Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sindhi Biryani Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sindhi Biryani

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2013

      Thanks for posting this receipe the instructions very clear and easy to follow I am sure I will be making this again and again Baraka Allhu feki

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      This biryani is the BEST Sindhi Biryani I have ever had! I was skeptical, because normally I'm not a huge fan of tomatoes in biryani, but this was really delicious. I did omit the potatoes, and added tamarind to give it a more tangy flavor. Also, I added saffron soaked in milk, a tablespoon of ghee (or crisco) melted, and couple of pinches of yellow food coloring all on the top along with the chopped coriander, fried onions and mint. (If you're trying this variation, add the coriander, mint and fried onions LAST or else they will look a little jaundiced!) To make sure the layers of rice and meat steamed well, I put my stove on low and covered the pot with foil (just where the lid goes) and topped it with the lid. This recipe is explained well and once I had everything chopped, it was actually a cinch to make. I will definitely be making this dish again this weekend for some guests! Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      this is a very good recipe and its pretty good made with chicken as well. you ought to put up more of your recipes, thanks for this one!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2013

      Yumm, yumm! I made ours with organic brown chicken parts cut up and no potatoes. DD1 and I ate at least double the amount we usually do we liked it so much. DH said he didn't like it though but he doesn't like spice even though I had cut down the heat significantly. I used a crappy Indian basmati rice that when cooked in the larger amount of water as written does not do well with soaking (too soft) so I just rinced and mostly cooked (approximately 8 minutes). I used organic onion, organic garlic cloves crushed, some ginger powder as I didn't have fresh, a smaller amount of tomato paste as that is also what I had on hand, no prunes, sea salt to taste, less cayenne pepper powder in place of the chili powder and chiles, all the spices except black cardamom pods, organic cocovpnt milk instead of yogurt as that is what I had, no fresh coriander but fresh mint from our garden, Iranian saffron crushed in a morter with pestle and soaked in some Iranian rose water instead of food colouring! I finished it off in a low oven instead of on the stove which is even better I think.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2013

      Tried this recipe and loved it! Made slight modifications (they're negligible really).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2013

      This biryani is truly the best and most delicious I have ever had here in the states. This is coming from a newly wed I have just started cooking. This was my first time ever making rice and meat(chicken) & I tell you it was really good. The Masala prep took longer than expected because of the potatoes..guess i should have followed the instructions above and bowl them ahead of time but everyone loved the potatoes in the Biryani. it couldn't have been better! The directions were clear & easy to follow. I only had regular rice available so they kind of took away from the taste but i kept a little masala on the side. So I will cook the rest of it with Basmasti tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      Thank you thank you for posting this recipe. I made a half batch. I knew it was perfect because I instinctively began shoveling it down. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      I love it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      It is no doubt a faboulus recipe described here. very first time I could have a true sindhi biryani taste at home after having this excellent recipe. It desrves admiration and aplause.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2006

      I made this before I read the recipe and it came out great. This recipe has great directions. Always make sure the onions are golden brown. Where is you r recipe for chilly chicken? Please post it. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sindhi Biryani

    Serving Size: 1 (213 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 509.4
     
    Calories from Fat 246
    48%
    Total Fat 27.3 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 49.6 mg
    16%
    Sodium 640.1 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 18.3 g
    36%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cloves

    green cardamoms

    black pepper

    black cardamom pods

    black cardamom pods

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes