Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simply Splendid Rice Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simply Splendid Rice Pudding

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on November 09, 2009

      This tastes just like the creamy, delicious rice pudding I was brought up on in England! I doubled the recipe, and as suggested, used evaporated milk in place of part of the milk. I was in comfort food heaven with this one ~ couldn't stop going back to the pan for extra helpings! Thank you for transporting me back to my childhood, Lennie! Pure indulgence!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      I was sorely disappointed when I couldn't find a recipe similar to my childhood favorite (Current's - Miriam B Lou's)on Recipezaar. I was weary to try a new recipe (esp. w/o eggs)! I followed this recipe as written with the following exceptions: used 2 cups half & half, 2 cups 2% milk, added cinnamon and 1 cup of raisins before baking. This is the easiest, richest, most incredible comfort food I have ever tasted. I even made a low-fat version for our family (using FF half & half and 2% milk - Alli friendly) and you couldn't tell the difference! It tasted like I remember as a child!!! Thanks Lennie!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      Delicious Used a quarter of a vanilla bean instead of vanilla essence - wanted it to be extra special for dessert for a friend with lots of dietary restrictions - worked great with lactose free milk. Will definitely make again and share with friends. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2006

      Easy and wonderful. I followed the suggestion of other reviewers and substituted one can of evap. milk for the whole milk. Used arborio rice. Rich and creamy! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2006

      This was good, my husband really enjoyed it as it was not as sweet as a lot of rice pudding recipes. I halved the recipe as I was not sure just how much it would make and there were only 2 of us eating. Next time I will make the full recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2006

      I don't particularly like rice pudding so made this for dh. It smelled so good I had to try it - and it was great! I used arborio rice, and I threw in a cinnamon stick for the first hour or so of baking. Very creamy and yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2006

      Oh, my gosh, we all LOVED this! I made two, one for now and one for the freezer, but it may just go in the fridge, to be COMPLETELY DEVOURED tomorrow! And there are only three of us, and one of us is a two-year-old! I added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon and a handful of raisins to each batch, cooked them at the same time, and, well, words cannot describe how wonderful this dish really is! This will definitely be made again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2006

      This was sooo good! I cooked it on top of the stove, and added 2 pieces of whole cinnamon, it came out perfect! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2005

      I cannot believe i made such a delicious rice pudding! The taste was phenomenal. The recipe was so simple and it wasnt expensive to make either! My toddler daughter loved it as well. We used all organic ingredients; and arborio rice and regular organic sugar as i was out of brown. I will make this again. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2005

      Lennie, this recipe is just wonderful! I made this to take to DH, and I doubled the recipe, I used half milk and half and half cream, I also added in 2 large pieces of cinnamon bark, and used half brown and half white sugar, also I increased the sugar a bit... I started the cooking process on top of the oven until just to a boil and finished baking it in the oven in my large white Corning Ware casserole dish. I cannot stop eating this it so delicious! I'd better leave some for DH LOL! Lennie, thank you for a fantastic rice pudding recipe, I'll be making this again and again, it is SO good!...Kittencal:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2005

      I love this recipe and have made it now, four times. It's a very adaptable recipe, and each time, I seem to try different ideas. The first time, I had only three cups of milk, so I added a can of sweetened condensed milk and ommitted the brown sugar. It was terrific. Today, I have a cold, and wanted comfort food. I'm out of butter, so I added honey-butter, and halved the recipe. Can't wait 'til it's all done! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2004

      Outstanding!!! This is the BEST rice pudding recipe that I've tried, and it's so simple to make. I did add about a tsp. of ground cinnamon and next time I may try to add some raisins. Thank you so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2004

      Lennie, DH says "any more ideas like this one?" He ate TWO bowls despite being unwell at the moment. Did substitute one of the cups of milk with Carnation evaporated milk and needed an extra half-hour in the oven but that might just be because of the power supply in my part of Spain. Thank you so much Lennie. Sue Thomas 21

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2004

      Lennie, this sure is COMFORT food. I cooked this recipe two ways. One was in the oven as per the instructions and the other way was on the stovetop. One of my children doesn't like baked rice pudding so I thought I would give it a go on the stovetop and it works. We had the pudding tonight and it was sooooo creamy and yummy. I served it with stewed prunes. Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simply Splendid Rice Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (186 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 197.3
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    36%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 27.8 mg
    9%
    Sodium 122.9 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 8.9 g
    35%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes