34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The flavor is 5 star! I used chicken broth instead of water and also sprinkled a little seasoning salt and pepper on the pork chops. Then prior to putting them in the oven, I seared them and added chopped onions and garlic to the skillet. To kick up the flavor a notch, I mixed in 1/2 tspn of thyme to the broth and rice mixture. Because I seared the pork the oven time needed to be less or else it would have dried out. So to ensure my rice cooked through, I heated the broth to boiling before mixing it in. Overall a very tasty meal that I will definately do again. Thank you for sharing.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hunkle June 09, 2009

Very good comfort meal, perfect for a Sunday home with the family. I did do a combination of other reviewer's modifications. For the first step I used Campbell's Healthy Request cream of celery soup, just because my kids don't like mushrooms. We thought the celery did add great flavor, so will definitely do that again. I used 33% less sodium chicken broth instead of water. I did this step right in a 9x13" glass dish. Next I seasoned the (bone-in center cut pork loin chop) with a little garlic powder, salt, and pepper. I browned them in a non-stick skillet with a little butter and extra virgin olive oil. After removing them from the pan, I next deglazed the browned bits with a little white wine. I then sauteed garlic, sliced onions, and sliced mushrooms in the same skillet. I stirred some of this mushroom/onion mix in with the rice, placed the pork chops on the rice, and then used the rest of the mushroom/onion mix to top the pork chops (except for the kids'). I covered the 9x13 with foil and baked for 1 hour (a little less time than the recipe said, just b/c the chops had already been browned). They turned out very flavorful and moist, as well as the rice was delicious with a similar quality to risotto. We ate this with homemade applesauce and broccoli. Great meal. Thanks for the recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katebr January 24, 2011

Oh I love this recipe, but instead of baking it I cooked it in the slow cooker. Mmm, my husband and family loved it. I used the idea of using chicken broth instead of water. Delicious, thank ya'll!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hybrid_Bird July 28, 2013

quick easy meal that tastes really good! i modified some things for my family of four though. i used 2 cups rice, 4 cups chicken broth. 1 can cream of mushroom. i heated the chicken broth to boiling then poured it and cream of mushroom over rice. i browned 10 thin pork chops with onions and garlic and olive oil and added them to the rice mixture. i added the sauteed onion and garlic to the rice mixture as well. baked at 350 x 1hr. perfect. tasted too good!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitten3860 December 14, 2009

This was tasty - will try it again. Used 1 cup white rice instead of long grain (no long grain on hand); browned meat & onions before adding them and added a little bit of lovage from the garden. Very tasty. Next time around, I'll throw in more onion and probably some carrots or other veggies as well.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TwoManyDogs September 16, 2013

UPDATED: This was made again on 10/30/09, and I just wanted to say that it tasted just as good as it did when I first tried it.:) ( This time the full recipe was made ;) ). I made this for myself and SO on 9/24/07.Since there was only two of us I cut the recipe in half and it worked very well. Instead of using regular cream of mushroom, I used condensed golden mushroom(Personal choice)I sprinkled a little bit of garlic powder,salt and pepper over the chops then slightly browned them in a bit of canola oil before placing them over the rice.You are so "right on the money"with the baking time.The chops were just so juicy,and the juices from the chops in the rice was just great.Thank you for posting,this will be made again."Keep Smiling:)"

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � October 31, 2009

Delish! I seasoned 1 inch chops with seasoned salt and seared before baking. Also used chicken broth instead of water. The chops were just a little dry. In retrospect I should have decreased baking time by about 15 minutes since I seared the chops. Everyone loved them including 3 children, 1 husband and a sneaky golden retriever!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WickedMommy September 21, 2009

Very good tasting casserole. I used 4 boneless chops and they were moist and tender. I followed others advice and sauteed the onions, but I layed them on top of the chops. I seasoned the chops with garlic pepper seasoning and browned them, too. I put in some minced garlic with the rice and a tsp of Spike. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando November 13, 2007

This is so simple, yet so good! I used 6 pork bone in chops, browned them slightly in a little oil, then sauteed the onions in the same pan. I also used 3 cups of water and 1 1/2 cups of rice, 1 small onion and added a small can of chopped mushrooms. I cooked everything in a 9" x 13" pan. Served with green beans on the side, everyone loved this meal. Thanks Deely for sharing this great homey style recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise in da Kitchen July 24, 2007

Just made this for dinner tonight and the house smells wonderful. I followed the advice of other reviewers and sprinkled a little thyme on the chops and the browned in olive oil prior to adding to baking dish. I used chicken broth instead of water. I found that after about an hour, all the liquid was absorbed, but rice still not done, added more water and cooked a little longer. Quite tasty and will add this to my list of "make again" recipes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shell1970 January 09, 2013
Simply Oven Baked Pork Chops and Rice