606 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had a big mexican dinner at my house and these enchiladas were a hit! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. These are better than any restaurant's I've had!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zach's Mom 2000 July 28, 2010

My family loved this recipe said it was the best one. I followed the recipe exactly except I added a can of mild Rotel tomatoes instead of the green chilies. Plus I used 10 whole wheat tortillas. Delicious! This is now a new family favorite.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth Gordon July 12, 2010

This recipe is fab! I am vegan so I used Chicken flavored Seiten, tofutti sour cream, earth balance butter and "vegan gourmet" jack cheese. Oh my goodness! Oh my goodness! Served with refried beans, spanish rice, chips & guac.. DELICIOUS!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ripple July 09, 2010

Except for adding a few spices to the chicken as it cooked I followed this recope exactly and it wad one of the worst recipes I have made in years. It has no flavor. We ended up pitching the whole thing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bkcgraham February 22, 2010

These just didn't quite do it for us. They were too bland. I tried adding chili powder and cumin to the chicken like some of the reviews suggested but it still wasn't quite right. If you don't like lots of flavor these may be perfect for you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindsey.k.bell November 24, 2009

I'm sorry, but these were nasty. I know how to make a roux, etc., and the sauce seemed promising when I put it in the oven. But when the dish came out, the sauce got "funny" after only a couple minutes. I refrigerated leftovers and heated some up for lunch today and -- disgusting, couldn't even eat it. The sauce itself needs to have cheese melted in to give it a better consistency; I will not be making these again. Sorry.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mystere2e June 18, 2009

These were okay.... I fixed them for super tonight and my husband and I both ate them but they weren't really anything we could brag about.... Maybe trying some of the others advice and adding seasoning to the chicken mixture and the sauce would make a difference next time.... Thanks for sharing though....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gertc96 March 15, 2007

Simply describes the preparation but not the taste. I searched several recipe sites and tried several different versions. These were the best. Thanks for the recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mtsimp March 16, 2006

I just made your recipe tonight... though I did change it up just a little bit... I added spinach and Cilantro to my chicken as I cooked it... I drizzled a little sauce into the enchilada before I rolled it up... and I put Mexican cheese inside, and Pepperjack on top... it turned out really good... The sauce was definitely spot on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 22, 2015

Great recipe. As a displaced Texan living in New Mexico, we love the food, but sour cream enchiladas are rarely on the menu. This was an easy and tasty taste of home. My only alterations were to cook the chicken and some RoTel beforehand in the crockpot, and to use some of the local green chiles instead of canned. All in all, this is a winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heath A. March 14, 2015
Simply Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas