Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simply Sweet Pickles (No Processing Required) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simply Sweet Pickles (No Processing Required)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on September 29, 2009

      May I be the first to review this. Five stars for the ease and five stars for the taste. I had made some Dill pickles that turned out to be too sour for me (although my brothers said they were nice). I couldn't give them away (the pickles, not my brothers) so I kept in my fridge wondering what to do with very sour (IMHO) pickles (the sourness cause me gastric problems). When I saw this recipe, I thought I'd give it a shot. I had a pint's worth of pickles but used the whole recipe. Delish! The pickles were crispy and sweet. Couldn't stop eating them! Personally, I would use more garlic (love garlic). It's a keeper! Thanks for posting it and please thank Herb for me too! ; )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2013

      I have been making a similar recipe for years only I go with a gallon size jar if you can find it. I have tried all the brands that my local stores carry and not all pickles are suitable. I usually use Vlasic or Mt. Olive, the others are too sour and do not taste good. Nice to have the recipe downsized but truth be known, the gallon jar does not last very long in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2011

      Oh Dear!!!!!...........I love Dill Pickles...I like sweet pickles...These are the BEST EVER........Best of BOTH Worlds...................I will make this forever and ever....Used everything as the ingredients, except just used 3/4 cup sugar......Don't be afraid of the Tabasco...These are not hot or spicy in that way...Thank You So Very Much!!!!!!...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2011

      I am fascinated by unusual recipes and this one sounded interesting. OH MY GOSH! I love the pickles! It couldn't be simpler and the balance between sweet, spicy and kosher is perfect! Coworkers are already asking for the recipe, and the jar is half empty after only 4 days!

      I was slightly worried as I couldn't find a 48oz jar of pickles, so settled for 2 32 oz jars. I did my best guess regarding quantities, and either guessing doesn't affect the overall taste - or I guessed right. Great pickles!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2011

      These are the best! Can't stop eating them, and I don't usually care much for pickles. Thanks Jan Marie for a truly wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      These are so good! I haven't even went through the 2 day processing and I can't keep my hands off them. I'm off to the store to buy some more pickles. I only added a few drops of hot sauce, because I'm a baby when it comes to spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      These are lovely! So simple, and yet delicious. The Tabasco makes adds just a hint of heat while still retaining the essential sweetness and crispness. Top class recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Jan marie... I have to type this in capital letters, as regular type does not show up well enough.... no stretch of the imagination should these be rated only 5 star.. zarr has got to increase the stars.. no pickle you could ever taste would match these.. they are simply beyond description fantastic.. if anyone likes dill and sweet pickles, they have to make this recipe.. it could not be easier... so glad I found this recipe. Can't thank you enough for posting it. Nita OOPS.. SEEMS I DIDN[T USE CAP'S AFTERALL.. OH WELL I GOOFED..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      Another 5 star review for these easy, tasty pickles. I remember, when I was younger, my Mom going through the long process of soaking cucumbers for days in one kind of solution, then washing them and soaking them in sugar to make sweet pickles. Wow, if she had known about this, I wonder if she would have gone through all that trouble. I was a little skeptical about the hot sauce, but it gives the pickles a nice kick. I may reduce the amount next time, just to have a more traditional sweet pickle. Oh, I also didn't have any garlic cloves, so I just put in the equivalent of garlic powder. It tastes great to me. Note: it only makes enough liquid to cover about 1/2 of the pickles, so you need to keep them shaken up. I highly recommend you give this recipe a try. Thanks Jan for submitting it!! *Update* I've made another jar, but this time only used a few drops of hot sauce. My boys and I like these a lot better. The others were too hot for the kids.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      What a great recipe! I had a jar of homemade dill pickles in my cabinet. This method worked perfectly and so easily to turn them into a sweet pickle with a little bite to them. I was surprised that this actually turned the dill pickles a brighter, deeper green. The tang of the tabasco sauce and garlic hits your tastebuds right at the end of the bite :) I used Texas Pete and minced garlic that I had in a jar. So easy and good, Thanks Jan Marie !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      Easily a 5 star recipe. Beyond easy to make and very tasty. I added a diced habanero to mine for a sweet-hotter pickle-would not change a thing! Thanks for Posting! Di;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simply Sweet Pickles (No Processing Required)

    Serving Size: 1 (131 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 78.9
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    93%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1000.0 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 18.1 g
    72%
    Protein 0.7 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites