Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simply Rich Cheddar Scalloped Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simply Rich Cheddar Scalloped Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on September 18, 2003

      Very yummy. I wasn't sure the potatoes would cook quickly enough, even though I sliced them fairly thinly, so I blanched them for about 2 or 3 minutes before adding them to the cheese and onion mixture. I added some chives and will try fresh or dried dill next time, just for variety; I love playing with the recipes a bit. This is a pretty simple dish to make. I make scalloped potatoes which are similar to this but spend about 10 minutes carefully layering the potatoes. Glad I tried this recipe that just lets me dump them into the casserole dish. It tastes just the same and has the same texture and general appearance.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2005

      Wow! Fast and Easy, even faster if you microwave the sliced potatoes in a dish w/ a quarter cup water and salt. Cover with plastic wrap tightly and microwave 15 minutes. I did this while sauting the onions on low til they were almost "golden" It all pretty much finished at the same time. After it was all assembled, I just put in oven for 30 minutes to flavor the taters. This was delicous! In fact, if I didn't add the cheese and/or potatoes, it made delicious onion gravy or more milk and a creamy onion soup. I'll be using this method to cook a LOT of different things THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2003

      Tasty dish! I made a 1/2 recipe tonight and put the potatoes in a 8X11? (smaller rectangle) glass baking dish. It cooked perfectly in the time called for. The only change I made was that I didn't peel my potatoes and used the food processor for slicing. Good comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2013

      Made it for a 'friends-giving', everyone loved it and it was so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2012

      Very good, rich and delicious. I made these yesterday to go with pork chops. Thanks for the recipe, its a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      A great, unctuous sauce, even using nonfat milk. However, the potatoes weren't quite done and since I was taking them to a potluck, I really couldn't extend the cooking time. I think they probably would have cooked through if I'd had a mandoline to make very, very thin slices, but I am uncertain. Also, I wish the sauce had been cheesier. However, all but one big spoonfull disappeared. The potluck people liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      Doubled the recipe to feed the crew of hungry guys who had been planting corn. This was so easy to make and the guys loved it. Will definitely be my go to recipe for scalloped potatoes from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      Easy rich yummy potatoes. Used a mandolin to slice the potatoes, worked great. Made these for Easter dinner at my MIL's. Everyone loved them. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      Only made with 4 cups of sliced potatoes, but made full sauce amount. It took well into 2 hours to cook. They were ok ... If I make again I will precook potatoes in the microwave to speed up cooking time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      This is great. I followed the directions exactly as written and it was perfect. I love the easy prep and will use this recipe often. The only thing I plan to do different is to add some spices to suit our tastes. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      These potatoes were delicious and easy. I did use half extra sharp cheddar and half velveeta cheese - I likethe creaminess of velvetta and the strong flavor of the cheddar. I peeled the potatoes, sliced them and put into a large pot of ice water with some ice cubes thrown in and approximately two teaspoons of apple cidar vinegar. I kept the pot in the refrigerator 3 hours until ready to use. I then rinsed the potatoes, and drained them thoroughly, drying the potatoes by dabbing them with paper towels before using. They turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      These were fantastic! The only thing I did differntly was to use 2 1/2 cups of milk instead of the half & half. I was a bit nervous because I had never made scalloped potatoes before, but they turned out wonderfully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

    • on March 03, 2008

      5 star potatoes..I added a pound of ground chuck fried with taco seasoning, then drained an sprinkled it between the layers of potatoes..yum.. ty for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      Excellent cheesy potatoes, SaraFish! I used 3 large russets and 2 medium large yukon golds and that seemed just about perfect. I chopped up some leftover ham and sandwiched that in the middle between two layers of the potato slices to make this a main course. I also added 1/2 c shredded swiss (because I wanted to use it up) and some fresh nutmeg to the cheese sauce. Parboiling the sliced potatoes for a few minutes reduced the oven cooking time-- I let it go for about 35 minutes at 400F, adding the cheese on top about 20 min in. Fantastic recipe-- simple and delicious! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      These are good scalloped potatoes. The 5 year old ate four huge helpings! The adults felt like it needed something to bring it over the top.... maybe white pepper or fresh chives or even more onions. It was very easy to make and I would make them again. The potatoes towards the upper middle were not cooked all the way but they were still edible and good. I used a microplane so they were evenly sliced. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      I made these for part of Xmas Eve dinner, great compliment for a Honey Baked Ham. This is how scalloped potatoes are supposed to taste. We thoroughly enjoyed this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      Delicious! The only change I made to the recipe was to use 2 1/2 cups of 1% milk instead of the milk and half-and-half. Maybe for a special occasion I would make as stated, but it seemed plenty rich enough as I made it. Next time I would cook a little longer. I did slice the potatoes thinly, but they were just barely cooked. Maybe it is the variety of potato I used (Yukon Gold). Anyway, this was easy and really tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2005

      mmmm, yummy! I'd only made scalloped taters out of the box before, so this was different. But surprisingly easy!! I think next time I may add some sour cream to add a little more tangy flavor. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2005

      Very good! This was a lot easier than my previous reciped, and it turned out wonderfully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simply Rich Cheddar Scalloped Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (235 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 436.0
     
    Calories from Fat 229
    52%
    Total Fat 25.5 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 12.8 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 58.4 mg
    19%
    Sodium 573.9 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 16.4 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes