18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Adding the ramen was a great twist on my regular vegetable slaw! My two 8 year old daughters, my 3 year old son, myself, my husband, and my brother-in-law all really liked it. One of my daughters begged for seconds and the other asked if we could have it again for dinner!

I used one head of green cabbage (would have liked to use some radicchio or purple cabbage as well, but didn't have any), about 4 carrots, and a few green onions for the slaw. Getting it all shredded was easy with the food processor and grater/slicer attachments. I used rice vinegar and a combination of sesame oil and safflower oil along with some sugar, salt, and pepper for the dressing (6Tbs. rice vinegar, 3Tbs. safflower oil, 1Tbs. sesame oil, 1Tbs. sugar, 1.5 tsp. salt and a few grinds of pepper) and then I mixed the beef seasoning packets and mixed those with the crunched up ramen and put some ramen into each dish as I served it. I will store the remaining seasoned ramen separately from the leftover slaw and just add it in before serving.

This was great right after mixing, so I bet letting it actually sit will be even tastier!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5 Mule Team May 07, 2012

YUM! I didn't have almonds but bet that would have been great. I actually like the ramen noodles firm so next time, I'll add them just prior to serving. I used 6 packets of Splenda for the sugar so DH could eat it too. Thanks for posting! I make this with 2 packages slaw and it works fine for the dressing. I've used red wine vinegar with good results!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oolala June 17, 2010

This was the closest version here on 'Zaar to the salad I had at a cookout last weekend... a few differences though: he added a bit of sesame oil to the dressing and told me that one can also add chicken for a bit of protein. What a wonderful salad!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raquel Grinnell May 12, 2010

I wish I could give this more stars!! This is so delicious; I halve the recipe for the 2 of us, but I may make it again in a few days- it's that good! Instead of cole slaw mix I used half a shredded Chinese cabbage, shredded carrot, and some sliced radishes that needed to be used. Mmm-mmm! I like the Oriental ramen flavor. One bad thing- after chilling time, the salad isn't very pretty. It gets yellowish from the seasoning.<br/>Update: I make this salad often. We have discovered that we prefer to add the noodles just before serving, because we like the crunch. The leftovers are soft the next day, but still good flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn December 06, 2013

Won't leave stars since I changed the recipe but I thought it might be helpful to someone else. I used chicken Ramen and didn't really enjoy this. I might try again with the beef or oriental noodles, but something just tasted off. I made a half recipe and it made at least 4 large servings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 August 19, 2010

I was looking for a similar OLD family recipe when I found this. THIS IS IT! It IS delicious! For a touch of savings I buy a whole cabbage head and shred it. I also shred my own carrots in it. I use canned chicken and toss in as well. Instead of slivered almonds I use sliced. Also I think any kind of RAMEN flavoring works. JUST SO GOOD! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thrifty_Kristi July 04, 2010

Yum yum yum! I love this salad. I did not have any sesame seed on hand so I used a little sesame oil instead. As for the ramen noodles, I followed the instruction, but I used two shrimp packages instead (since that was all I had in my pantry). I used 1/2 cup of extra virgin olive oil for the dressing, anytime I get to add olive oil to anything I do it. I followed the rest of the instructions and the salad came out delicious. I can eat this salad all week if I had any left. Thank you Manda for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eager cook January 16, 2010

Yummy and simple salad. I will make this over and over, I'm sure. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmillam June 30, 2009

Soooo good! I used chicken Ramen noodles. I put 2 tbsp of peanut oil and 2 tsp of sesame oil in a 1/2 cup measure, then filled it the rest of the way with canola oil to make the dressing. I used rice vinegar. We didn't let it sit before eating it, but it was still wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chanceosunshine January 17, 2009
Simply Sensational Ramen Cabbage Salad