12 Reviews

Had to bake it longer than indicated & be sure to place a sheet of parchment paper underneath as all that butter seemed to drip over the sides and would've smoked up had I not lined the baking sheet with parchment. I thought it tasted so much better cold (personal preference). Thanks for sharing, this is a really nice recipe and used up the last of my summer rhubarb.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau July 22, 2015

The best recipe you could use, same as my great grandma's recipe that my mom and many other family members used

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mboegel179 May 28, 2015

Delicious! I wanted to try a new version of my favorite pie! This was perfect. I made 3 changes: used 5 cups of rhubarb, 1 C of sugar and a dash of cinnamon. I also used a silicone crust shield after 30 mixtures to prevent the edge from over browning. It was perfect, didn't overflow and had a beautiful finish to the shape of the pie. It was gobbled very quickly and making it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nogs June 28, 2014

Delicious! This is the first time I made rhubarb pie, and we all loved it! I used a 9.5" pyrex pie plate, and the filling fit perfectly. I subbed 1/4 cup brown sugar in the crumb topping, and added about 1 tsp cinnamon to the filling, a scant 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the topping, and 1.5 tsp vanilla to the filling. So yummy; thanks!<br/><br/>Update: This pie also make terrific blueberry pie! I use about 5+ cups (I also increase the rhubarb when making rhubarb pie). My husband prefers double crust blueberry pie, and the filling and bake time still work perfectly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiko July 03, 2013

Wonderful pie, this will turn non-rhubarb pie lovers into rhubarb lovers (my husband). When I asked if he wanted me to make a rhubarb pie he answered with "just like the last one you made?" This is a very good pie recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sue222_2_445522 June 10, 2012

Fabulous pie, easy to make and so very delicious. This is a definate keeper, I"ve already made it a second time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susang May 24, 2010

i only do one rhubarb thing every year, and this will be it from now on! i had a slice for breakfast and one for lunch ~ thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rykie June 17, 2009

This was an absolutely amazing pie, really lovely! My filling overflowed a bit but it came out gorgeous. We probably used half as much rhubarb as it called for (we picked it from the yard and had only about 2 cups worth of diced to work with after harvesting). But the balance for us was perfect. Great instructions and the topping is AMAZING - will definitely use it again in future pie recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oblivia77 June 14, 2009

Fantastic says it all. This recipe gets 10 stars, because I made two pies. One as posted, and the other completely with Splenda. Topping too. It was made for our next door neighbour who is diabetic. He said: 'Amazing pie. I ate half of it last night'. Can't ask for a better review than that. Thanks FlowrBx, for a wonderfully tasty treat that can be enjoyed by everyone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 May 24, 2009

My 86 year old father-in-law loves Rhubarb Pie more than anything. Think it is not only the taste but the memory of his Mother making it for him. I had her recipe and decided to surprise him with it last weekend. Time came and I didn't have one ingredient - time being short I search Zaar and chose this recipe. Kudos all around! A rousing success with all. This will be my go to recipe going forward! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Salesgirl October 13, 2008
Simply Fantastic Rhubarb Custard Pie