Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sinful Red Velvet Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sinful Red Velvet Cookies

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on February 14, 2011

      Great taste. A little messy to roll. Put spray on your hands or use plastic gloves. I stuck in a Hershey kiss after they came out of the oven. My friend was going to put cream cheese frosting on them insteadnof the powdered sugar

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      I baked these for my classmates and they LOVED it! My one classmate said it makes you "want to lick it off your hand". I didn't refrigerate it as long as it was directed and I was in a hurry so they separated easily but my classmates didn't have a problem with it. I also added 1/2 bag of white chocolate chips and it paired well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      I just made this last week and oh boy were they a hit! They came out great. Reviews i got from people: decadent, luscious, even SEXY! I added chocolate chips (half a bag) to the dough, it gave a little something extra. I'm new to the baking world so i didn't have a cookie sheet, so i just used my cupcake tins... which actually were perfect! b/c then all the cookies were the SAME size. I was able to make perfect sandwiches using a cream cheese frosting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2013

      I agree with several other reviewers. This is not a crispy cookie. This is more like a mini cake. That is not a negative. It is still very good. The batter is challenging to mix, as it is very thick and trying to mix with a blender only scattered red batter in the kitchen. Baking 12 minutes was prefect. To me, it tasted like a small piece of cake without the icing. Not a very sweet cookie, so it needs the powdered sugar at least. I could see how using some cream cheese or white icing would make this more like a mini red velvet cake. Perfect treat to add to your holiday party. Another reviewer suggests using gloves when rolling out in balls because it will turn your hands red. To roll the cookies in the sugar, I put powdered sugar in a cup. I dropped the cookie in and used spoon to help roll the cookie ball in. Helped to decrease some of the mess. <br/>Once again, if you do not expect these to come out like a crispy cookie, and more like a cookie sized mini cake, I think you will really like these.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      These cookies were really good and I got a lot of compliments on them. Instead of leaving them as balls before I baked them, I flattened them slightly with the bottom of a glass for a more uniform shape. I found that if I baked them for 12 minutes, they got a little bit overcooked so I cut the time back to 10 minutes and they were perfect. I stored them in the fridge overnight and I think I liked them better the next day. I also liked them better when I added the cream cheese icing (I used Crusting Cream Cheese Icing/Frosting instead of the suggested frosting) because they really tasted like Red Velvet Cake. The only problem I had with the recipe is that the hand mixer and this batter DID NOT get along well. After I added the cake mix, it got really thick and the mixer went haywire and I wound up with bright red batter spattered all over my kitchen. It looked like a scene out of Psycho and was very difficult to clean up. I would suggest using a stand mixer or mixing it by hand to avoid the giant mess.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2011

      Disappointing!! I thought with all the rave reviews these would be fantastic. Made exactly as directed; taste pretty much like a brownie. Took to a gathering and few were eaten; I saw some half eaten. Were all the low ratings deleted????

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2011

      It is amazing how easy and delicious these cookies are, really! They were moist & fluffy on the inside and lightly crisped on the outside. The top of the cookie cracks a little and the powdered sugar falls into the cracks and it reminded me of snow. They just scream Christmas! I plan on making these for my Christmas cookie platter.....forever. You have to try them sinfully delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      These Cookies are awsome! This is the first time that I have made the red velvet but I have had and been making the same recipe for years with many other cake mixes and even added chocolate chips or other add on's try them with Chocolate Cake, Spice Cake, White, Yellow etc they are all amazing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2011

      I'm not a real baker by no means however this recipe is so easy and will not disappoint! I made them the first time last Christmas and every neighbor I gave them to LOVED them! I now make them for everyone. The cookies ship well also. I have made about 9 dozen and shipped them overseas to my adopt a soldiers with a can of cream cheese frosting in the metal can and it makes their day...maybe even month! If it is good enough for our US Armed Forces, it's good enough for anyone! Enjoy :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      Absloutely the best cookie I have tasted in a long time. Soft, rich, and velvety. I've really never had anything like it and loved both the texture, ease, and flavor of these sinful bites. Very easy to make and everyone I shared these with requested the recipe. The only changes I made were to add a couple of teaspoons of red food coloring to the dough to increase the rich red color of the cookie, and dusted the tops with a blend confectioner's sugar and cocoa powder after they had cooled from the oven. They are a bit sticky to roll and definitely need to be well-chilled before beginning, but a bit of butter or nonstick cooking spray on the hands takes care of this easily. If you love red velvet flavor, this cookie will not disappoint.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      I made these for my cookie exchange last year and they were a hit. My kids couldn't get enough of them either. LOVE EM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      These are a definite keeper in our house, though they don't last long. Had to chase DD out of kitchen because she kept eating the dough. I made the original recipe the first time, the second time I also did a batch with a spice cake mix and rolled the balls in granulated sugar. They were both a big hit. DH has already requested another batch of each and it's only been a week since I made the last one. Also, instead of rolling the dough into balls, I used a cookie scoop cleaning it as needed. Much easier to make them even when the dough warmed up a bit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      Love these cookies! Sinfully rich but so easy to make! These are a beautiful addition to my holiday cookie trays. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2010

      Absolutely fantastic cookies. Soft and tasty for days. Can not wait to make them again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      These cookies were very good! I followed the recipe exactly, but found that the dough was extremely tough. My beaters were straining and I ended up having to mix it by hand (which was not easy). It seemed like there was not enough liquid, but I definetely followed the recipe correctly. Did that happen to anyone else?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      I made these for a major red velvet fan...they were delicious! Thanks for posting, and the directions were very clear and easy to follow. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      These cookies ROCK! I made these on Valentine's Day for my family... There's not a single one left!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      These are by far the best cookies. I doubled the batch and took to a church dinner and everyone was raving on these and going back for more. Like the name suggest though, they are sinful as they're so addicting and hard to resist if your watching your waistline. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Delicious. We love Red Velvet cake so when I saw this recipe we naturally wanted to try it. Simple and easy to bake. A little messy rolling dough but was worth it. Made recipe as printed and they turned out great. Was a little worried about a TBL of vanilla but it was fine. I could see where cream cheese frosting would be a nice addition but were good as is. I may try adding almond extract to a batch in the future just to see how that would be? Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      wonderful Christmas cookie recipe! I made this for DH to take to his work and it was a huge success! Thank You for sharing this recipe for these lil gems..they have won their way into rotation!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sinful Red Velvet Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (57 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 339.9
     
    Calories from Fat 314
    92%
    Total Fat 34.9 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 20.7 g
    103%
    Cholesterol 135.9 mg
    45%
    Sodium 322.3 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    red velvet cake mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes