Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simply Sensational Ramen Cabbage Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simply Sensational Ramen Cabbage Salad

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on May 07, 2012

      Adding the ramen was a great twist on my regular vegetable slaw! My two 8 year old daughters, my 3 year old son, myself, my husband, and my brother-in-law all really liked it. One of my daughters begged for seconds and the other asked if we could have it again for dinner!

      I used one head of green cabbage (would have liked to use some radicchio or purple cabbage as well, but didn't have any), about 4 carrots, and a few green onions for the slaw. Getting it all shredded was easy with the food processor and grater/slicer attachments. I used rice vinegar and a combination of sesame oil and safflower oil along with some sugar, salt, and pepper for the dressing (6Tbs. rice vinegar, 3Tbs. safflower oil, 1Tbs. sesame oil, 1Tbs. sugar, 1.5 tsp. salt and a few grinds of pepper) and then I mixed the beef seasoning packets and mixed those with the crunched up ramen and put some ramen into each dish as I served it. I will store the remaining seasoned ramen separately from the leftover slaw and just add it in before serving.

      This was great right after mixing, so I bet letting it actually sit will be even tastier!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      YUM! I didn't have almonds but bet that would have been great. I actually like the ramen noodles firm so next time, I'll add them just prior to serving. I used 6 packets of Splenda for the sugar so DH could eat it too. Thanks for posting! I make this with 2 packages slaw and it works fine for the dressing. I've used red wine vinegar with good results!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      This was the closest version here on 'Zaar to the salad I had at a cookout last weekend... a few differences though: he added a bit of sesame oil to the dressing and told me that one can also add chicken for a bit of protein. What a wonderful salad!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2013

      I wish I could give this more stars!! This is so delicious; I halve the recipe for the 2 of us, but I may make it again in a few days- it's that good! Instead of cole slaw mix I used half a shredded Chinese cabbage, shredded carrot, and some sliced radishes that needed to be used. Mmm-mmm! I like the Oriental ramen flavor. One bad thing- after chilling time, the salad isn't very pretty. It gets yellowish from the seasoning.<br/>Update: I make this salad often. We have discovered that we prefer to add the noodles just before serving, because we like the crunch. The leftovers are soft the next day, but still good flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2013

    • on August 19, 2010

      Won't leave stars since I changed the recipe but I thought it might be helpful to someone else. I used chicken Ramen and didn't really enjoy this. I might try again with the beef or oriental noodles, but something just tasted off. I made a half recipe and it made at least 4 large servings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      I was looking for a similar OLD family recipe when I found this. THIS IS IT! It IS delicious! For a touch of savings I buy a whole cabbage head and shred it. I also shred my own carrots in it. I use canned chicken and toss in as well. Instead of slivered almonds I use sliced. Also I think any kind of RAMEN flavoring works. JUST SO GOOD! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      Yum yum yum! I love this salad. I did not have any sesame seed on hand so I used a little sesame oil instead. As for the ramen noodles, I followed the instruction, but I used two shrimp packages instead (since that was all I had in my pantry). I used 1/2 cup of extra virgin olive oil for the dressing, anytime I get to add olive oil to anything I do it. I followed the rest of the instructions and the salad came out delicious. I can eat this salad all week if I had any left. Thank you Manda for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      Yummy and simple salad. I will make this over and over, I'm sure. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      Soooo good! I used chicken Ramen noodles. I put 2 tbsp of peanut oil and 2 tsp of sesame oil in a 1/2 cup measure, then filled it the rest of the way with canola oil to make the dressing. I used rice vinegar. We didn't let it sit before eating it, but it was still wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      I found this a bit too oily. Next time I will use less oil, and I will let the salad marinate for the 6 hours before I add the noodles because they were too soggy when I served this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      A nice alternative to a mayonnaise based dish for a picnic. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      this is soooo good! The dressing is just right, I love a crunchy salad! Thanks Manda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

    • on February 16, 2008

      Yum! Recipe make a lot, so I usually cut in half if we're just eating this at home. We also add grilled chicken sometimes and it's very tasty and makes a great light dinner. This a staple of our family gatherings and always a big hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      Everyone loved this tasty salad. It was so easy to make. Thanks Manda Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      Thank you for the wonderful recipe, Manda!! It was a hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2004

      This was excellent!! We added grilled chicken breasts to it and it was simply delicious and so very easy to make. I am sorry I only made 1/2 the recipe so no leftovers for lunch the next day. Thanks for posting Manda!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simply Sensational Ramen Cabbage Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (159 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 345.7
     
    Calories from Fat 206
    59%
    Total Fat 22.9 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 690.0 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites