Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sinus-Aid Hot Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sinus-Aid Hot Sauce

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on April 27, 2001

      Wow! I have been looking for something like this. I really enjoyed it. I do have one question. How long will this stay fresh and viable in the frig? (Not that it hung around for long, we couldn't stop eating it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2002

      HooBoy was this hot. We used 2 anaheim and 2 serrano chilies in addition to the jalapenos and habaneros. We froze individual baggies of it, so hopefully it will survive well for future use. It's inaugural use was in a grilled potato medley with green beans. Wonderful stuff, Mark! And very easy to make. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2001

      Yummy... But what do you do with all that pepper-water... Must be usefull fo something (?!). as a substitute for "smelling salts" possibly :))) LOL unfortunatly my BF hates hot peppers... he was not ammused ROFLOL.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2001

      I generally keep unused homemade hot sauce in the fridge up to 10 days, though I''m sure I have pushed it further a time or two. Use your own judgement, but my advice is to err on the conservative side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2003

      Mark dear, this sauce does not "sneak up on you"...it waltzes right up to you and smacks you upside the head! ROFL... Even better than I expected. I got a huge chunk of jalapeno on the first bite and had to run for the milk jug. Of course, DS was laughing because I said, "Wow, that stuff rocks!" Great combination of tomato vs pepper flavor. We served this on with your Cheese Enchiladas with Sour cream sauce - outstanding combination. This is my NEW hot sauce recipe - Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2003

      This is great! It has a balanced flavor of tomato and pepper (I used the cubanelle peppers) and is just hot enough to be tingly on the tongue but not deadly. I found that this batch makes 5 cups with the cubanelles, so you can plan accordingly if you wish to can. But I don't think one batch will last that long, make more! Thanks for posting, Mark!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2001

    • on August 07, 2010

      We have habaneros growing in our garden and I have been looking for MANY recipes. This one is a keeper. I did take the suggestion of one putting a little sugar in so as I was making my fourth batch I added a can of condensed tomato soup. (I ran out of tomatoes from my garden and canned.) I put all in a gallon container and mixed all batches. The little bit of sweetness from the soup made it extra tasty. Thank you for sharing all of your great ideas.

      I also took the suggestion of one who wanted to do something with the pepper juice. I am storing it in the fridge to heat up when that bad cold comes, then see if the steam will actually cure a sinus problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      I just made this to give as gifts for Christmas this year and was really happy with how easy it was. The store was out of cubanelles, so that made the decision for me about those...though I'd like to try it with them, as the sauce ended up very fiery without too much flavor - though I am not saying that's a bad thing. I also make my own salsa, and when I ran out of jalepenos (I use the canned rings) I added some of this and it worked perfectly - adjusted the heat without messing with the flavor. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      My husband always complains that he cannot find a really "hot" hot sauce that he enjoys, until now! I substituted the Habanero peppers with 1 scotch bonnet pepper and about 6 thai peppers.Wonderful taist that hits you first but the heat does quickly follow. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      this was actually TOO hot for my Wife. but that was no fault of the recipe. i had no idea what a habanero was. now i know not to EVER give it to Her again! wonderful recipe! i just hoard it for myself now. lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      I made a few additions to this recipe that worked well! Follow all of the above directions, but with these additions: drain the tomatoes 4 Serranos instead of 2 cubanelles 1/4 cup red wine vinegar 3/4 cup olive oil 1/8 tsp sugar It's really hot, and really tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2004

      Wow! Don't let the medicine-y sounding name put you off. This is just a great (HOT!) salsa! I used jalapenos & habaneros... Oh, and I added chopped cilantro for texture... And boy, was this tasty and HOT! Thanks for sharing this with us, Mark!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2004

      Well, this was great, Mark!! I unfortunately did not have any habaneros and forgot to pick them up at the store, so I just used a LOT (8 or 9) jalapenos. It did the trick, since these were very ripe, but not overripe, jalapenos. We loved this as a side to my bean enchiladas made with your very own Red Enchilada Sauce. Thanks for posting, and sorry it took me so long to get around to making this stuff!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sinus-Aid Hot Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (1235 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 215.7
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    38%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1037.7 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 10.9 g
    43%
    Sugars 29.6 g
    118%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites