Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simply, Simple Cucumber Slices in Vinegar Dressing- Longmeadow Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simply, Simple Cucumber Slices in Vinegar Dressing- Longmeadow

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 03, 2010

      Mmmm good cukes - I didn't peel them or take out seeds cause it was a skinny little cuke - I was amazed how so little vinegar can give so much flavor. I only made 1/2 an English cuke so cut everything back but I did the vinegar dressing at a ratio of 3 tbsp vinegar(2 + 1). I love the added crazy salt & chili flakes. If I were making the entire recipe I would put the cukes in a ziplock bag so I could keep turning them to get the vinegar evenly distributed on all the slices Thanks andi for a winner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2012

      Yum yum yum! What a tasty salad, we especially love the tangy dressing. Made as directed but didn't bother to seed the cucs and had to make my own crazy salt. I'll make this all summer long. Thank you, Andi! Made for Down on the Farm tag in the food photo forum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      I used run of the mill New Jersey cukes and sliced them paper thin with a potato peeler! I also used white wine vinegar instead of the plain white vinegar and omitted the chili flakes. This is the first recipe besides my own that I have seen Jane's Crazy Mixed Up Salt in and I couldn't believe how it enhanced the other flavors. I also used fresh chives from my garden. My DH and I are in love with this lovely rendition of Cucumber salad! Thank you Andi so much for posting it! Made for the Diabetic forum's Tailgate Party tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      So easy and so delicious. I followed Bergy and left the peel on and seeds in as I was using an English cucumber. This was served at our cookout last night and everyone raved about them. Made for the Diabetic Forum and the Second Annual Tailgate Party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      This is a favorite, and I was about to make it again, and could not find my printed copy. I was hoping Andi had posted it here and she had. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe. If you think the red pepper flakes might be too hot, just put in less of it, but still use the pepper flakes. It's very refreshing, and almost like candy, although much healthier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2011

      Super fantastic cucumber salad!!! I made 1/3 of the recipe and followed as written, as it was just DS's girlfriend and I that were eating them. I received a shaker of Crazy Jane's Mixed Up Salt in a recent swap I participated in from my partner and this was the first recipe to try it. After making the recipe as stated, the dressing tasted great, but I wanted even more of the salt, so gave a few more shakes. My DS's girlfriend just loved these cucumbers, said it was the best she had ever tasted. Thanks Andi for another winning recipe. Made for I Recommend Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      I love a cucumber salad, this was another great one. I used a crazy salt recipe posted by Rita - only took a minute to make and I'm sure I'll use it for other things (although I'm sure you could skip it if need be). This recipe was a little different in that you have to leave the cukes to release some of their water for about an hour. That was a good step because there wasn't a pool of watered down dressing in the bottom of the bowl as there often is. Thanks Andi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      This is very tasty! I did everything per the recipe except for using red instead of white onion and adding a little extra vinegar. I'd never noticed it before but I found the Crazy Jane's salt at our regular grocery. Next time I would use even a little more vinegar and maybe a little less sugar (I tend to prefer tart dressings over sweet). Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      I was not sure what Emglish cucumbers where or what crazy salt was.....So I used my homegown Lebanese cucumbers and added some seasoning for the salt. I also thought I had white onions on hand but only had red salad onions, so I had to use them but everything else was as per recipe...although I didnt use pepper flakes, This recipe was really great ...even with the substitutes! I was not sure what to expect, but the cucumber still had crunch and was sweet and so very tasty. ...Just an all round great flavour! Loved by the whole family! Thanks Andi, for a really great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      Very tasty! I cut the recipe in half, left out the chives but added the red pepper flakes. It was delicious! Thanks for this one that's going in the keeper file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      DH loved these cucumbers. Since I didn't know what crazy jane's salt was I just used season-all salt. I did leave out the chives as a personal preference. Reviewed for Everyday is a Holiday Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      I have made cucumbers similar to this, but without removing the excess liquid. That extra step elevates the simple cucumber to new levels. I wasn't sure what "crazy janes mixed up salt" was, so I used a seasoning blend and I did add a dash of red pepper flakes for a little spunk. DH devoured my share along with his (but at least I got to taste!) Good stuff Andi! Made for Everyday is a Holiday-Dec'09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simply, Simple Cucumber Slices in Vinegar Dressing- Longmeadow

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 97.3
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    58%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 951.4 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 17.5 g
    70%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes