Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simply the Best Baked Onion Rings! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simply the Best Baked Onion Rings!

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-31 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on May 21, 2004

      Very good. Crunchy just like you would want an onion ring. I used the cornflake crumbs instead of the breadcrumbs. They are time consuming but well worth the effort.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2004

      very light, flavorful, and crunchy. i also used panko and cajun seasonings with vidalia onions. the sweetness of the onions and the spices were perfect and the panko makes them light and crispy. we ate these so fast i didn't have time to take a photo, sorry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2004

      Well, I got mixed reviews on these. On the one hand, my husband didn't like them, but he really likes the batter-type onion rings. On the other hand, my two-year old really liked them, and he doesn't like the batter-type onion rings. I, not being so picky, thought they were very good. I did need more breadcrumbs than the recipe called for, but that may be because I used breadcrumbs that were frozen fresh, and weren't really dried. They were crispy, but kind of crumbly too. Overall good though, and will probably make them again, but will adjust some seasonings. Thanks for the good recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2004

      YUM! I made these with home-made whole wheat breadcrumbs and they were very crispy and delighful. Pretty easy to make, too. Only things were how goopy the egg ended up getting (I used a whole egg rather than just white) after so much dipping of flour-covered rings into it and the bread crumbs got a little to wet to stick after so much dipping of egg-covered rings into them. One other thing I will do next time (and there WILL be a next time, believe me!) is spray the rings themselves with some of my canola spray. They were an itty bit dry, but if you are watching fat content, they are perfectly fine as is. I love these baked "fried foods" because fried foods tend to make me nauseous! All the yumminess, nearly none of the fat! We ate these with Black Bean Burgers (#83423) and ketchup- excellent healthy "burger and fries"-type meal. Thanks for posting, I'll be making these again soon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2013

      Seriously - and I mean Seriously, these were the BEST baked onion rings we have ever had! We stopped eating the frozen ones because they were too greasy, and the fast food ones for the same reason. This recipe turned out perfectly! I used panko as suggested by others and they were just wonderful. Many thanks for posting this keeper!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2012

      after reading the reviews I decided to use my own spices in place of italian. I used garlic powder and a seasoned pepper mix. My husband liked them but we both felt the spices could be tweaked. I also followed a reviewers advice of putting the first flour into a bag and throwing all the onions in there and shaking it up. That worked well... my 6yr old daughter helped to put them from the bag into the egg and then I put them into the crumbs. I used one Walla Walla sweet and had to add more egg and more crumbs. Incidently, I used a whole egg since I don't mind a few extra calories and it seemed to work fine. The one onion made 3 batches and I experimented with added oil on top or not and definitely got a better response with a little oil on top (or you could generously oil the bottom and turn them half-way thru.) My 6yr old told me I had to save the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2012

      I'm sorry to say that the onion rings did not turn out well for us. I followed the recipe exactly but the onion rings weren't completely coated and they never did get crispy even after 25 minutes in the oven. They were terribly dry and seemed to need a spritz of oil or something to save them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      not that great, yea did taste like diet, it needs something to give it a bold flavor, but that would make it less healthy. well i put alot og mustard sauce on it and baked it for another 5 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      Tasty tasty tasty! I don't normally have onion power or italian seasoning on hand, so I did a mix of garlic powder, cayenne, and oregano. My only issue with the recipe was how hard it was to get the breadcrumbs to stick. Even after the egg whites, I still couldn't get those little buggers on in an even coat. They looked kinda sad going into the oven, but fabulous coming out. Wish I'd thought to take a picture for the site. Next time...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2004

      These were very tender and tasty. I did have trouble getting enough of the breadcrumb mixture to stick to feel like I had a good cover. I am sure they have to be better for one's health than the fried version!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2004

      Guess we didn't cook long enough as ours lacked the crispness. Also the rings weren't fully covered but probably DD fault in preparation. Visual presentation was less than appealing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simply the Best Baked Onion Rings!

    Serving Size: 1 (118 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 202.8
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    21%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 470.3 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites