Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simply the Best Ham & Navy Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simply the Best Ham & Navy Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 16, 2014

      Really delicious! I loved the tomato sauce touch! I made exactly as directed and LOVED IT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2014

      This bean soup recipe is "Simply the best." It is low carb too--no potatoes like most other bean soup recipes. The tomato sauce, celery salt and cider vinegar add just the right touch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2013

      This is delicious! Mine was a bit salty, but that could have been from the ham. Only thing I'd change is to reduce the amount of onion just a little bit and maybe reduce the celery salt, since my soup was a bit salty. Mine turned out very thick, which is how I like my bean soup. Made for Name that Ingredient tag game. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2012

      I loved this soup. It's the best navy bean soup I've ever had or made. It came out thick, not brothy and the flavor is GREAT. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2012

      Wonderful Recipe.... Rich and hearty with plenty of flavor. I copied the recipe EXACTLY the first couple of times and the replaced the HAM with Smoked Jalapeno Sausage (1 full link... about a pound).... I also threw in fresh garlic (4 toes).... Served with fresh cornbread in a bowl with fresh chopped onions and a hearty pat of BUTTER............. Awesome!.... It won't last long!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2011

      I agree simply the best!!!! Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

      This really was the Best soup! I made it with the ham hocks once and again with Low fat kilbaska sausage. I was great both ways. I also froz half each time and had a second fast dinner that was still just as good as the first. I served it with the Jalapeno cornbread and a sm green salad with Lg tomatoes slices. Wonderful comfort food dinner! Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      I think it's not only the best Navy Bean soup but the best soup, period. A couple of changes that I made to the recipe: I used "kubabas" (all spice) instead of pepercorns; I added a couple of fresh Campari tomatoes; and lastly I pureed about 1/2 the soup for added thickness. It turned out wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      I replaced the tomato sauce with a can of diced tomatoes, but otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. The soup was a bit thinner than I like, so I pureed 1 cup of beans and stirred them back in--yummy7, delicious, and better than Marie Callender's Saturday special. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simply the Best Ham & Navy Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (275 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 157.3
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    15%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 9.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 1212.8 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 13.5 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham hocks

    celery salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes