38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great taste. A little messy to roll. Put spray on your hands or use plastic gloves. I stuck in a Hershey kiss after they came out of the oven. My friend was going to put cream cheese frosting on them insteadnof the powdered sugar

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juliev320 February 14, 2011

I baked these for my classmates and they LOVED it! My one classmate said it makes you "want to lick it off your hand". I didn't refrigerate it as long as it was directed and I was in a hurry so they separated easily but my classmates didn't have a problem with it. I also added 1/2 bag of white chocolate chips and it paired well.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CareBear Cupcake November 18, 2009

I just made this last week and oh boy were they a hit! They came out great. Reviews i got from people: decadent, luscious, even SEXY! I added chocolate chips (half a bag) to the dough, it gave a little something extra. I'm new to the baking world so i didn't have a cookie sheet, so i just used my cupcake tins... which actually were perfect! b/c then all the cookies were the SAME size. I was able to make perfect sandwiches using a cream cheese frosting :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Weird Al Loser July 28, 2009

I agree with several other reviewers. This is not a crispy cookie. This is more like a mini cake. That is not a negative. It is still very good. The batter is challenging to mix, as it is very thick and trying to mix with a blender only scattered red batter in the kitchen. Baking 12 minutes was prefect. To me, it tasted like a small piece of cake without the icing. Not a very sweet cookie, so it needs the powdered sugar at least. I could see how using some cream cheese or white icing would make this more like a mini red velvet cake. Perfect treat to add to your holiday party. Another reviewer suggests using gloves when rolling out in balls because it will turn your hands red. To roll the cookies in the sugar, I put powdered sugar in a cup. I dropped the cookie in and used spoon to help roll the cookie ball in. Helped to decrease some of the mess. <br/>Once again, if you do not expect these to come out like a crispy cookie, and more like a cookie sized mini cake, I think you will really like these.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maxona_1172240 November 11, 2013

These cookies were really good and I got a lot of compliments on them. Instead of leaving them as balls before I baked them, I flattened them slightly with the bottom of a glass for a more uniform shape. I found that if I baked them for 12 minutes, they got a little bit overcooked so I cut the time back to 10 minutes and they were perfect. I stored them in the fridge overnight and I think I liked them better the next day. I also liked them better when I added the cream cheese icing (I used Crusting Cream Cheese Icing/Frosting instead of the suggested frosting) because they really tasted like Red Velvet Cake. The only problem I had with the recipe is that the hand mixer and this batter DID NOT get along well. After I added the cake mix, it got really thick and the mixer went haywire and I wound up with bright red batter spattered all over my kitchen. It looked like a scene out of Psycho and was very difficult to clean up. I would suggest using a stand mixer or mixing it by hand to avoid the giant mess.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness December 20, 2011

Disappointing!! I thought with all the rave reviews these would be fantastic. Made exactly as directed; taste pretty much like a brownie. Took to a gathering and few were eaten; I saw some half eaten. Were all the low ratings deleted????

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ljohio December 08, 2011

It is amazing how easy and delicious these cookies are, really! They were moist & fluffy on the inside and lightly crisped on the outside. The top of the cookie cracks a little and the powdered sugar falls into the cracks and it reminded me of snow. They just scream Christmas! I plan on making these for my Christmas cookie platter.....forever. You have to try them sinfully delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Monique in Sacramento December 01, 2011

These Cookies are awsome! This is the first time that I have made the red velvet but I have had and been making the same recipe for years with many other cake mixes and even added chocolate chips or other add on's try them with Chocolate Cake, Spice Cake, White, Yellow etc they are all amazing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bojocal November 23, 2011

I'm not a real baker by no means however this recipe is so easy and will not disappoint! I made them the first time last Christmas and every neighbor I gave them to LOVED them! I now make them for everyone. The cookies ship well also. I have made about 9 dozen and shipped them overseas to my adopt a soldiers with a can of cream cheese frosting in the metal can and it makes their day...maybe even month! If it is good enough for our US Armed Forces, it's good enough for anyone! Enjoy :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackncoke909 June 23, 2011

Absloutely the best cookie I have tasted in a long time. Soft, rich, and velvety. I've really never had anything like it and loved both the texture, ease, and flavor of these sinful bites. Very easy to make and everyone I shared these with requested the recipe. The only changes I made were to add a couple of teaspoons of red food coloring to the dough to increase the rich red color of the cookie, and dusted the tops with a blend confectioner's sugar and cocoa powder after they had cooled from the oven. They are a bit sticky to roll and definitely need to be well-chilled before beginning, but a bit of butter or nonstick cooking spray on the hands takes care of this easily. If you love red velvet flavor, this cookie will not disappoint.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ekachadurian June 18, 2011
Sinful Red Velvet Cookies