8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Kit, this was marvelous!!! I made some changes, not because I didn't agree with the recipe, but because I didn't want to make a trip to the grocery store. I used 2 pkgs. ramen noddles instead of vermicelli because I had some ramen I wanted to use up. I added some more veggies from a stir-fry frozen veggie mix....broccoli, cauliflower, baby corn, peas, etc, and those were a great addition! I upped the beef broth the 1 cup and added a little cornstarch because I wanted to make this recipe stretch a bit. I also used 1/2 lb of ground turkey instead of 1 lb of beef....trying to save a little money. :) The flavors and aroma of this are just delightful! Thanks so much for another winner Kittencal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.R August 28, 2007

I didn't think it was hot enough so I added some sriracha chili sauce toward the end. otherwise I really enjoyed the flavor -- it was different from the asian spiciness I'm used to in thai or even chinese food.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigmused May 18, 2007

Delicious way to serve up beef with chickpeas!! Had a nice kick to it! Used fresh chickpeas (that dear bf cooked for me)and made the rest of the recipe as is. Thanks Kit!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie March 19, 2007

My 2 year old daughter LOVES this dish! I leave out the bell peppers and normally add more carrots.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Khana January 28, 2010

This is an excellent dish with a nice heat and complex flavor. My husband had the leftovers the next day and said they were great. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean Louise April 07, 2009

This was fabulous!! I trusted several other reviewers reccomendations for adding extra spice and wished I hadn't though. LoL! I used a HOT curry and a HOT chili sauce - our mouths were burning! But the flavor was wonderful and this has become a favorite in our home. Next time I think I am going to do it with ground turkey or chicken :) Oh... P.S. I used spaghetti broken into small pieces.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachie Keene November 29, 2008

I was surprised to find that, as another reviewer suggested, we, too could have gone hotter with this recipe. I followed the directions exactly and used the chili sauce. Maybe if I would have used the hot chili paste, it would have given the dish the desired heat. I ended up adding more chili sauce to the finished dish to give it more flavor. While not difficult to make, the prep takes awhile. Overall, we enjoyed it. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny October 13, 2007

Tasty tasty. I give it 4 stars based on taste with my modifications and also without- I bet if I hadn't modified it would have still been absolutely perfect. I omitted the noodles, and didn't have red bell or carrot. So, I used peas instead. It was way flavorful- really really enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsMM July 11, 2007
Singapore Noodles With Ground Beef and Chickpeas