11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

fantastic and no preservatives.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cl1090 June 30, 2012

This is my new favorite Thousand ISland dressing. No more store bought for me! I didn't have sweet pickles, so I subsituted Roasted red peppers (in VInegar), and it worked well. Same texture and pickled taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cynthia912 February 20, 2009

This was a decent recipe for a no-chili-sauce 1000 Island Dressing. I made as written, except using regular rice vinegar instead of seasoned (rice vinegar w/ sugar and salt added), but it was too sweet for our tastes, and also tasted mostly like sweet mayo. I added a little extra ketchup and relish, which helped--but then it was WAAAAAY too sweet! Unless you like extremely sweet dressing, I'd suggest cutting the sugar in half at least--then adding more if needed. I would think that the seasoned rice vinegar would make it much too sweet and salty, at least for us. I plan to use it on 'big Mac' Pizza. I think it'll be fine as a sauce on something, but I wouldn't use it on a salad. Sorry it wasn't more to our taste. Thanks for posting! ***UPDATE: This was GREATLY improved after a couple of hours in the fridge. I definitely recommend making this ahead of time to let the flavors combine. It was still a bit too sweet for us, so I think I'll try it with 1 or 1 1/2 t sugar next time. I've upped the rating to reflect my improved opinion of the flavor. It was very good on the big mac pizza, too. It kept for a week or so in the fridge. Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halcyon Eve January 09, 2009

I tried this for a hamburger spread. Was quick and easy to make. I didn't have the Vinegar so I just omitted it and it still tasted very well. I did add a pinch of salt, garlic salt and pepper. I also changed out the relish for 4 dill pickle chips (I cut the recipe in half). It came out well! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
High Desert Chef September 18, 2008

So easy, quick and hit the spot! Thank you Alskann!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 March 26, 2008

Perfect 1000 Island dressing that is so easy to make. Tastes fresh, doesn't have that bottled taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue March 16, 2008

This recipe is great. We will be using this from now on. Thanks for posting it. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu March 12, 2008

This is definately better than anything you can buy! I made a salad with "the works" for supper and this dressing made it perfect. I will be making this often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie3551 October 08, 2007

What a great, simple recipe for one of my favorite dressings! Few ingredients that add up to great flavor. I made as posted and served over a simple salad of spring greens and cucumber. This dressing would be great with reubens, over burgers, etc. Thanks for posting a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lvs2Cook April 29, 2007

It is funny how often the little recipes can impress the most & this was the case here. I tagged this, went straight to my kitchen & had it made in less than 5 min. I made 1 slight chg & used half ketchup & half Heinz Chili Sauce for added zip. It is just *SUPERB* & IMO much better than you can buy. Thx for sharing this easy-peasy taste sensation w/us! :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis March 31, 2007
Simply Delicious Thousand Island Dressing