Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simply Oven Baked Pork Chops and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simply Oven Baked Pork Chops and Rice

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2009

      The flavor is 5 star! I used chicken broth instead of water and also sprinkled a little seasoning salt and pepper on the pork chops. Then prior to putting them in the oven, I seared them and added chopped onions and garlic to the skillet. To kick up the flavor a notch, I mixed in 1/2 tspn of thyme to the broth and rice mixture. Because I seared the pork the oven time needed to be less or else it would have dried out. So to ensure my rice cooked through, I heated the broth to boiling before mixing it in. Overall a very tasty meal that I will definately do again. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      Very good comfort meal, perfect for a Sunday home with the family. I did do a combination of other reviewer's modifications. For the first step I used Campbell's Healthy Request cream of celery soup, just because my kids don't like mushrooms. We thought the celery did add great flavor, so will definitely do that again. I used 33% less sodium chicken broth instead of water. I did this step right in a 9x13" glass dish. Next I seasoned the (bone-in center cut pork loin chop) with a little garlic powder, salt, and pepper. I browned them in a non-stick skillet with a little butter and extra virgin olive oil. After removing them from the pan, I next deglazed the browned bits with a little white wine. I then sauteed garlic, sliced onions, and sliced mushrooms in the same skillet. I stirred some of this mushroom/onion mix in with the rice, placed the pork chops on the rice, and then used the rest of the mushroom/onion mix to top the pork chops (except for the kids'). I covered the 9x13 with foil and baked for 1 hour (a little less time than the recipe said, just b/c the chops had already been browned). They turned out very flavorful and moist, as well as the rice was delicious with a similar quality to risotto. We ate this with homemade applesauce and broccoli. Great meal. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2013

      Oh I love this recipe, but instead of baking it I cooked it in the slow cooker. Mmm, my husband and family loved it. I used the idea of using chicken broth instead of water. Delicious, thank ya'll!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      quick easy meal that tastes really good! i modified some things for my family of four though. i used 2 cups rice, 4 cups chicken broth. 1 can cream of mushroom. i heated the chicken broth to boiling then poured it and cream of mushroom over rice. i browned 10 thin pork chops with onions and garlic and olive oil and added them to the rice mixture. i added the sauteed onion and garlic to the rice mixture as well. baked at 350 x 1hr. perfect. tasted too good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2013

      This was tasty - will try it again. Used 1 cup white rice instead of long grain (no long grain on hand); browned meat & onions before adding them and added a little bit of lovage from the garden. Very tasty. Next time around, I'll throw in more onion and probably some carrots or other veggies as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      UPDATED: This was made again on 10/30/09, and I just wanted to say that it tasted just as good as it did when I first tried it.:) ( This time the full recipe was made ;) ). I made this for myself and SO on 9/24/07.Since there was only two of us I cut the recipe in half and it worked very well. Instead of using regular cream of mushroom, I used condensed golden mushroom(Personal choice)I sprinkled a little bit of garlic powder,salt and pepper over the chops then slightly browned them in a bit of canola oil before placing them over the rice.You are so "right on the money"with the baking time.The chops were just so juicy,and the juices from the chops in the rice was just great.Thank you for posting,this will be made again."Keep Smiling:)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Delish! I seasoned 1 inch chops with seasoned salt and seared before baking. Also used chicken broth instead of water. The chops were just a little dry. In retrospect I should have decreased baking time by about 15 minutes since I seared the chops. Everyone loved them including 3 children, 1 husband and a sneaky golden retriever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      Very good tasting casserole. I used 4 boneless chops and they were moist and tender. I followed others advice and sauteed the onions, but I layed them on top of the chops. I seasoned the chops with garlic pepper seasoning and browned them, too. I put in some minced garlic with the rice and a tsp of Spike. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      This is so simple, yet so good! I used 6 pork bone in chops, browned them slightly in a little oil, then sauteed the onions in the same pan. I also used 3 cups of water and 1 1/2 cups of rice, 1 small onion and added a small can of chopped mushrooms. I cooked everything in a 9" x 13" pan. Served with green beans on the side, everyone loved this meal. Thanks Deely for sharing this great homey style recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2013

      Just made this for dinner tonight and the house smells wonderful. I followed the advice of other reviewers and sprinkled a little thyme on the chops and the browned in olive oil prior to adding to baking dish. I used chicken broth instead of water. I found that after about an hour, all the liquid was absorbed, but rice still not done, added more water and cooked a little longer. Quite tasty and will add this to my list of "make again" recipes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      My Husband and I really enjoyed this dish !! The rice was sticky and delicious. The chops were fork tender. Delicious !!! Next time I think I will use chicken broth instead of water that one of the other reviewers said. It will make it even tastier !! Thank you for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2014

      Super Yummy! I browned the meat and put it in-and-out of the oven, my 9-year old son did the rest. The whole (super-picky) family LOVED IT!!!<br/><br/>Substitutions:<br/>Cream of Chicken Soup instead of Mushroom Soup<br/>1.5 tea chicken base instead of chicken bouillon<br/>1.5 tea onion powder instead of onion<br/><br/>Additions:<br/>1 tea Mrs. Dash Seasoning Salt<br/>3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese (stirred into rice)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2013

      This was great (and not just for the simplicity!). I now see that I may try chicken broth, but there are also other spices I may try.....but it's great as is. Thanks so much~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      This is probably the worst version of this recipe I have ever tried. The meat was WAY over cooked. I even pulled it out a bit early. There was absolutely no flavor in the rice. The texture of the rice was pretty decent. I would recommend using broth instead of water as quite a few people have stated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2012

      I made this tonight. I did forget to add the onion, but it tasted awful! The rice was too sticky and gross. I ended up making grilled chrese sandwiches on corn tortillas to eat instead. This is the worst recipe I've found on this website!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      Easy and tasty. Browned the chops on the stove with salt, pepper and garlic powder. Also added a thinly sliced onion on top of the pork, before adding the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      Very good and easy with ingredients I had on hand. Would not change a thing. A wonderful, fast after work meal that satisfies. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2012

      Decided to make this on a night we had friends over and everyone loved it. The rice was easily the star of the dish. I added fresh sliced portobello mushrooms and sliced garlic to the the rice and followed another reviewers suggestions with deglazing the pan. I can't remember the last time I put so little effort into a dish and reaped such huge rewards. Thanks for sharing, this is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2011

      I have made this recipe following the instruction several times in the past and I did like it. It is kind of dry, though. This time I simply didn't have the right stuff nor the time so here's what I did for a much quicker, saucier version: I used boneless butterfly chops that I brined for about an hour. Then I seared them in a skillet with oil and garlic, pepper and paprika. I used one bag of Boil-in-Bag cooked rice which I stopped cooking about 2min earlier than directed.. For more sauciness I used 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup (reduced sodium) with 1/2c. water and a dash of soy sauce. Since the chops were seared and rice already mostly cooked it only baked for about 25min. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      A good old standard. Made as written. Quick and simple and very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simply Oven Baked Pork Chops and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (368 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 490.4
     
    Calories from Fat 164
    33%
    Total Fat 18.2 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 102.9 mg
    34%
    Sodium 622.2 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.8 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 35.5 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes