Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simpy's Carnitas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simpy's Carnitas

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2011

      I grew up in South Texas near the Mexican border and can say that this is exactly how Carnitas should taste. The flavor is subtle so that it doesn't overpower the other ingredients piled on at the dinner table: salsa verde, lime, guacamole, fresh cilantro, etc. But of course, "home food" never tastes authentic to the next person because each Mom uses what ever she has on hand and makes it taste just right. That is the beauty of traditional foods.

      This recipe is so versatile and cost effective because we have Carnitas and/or Carnitas nachos with a creamy green salsa for the first few days, and then I simmer the remaining meat with rich spices, chiles, etc. to make pork tamales. (Allow the floating grease to remain with the pork when the carnitas are finished cooking. Chill. After it has chilled overnight, scrape the soft lard off the top and mix it with the masa harina to make wonderfully-flavored tamales.)

      My family requests this recipe every time pork goes on sale. In fact, I buy extra and freeze one for future carnitas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      I followed other reviewers advice and made a few adjustments: increased the cumin to 2T, added 6 cloves roughly chopped garlic, added 1t oregano, added 1T adobo seasoning. After cooking till soft, I shredded meat into roaster. Removed bay leaves from broth and reduced broth(boiling on high heat) until it was about 1, 1/2 cups, added reduced broth to meat and let it sit for awhile. When I was ready to serve I put it under the broiler for about 10 min. When I tasted the meat as I was shedding it it did taste a little bland, but after soaking it in the concentrated broth it was wonderful, and even better the next day. Served with taco fixens in recipe, but they taste phenomenal with caramelized red onions and just a little cheese

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2012

      This is a wonderful recipe. I did go by the recipe, but increased the amount of garlic and doubled the cumin spice. I also added about 2-3 tbs of Recaito, 2-3 tsp of Adobe, and 1-2 tsp of sea salt at the end. Great recipe, will be using again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      There's no Chipotle near me, so I wanted to make my own carnitas burrito bowls. We ate this with cilantro lime rice, pinto beans, fresh salsa and guacamole, and sour cream. As good...if not better...than Chipotle! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2014

      These carnitas are melt in your mouth delicious! I followed the recipe and directions exactly as stated. My son and grandson were here for lunch and they, along with my hubby, gobbled this up like they were starving. They already requested that we have this again. Thank you very much for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2014

      These are excellent! The key is the crisping of the meat at the end, don't skip that step.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2013

      Made this over the Fourth of July week end! Delicious! Am making again this week end. Am going to add a jalepeno and a little salt. Am also going to try braising on Friday and finishing in the oven on Saturday to save some time!<br/>UPDATE! - Made this for the third time this week end. Started on Saturday with six pounds of pork and added eight cloves of garlic, one jalapeno cut in half, and about a tablespoon of salt. When the meat was done, took out as much onion and cilantro as I could and drained the meat, SAVING the stock! I skimmed the fat off and drizzled it over the meat before putting it in the fridge overnight. Cooked the meat as directed but the flavorful fat made this recipe even better! Used the stock as part of the nine cups water to make Refried Beans Without the Refry Refried Beans Without the Refry. Unbelievably delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2010

      This is a fantastic place to start, but I confess it is a bit lacking on flavor if made exactly as written. I quarter 2 onions, add 6 cloves of minced garlic (we're a garlic family), 2 cups of cilantro and a bit of cayenne. I boil the meat until it's falling apart, shred it and return it to the broth instead of baking at the end. I realize it might not be authentic the way I do it, but it makes killer tacos and out of this world subs (split a crusty bread, ladle in the meat and juices, top with cheese and melt...mmm). My very picky husband and pickier daughter request this once a week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2010

      Follow the recipe to the "T" and this had NO FLAVOR. I live in So-Cal, so maybe I'm just used to the authentic stuff?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      This was only okay. I am Mexican, live in SD about 5 minutes away from the border, and grew up eating carnitas, so maybe I am just spoiled and so I am picky!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      Very good recipe for carnitas! The meat was moist and flavorful and the whole family loved it. Plus, it was so easy to prepare. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

    • on December 20, 2009

      I have to say I was skeptical, but decided to give this a try due to all the great reviews. Plus, I was short on time and this was the most simple carnitas recipe I could find. As promised, this recipe was delicious! Especially considering that I left out the cilantro (my husband is one of those "cilantro tastes like soap" people) and I forgot to add the bay leaves until the last half hour of simmering. Even more amazing is this - I spent $5.42 on pork shoulder, cooked in chicken broth, cumin, and onion for about 2 1/2 hours, served in tortillas with monterey jack, one chopped tomato and one chopped avocado, and managed to feed three adults, with enough leftovers to throw into eggs the next morning. It doesn't get any better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      I made this for the first time tonight and......WOW. This was an awesome dish! My g/f was skeptical because there was no oil involved, but she could not stop eating these! We both loved them so much, we ate them until our stomach hurt! We just couldn't put them down. I also prepared some fresh salsa and guacamole and made tacos & quesadillas with the meat. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      Excellent. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      Fabulous! Very good. These carnitas really hit that craving for me. I did need to add quite a bit more fluid to cover the meat, but otherwise it was perfect. I think I cut my pork into smaller chunks because it was done in 2 hours. I used the leftover juice to make rice. Mmmmmm. I am eating the leftovers today on rolls just like pulled pork sandwiches. Will make often! Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      These were wonderful! The flavor of the pork is great. The hardest part of the recipe is trimming the fat off the pork and cubing it. I baked mine for about 12 minutes so it didn't dry out too much. Made the house smell so good. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      Fabulous! I'll never go out for carnitas again. The first time I tried it, I used pork country style ribs (boneless) cut into cubes, and it worked just fine. I used the leftover broth to cook some brown rice, and it was delicious too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      GREAT!! I used the left over stock to season pinto beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      Thank you chef!I made this the other night,I love this recipe,now I can make my own carnitas,ha ha :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simpy's Carnitas

    Serving Size: 1 (373 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 803.2
     
    Calories from Fat 560
    69%
    Total Fat 62.2 g
    95%
    Saturated Fat 21.4 g
    107%
    Cholesterol 214.8 mg
    71%
    Sodium 706.6 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 54.2 g
    108%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites