Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sirloin Steak 'n Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sirloin Steak 'n Onions

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on April 16, 2003

      This was a delicious way to have steak (we used strip steak). I added mushrooms to the onion sauce and eliminated the shallot. Also I didn't have any wine so we used just chicken broth instead of wine and chicken broth. We had this with baked potatoes and salad with oatmeal cookies for desert. A great dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2003

      What a deliciously flavorful rub for sirloin steak. My husband grabbed the A-1 and Heinz 57 from the cabinet, but after the first bite he never even opened the bottles. Now that is quite a compliment! :o) The onion sauce was also wonderful. Great just as it is, I wouldn't change a thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2013

      We bbq'd the steak but we did flip it as we were scared we were going to burn it. That turned out to be a good choice as the bottom side of the steak was getting too black. (Maybe your suggestion not to flip the meat is for broiling only?) I loved the onion sauce, it was delicious. I will add a few mushrooms next time too. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2013

      I made this for Valentines day it was great so much flavor in the steak umm if you haven't made this dish you should it. My husband loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      My husband loves cooked onions, I usually am not a fan, but LOVED the onions the way they were prepared in this recipe! The steak was amazing with the onions and sauce on top. I did not put all of it on the potatoes but agree that mashed potatoes is the best side to have with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      Loved this. I had two pounds of sirloin steaks so I doubled the marinade for the steaks. It was raining out so I decided to do this on the stove instead of the grill. I followed the recipe except I simmered the steaks on the stove for ten minutes on each side. I then added the onion. I only had a sweet onion, so I used that. Hubby wanted some mushrooms, so I put them in too. I didn't have red wine so I used all chicken broth. This smelled SO good when cooking and tasted just as good. I am not a huge steak fan but I loved this. The rest of the family loved it too. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      Really, really great recipe. I made exactly as written, with garlic mashed potatoes, and it was outstanding. My DSs were so happy to have steak in the middle of the week! Thanks for a great one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      I skipped the shallot because I didn't have any, but other than that I made it exactly as written and it was incredible. I have made it twice now and broiled it both times. Can't wait to try it on the grill! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      This is just...OH! That means excellent, but my brain cells are busy reminiscing, so they can't help to form coherent sentences. Truth be told, my mind must be on vacation because I messed this recipe up a bit, (mostly the type, size, quantity and timing of the onions), but the essence remained. My husband, who doesn't like onions, loved them in this and couldn't get enough. He even reached over to my plate with his fork, which prompted a sort of politely tense sword fight with our respective utensils. (I won.) But I digress. Cook time was a little long for medium rare in my broiler since it continued to cook while "resting", so next time I'll cut it to about 9-10 minutes max. Outstanding recipe which is going straight into my ENCORE cookbook. Thanks, Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      The simple seasoning for the steaks is AWESOME! I will definitely use that again! I marinated my steaks for about an hour at room temperature and cooked as directed, I was a little leary about not turning them over, but 15 minutes was perfect for medium. The onions, however, were a bit too much - and I like onions! I added mushrooms to them and cooked twice as long as suggested and they were too big and not soft enough. Next time I would slice them more thinly, rather than cut in 8 wedges like I did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2006

      (Pototoes & Onions) I got through step 2 and my BF insisted on grilling the steaks his way. So I added the marinade to steps 4-6 in the skillet and then added some pototoes (omitting steps 7-10). The onions caramized and the potatoes, onions and seasonings were WONDERFUL! Far better than his steak. Now we have this potato and onion side dish weekly! Thanks Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2005

      This was so fabulous! The entire family enjoyed it so much that I was just thrilled. I doubled this since we had over 3 lbs. of thick sirloin steaks and I did them in the broiler. I had no chicken broth or wine, so I used beef broth which worked wonderfully. The steak turned out incredibly tender and there was not a bit of leftovers. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sirloin Steak 'n Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (227 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 241.2
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    40%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 78.2 mg
    26%
    Sodium 422.2 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 25.9 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes