served it with garlic mashed potatoes, mixed vegetables, and a tossed salad. I strained the roasting juces and served along side the meat. Fantistic meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      BEST. ROAST. EVER. EVER! I've cooked a few roasts in my time, but --no question-hands down this was the very best. I used all the spices, and the cooked roast with the herbs and mustard crust made a beautiful presentation. I used all the au jus also, and was glad I did. Most of the jus/water was gone from the bottom of the pan when it was done cooking, but I think it wouldn't happen with a smaller roaster pan that fit the roast better. This is the one and only roast recipe from now on--thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      My family usually turns their noses up whenever I cook a roast. I am not good at roast--until now. I cooked a Bison sirloin roast using this recipe. It is a very lean meat and easy to over cook. I baked until the meat had an internal temp of 140 degrees and then covered with foil for about 25 minutes. I did change a few things. I inserted the garlic before I browned the roast, no reason it just seemed like a good time for it. and I did not have any tarragon so I threw in some marjaram. I also added a few potatoes and carrots. I cant wait to make this again--My kids even went for seconds!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      I made this yesterday and It was the best thing I have ever made =] Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2007

      This was fantastic.. i didnt have the dijon mustard..but it came out so good anyway! I will be cooking my roast this way from now on. The juice was excellent ...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2006

      Very good. The au jus is the best part if you ask me. When I make this again, I will definately try to increase the au jus. My son enjoyed a roast beef sandwich from the leftover roast today and dipped it in the leftover au jus and ate it all up. I was jealous, because there was none left!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

      My boyfriend made this for me on Mother's Day and it was MELT IN YOUR MOUTH GOOD!!! AWESOME! THE SAUCE THAT IT CREATED WAS OUT OF THIS WORLD!!! CAN'T SAY ENOUGH ABOUT HOW WONDERFUL THIS RECIPE IS!IT'S THE BEST!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2014

      Nice recipe, easy to follow. Had 3 1/3 lb. Cooked for about 1h 45 min

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sirloin Tip Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (51 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 40.0
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    13%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 697.7 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 0.7 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sirloin tip roast

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes