Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sinful Eggplant (Aubergine) (Sinful for Low Calorie, Considering Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sinful Eggplant (Aubergine) (Sinful for Low Calorie, Considering

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2002

      This was delicious! The parmesan cheese mixed with the breadcrumbs was good and everyone liked it. I halved the recipe and added just slightly more mozzarella cheese. I used leftover spaghetti sauce and served it with the leftover spaghetti and green beans. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2003

      This recipe was good. My meat and potatoes man suggested we add chicken next time! But he was interested in eating it again and that is a good enough test for me. I think I will use the coating for other vegetables, we ate some of the eggplant before we got it into the dish. My only problem was deciding how thick the eggplant needed to be. We cut them around 1/4 inch thick and that seemed to cook fine. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      Loved it! This will be my standard Eggplant Parm recipe going forward! I salted the eggplant slices in a colander and let drain for an hour before rinsing the salt off. I just recently started doing this w/ eggplant recipes and find it makes them a lot less mushy. I used 2 whole eggs instead of egg whites b/c as another reviewer asked - why waste 4 egg yolks? I did not add salt. I used Panko break crumbs, which are another new discovery for me -- I MUCH prefer them to regular dried bread crumbs b/c they are lighter and result in a crispier coating. I used regular PAM b/c I didn't have olive oil spray.... the eggplant slices ended up very nicely browned on a dark cookie tray. 15 minutes per side was perfect. I used jarred marinara sauce and 2 cups of shredded mozzarella. Served w/ a big green salad. My boys wished there was pasta on the side but since the eggplant was breaded, I decided that this dinner didnt 'need more carbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      This was great. I gave some to my vegetarian niece and she approved too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      this was awesome! it's easy, tastes great and makes great left overs. it probably would have been good on top of some pasta (with a little more sauce added).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      Very yummy! The main reason it gets 4 stars and not 5 is because of the amount of dishes required to cook this! Other than that, it was great, and the only thing I changed was to not brush the eggplant with any oil before cooking, and to cook it slightly longer. My husband complained about me serving eggplant, saying he didn't like it, but once he tried this he ate up all that I'd served to him. This will definitely be made again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      This is a great 'base' recipe but I tweaked it a lot. First, no need for cooking spray. One light brushing of the baking sheet does the trick. Olive oil has so much goodness in it!Definitely less breadcrumbs - 60g was plenty. Instead of 4 egg whites, I just used two eggs beaten with 1 tbsp of milk (why waste the yolks?) and made my own very easy sauce with passata, garlic, onions, crushed chillies and 400g of extra lean ground turkey to boost the protein content. Top layer of mozzarella can use a spoon of parmesan mixed into it, and only FRESH basil!! Makes such a difference. The dish came out spectacular - and only about 100 cal per 100 g. Yum! Oh yeah, black pepper is a must.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      This was the first time I made eggplant. I am giving this 5 stars for a lowfat diet dish. I'm on Weight Watchers and I calculated 5 pts. per serving. I salted the eggplant with kosher salt and let it sit in a colander for a half an hour then I rinsed them and pressed them with paper towels on a cutting board. They browned nicely when I used my dark cookie sheets but my silver one didn't. If I weren't dieting, I would have fried them and used more cheese on top and all over and even added ricotta between the layers. My kids didn't eat it (they tasted it) so I took the leftovers and made them into 5 pt. servings in ziplocks and they are in my freezer now for 5 pt. lunches. Thanks for the reicpe Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2007

      This is very good! My olive oil spray wasn't browning the eggplant so when I turned them over I drizzled light olive oil over them. I also did one layer of eggplant and then baked since it was only for me and my husband. It was the perfect amount for two of us. I also enjoyed the cooking method of this eggplant recipe because it allows time to cook pasta while it bakes the second time and everything comes out ready at the same time. Highly recommended! We served over spaghetti sprinkled with light olive oil, garlic powder, basil and parmasan cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      we loved this what more could be said did not need to change a thing. I will make this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      Loved this recipe I replaced the bread crumbs with stuffing mix for that extra flavour. also added fresh herbs. I will keep this as one of my favorites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2006

      Exceptional! I have tried eggplant parm before but never with great results. Hubby complimented it. I served chicken breasts and a tossed salad with it. This is a keeper. I can't believe I could have a little extra and still stay in my dietary guidelines. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2006

      Excellent recipe. Now I finally have a recipe to make eggplant parmesan that is low fat and tastes great. This tastes almost as good as the fried version without any of the fat! I omitted the salt (no need as pasta sauce has enough salt for me), added fresh basil and dried parsley. Next time when I melt the cheese I will cook for 15 mins and not 20 min. as mine were a little too brown by then. I will also make less of the bread crumb mixture as I had about a third left that I ended up throwing away. I used prego tomato and basil sauce. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2006

      Wow! Very good. I will definatly make this again. I scaled down the eggs to two, and cut the eggplant into thinner slices. Excellent over spaghetti squash with fresh marinara. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      We really en joyed this dish... I always order eggplant out, but have never tried making it myself. We will make this again for sure. I do recommend slicing the eggplant pretty thin... our slices were a little too thick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      Mine only made a 10" square dish. Maybe I made it too thick? I probaly used too much cheese (an Italian-style blend) and I used meat sauce instead of marinara. It was delicious and I'm delighted that I didn't have to go to the trouble of frying the eggplant. I will definitely make this again. So tasty, and my dinner guests loved it! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      This was excellent! I made a marinara sauce to go with it and used Italian bread crumbs instead of plain. It was a wonderful dinner with super low points for WW. Very filling will definatley make again! thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2005

      Just like the restaurant! I didn't change a thing... except maybe add some more sauce. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2004

      Outstanding low-cal, lowfat eggplant parmesan. This is better than good, it's great. I used whole wheat breadcrumbs, lowfat mozzarella and fat free pasta sauce so it was even healthier but it tastes sooo decadent. I cut my eggplant into 1/2"- 3/4" thick slices. It really does brown and crisp up nicely in the initial baking. The finished casserole is gorgeous when it comes out of the oven. Thanks, Bergy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2004

      I have been looking for lower calorie recipes for Eggplant Parmesan, and this is the best one I have tried. It is a little saltier and slightly less tasty than the fried version, but still very good. I will be making this again. Also, I prepared some fresh tomato slices like the eggplant, and they taste great also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sinful Eggplant (Aubergine) (Sinful for Low Calorie, Considering

    Serving Size: 1 (273 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 249.2
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    32%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 21.8 mg
    7%
    Sodium 964.4 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 12.3 g
    49%
    Protein 15.1 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites