647 Reviews

I followed this recipe to the letter and it was PHENOMINAL! Why do people have to "tweak" recipes? And then how can they rate your recipe as a "5" if they're, "I added this, and left out that". Aren't they then rating their own recipe? I regress...GREAT DISH, Deb.

93 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rothiii June 27, 2010

I just made these tonight and they were SO SO SO good!! I added a little cajun seasoning to the chicken while it was cooking with the onions to give it extra flavor. The other thing I did that was not mentioned in the recipe but suggested by other reviewers, was to add a can of Rotel to the sauce mixture. I used the Rotel tomatoes with habenero peppers to give it some extra spice. It turned out to have such a great flavor! Much better than anything I've had in Mexican restaurants. Thank you so much for posting! This will be made again real soon!! :)

41 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christelpie July 06, 2011

These were so good (and probably so bad for you, but so good!) My husband usually eats dinner without much fanfare but he couldn't stop commenting on how great these were. I blended up my canned chilies in the food processor to better distribute the flavor and that worked out quite well. Might even use an extra can next time for more spice.

28 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lalalucy September 17, 2010

We loved this recipe. I will admit, I read a lot of reviews before hand and tweaked the recipe based on comments. I used a Rotisserie chicken from the store and shredded it. I sauteed the onions in the oil with some Nature Seasonings. Once done I added the chicken, a pinch of garlic powder, pepper, salt and 1 tsp taco seasonings. I then added a can of original Rotel (that I drained of liquids first). I used this mixture and put into the tortillas with the cheese. The sauce I did just as the recipe suggests and I even used fat free sour cream. I added more black pepper to the sauce as well. We also served with a bunch of toppings. I topped mine with fresh cilantro, fresh diced jalapenos, lime slices and avocado slices. The others also topped theirs with salsa and/or hot sauce. I will be making this at LEAST once a month and sharing the recipe with others as well!! Thanks!!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DAndreucci February 04, 2012

Wow! Very rich, creamy and absolutley delicious! I layered mine and froze them. I baked them @ 400, covered with foil for about an hour and half. Turned out perfect! Thanks so much.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview June 21, 2010

Love it! My entire family has requested this meal at one time or another. I always add 2 tablesoons of cumin to the chicken and onions at the end of cooking. It adds a wonderful smoky flavor without being too spicy for the kiddos. Mmmmmm!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Dia April 13, 2011

Loved these! Better than any cream of chicken soup recipe I've made and just as easy! I would recommend shredding the chicken over dicing it though. I used less butter, maybe 2 Tbs and added a bit more chicken broth to compensate, you would never know! Also I didn't have enough monterey jack cheese so I used a mixture of jack and sharp cheddar. I only got about five enchiladas out of them though, maybe my tortillas were bigger then usual? Thanks for posting!!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
run for your life September 18, 2010

I am always trying new enchilada recipes but I think I will be sticking with this one for awhile! So simple and so delicious. I made this recipe per the instructions but I did season the chicken and onions with cumin and some New Mexican Chili Powder as they were sauteeing. Highly recommend.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PsychoCasseroleStepmom February 15, 2011

Wow! I'm throwing my condense soup enchilada recipe away. This taste like authenic Mexican! I used extra green chillies and chopped green onions on top after cooking. I also used McCormick's enchilada sauce mix and added 1/2 tsp coco powder to the sauce. LOTS and LOTS of flavor. You can even add chili powder to the enchilada sauce to spice it up. Yum!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen4741_12060948 March 22, 2011

Awesome sauce! Yes, I am a recipe tweaker, but hear my case...it was just what I was looking for, like a needle in a haystack...a recipe without creamed condensed soups. Well, I started with a recipe that did call for a creamed soup and came across this one for inspriation. I cooked the chicken breasts in a crock pot with 3 stalks of celery and 1 whole, chopped onion, seasoned with pepper & Adobo garlic salt. I let that cook until done. Set the chicken aside, and took all the veggies, juice from crock pot & a can of chopped green chiles and pureed adding broth to that to equal the amount called for in the recipe. Made the roux...and the rest of the recipe as follows. Loved it. Kids all but licked their plates (unknowingly eating onions, celery and onions). Served with my black beans and rice. Thanks for saving me from a creamed soup compliation! We will definetly be making this one again. For the enchiladas I used onc side of the the dish pepperjack; the other 1/2 sharp cheddar (for the kids). YUM!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau September 21, 2012
Simply Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas