Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simply the Best Baked Onion Rings! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simply the Best Baked Onion Rings!

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on March 11, 2004

      I really liked the texture of these, however I felt like I was eating diet food. I think it has great potential changing up the spices a bit, and I would leave out the italian seasoning next time around. I found it easier to put the flour in a tupperware, add a batch of onions and shake it up, rather than hand dipping each one. I think we will try these again, maybe using different spices, possibly trying a cajun version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      I just made these....so good!! I actually gave the onions a milk bath first, used 2 whole eggs, and panko bread crumbs. I put garlic powder, a little cayenne pepper, black pepper, a little paprika, and sea salt in with the bread crumbs! These are awesome! Thanks for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      These are really, really good! I used 2 whole eggs and panko, also shook the onion rings in a bag with the flour (which coated them much better). Even my husband liked them and he's a big fan of the deep fried ones!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      Wow...we really liked these onion rings. Loved the fact that they are baked. Followed the recipe exactly. We have this every other week now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Quite liked this recipe. Mixed some corn starch into the flour, which I found helped keep the bread crumb mixture stick on the rings, but kinda coagulated the mixture at the same time. Used just italian seasoning and garlic powder....still plenty of taste. make sure you flip them to ensure consistent golden browness. Really good recipe, will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      These are tasty but I wish the onion got softer. I think most people will think that they are healthy but that doesn't make them bad. I had to turn them to crisp both sides. Yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      Oh thank heavens: A baked Onion Ring recipe that actually HOLDS the breadcrumbs onto the rings. I've tried a few, and this is tops. I used Panko bread crumbs (and would encourage others to do so as well - they adhere better than the regular) and they were fansastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2004

      Very good! I over-looked the seasonings somehow, and they were still good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2004

      The title doesn't lie...these are the best. I used panko for the crumbs and slightly less italian seasoning, wanting the onion flavor to be the star performer. I love eating something so delicious knowing it's healthy too. We are glad you posted this one, Ladypit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2004

      Crispy, delicious, low-fat!! I used prepared corn flake crumbs for the breading.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      Superb! I don't think they took too long at all, especially considering how long it takes to make "traditional" (fried) onion rings. Delicious and healthy, the only sub I had was using prepared egg beaters, and homemade breadcrumbs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      Yummy! These onion rings were not only healthy, but oh so good!!! We used 1 large onion, 2 whole eggs, and 1 1/2 times the bread crumb/season mixture. We also added a little cayenne pepper to the mix. The bread crumb mixture stuck really well to the onion rings and the they were crispy and full of flavor. This will be our standard onion ring recipe from now on! Thanks, Ladypit - these are awesome!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      Super! My entire family loved these. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      These were very good, I liked the fact that the whole onion didn't come out on the first bite like the fried ones do. I added some cayenne pepper to my dry mixture and added some Italian flavored panko crumbs as well. I halved the recipe as well. Oh and I did a milk bath, flour, egg, and panko. Just wonderful and a great base to try different seasonings. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      These were great with our burgers last night and we didn't even feel guilty afterwards! :)I used panko crumbs and left out the Italian seasoning (just a personal preferance- DH and I really enjoyed these. Thanks for posting this, ladypit- it's a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      Yummy! I used Italian seasoned breadcrumbs instead of using the seasonings listed because that is all I had on hand. They did take quite a bit of prep work, but they were worth it! I will make these again, and I think next time I will get regular breadcrumbs and use the listed seasonings.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      I'm eating a batch now! I think this recipe will be a good base for me to design a baked onion ring I can love. The spices in this recipe overwhelmed the onion too much, for my taste. They're okay, and were well-worth the simple matter of whipping them up, but I don't think I'll use this exact recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2006

      These onion rings weren't bad, still think batter-dipped is better. We tweeked them by using Panko bread crumbs along with the regular bread crumbs. We also double-dipped them (by adding a bit of water to the egg whites, dip in flour first, then eggwhites, then panko mix) so that the panko would stick better. There was no problem with the breading. We thought they could use a bit more flavor and would like to try them again but before baking, spay a bit of Pam on top first. I think that will help with the texture and still keep them lowfat. Thanks for recipe ladypit, it's a great start to perfection.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2004

      These were great! I do not care for deep fried foods so when I saw this I had to try it. Well, this is a keeper in my house my whole family enjoyed them. So glad to be able to have a recipe for Onion Rings that are not deep fried. Thanks ladypit

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2004

      I liked the flavor of these onion rings. I halved the recipe and used extra breadcrumbs. I accidently left out the Italian seasoning but it was still good. Thanks lady!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simply the Best Baked Onion Rings!

    Serving Size: 1 (118 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 202.8
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    21%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 470.3 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites