12 Reviews

I guess I'm just one of those who's soooo easily satisfied, at least when it comes to foods that I enjoy! Although I made this without the cilantro, the recipe was otherwise followed, & we thoroughly enjoyed this honey-sweet carrot dish! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Cookbook recipe tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike September 15, 2011

Lovely combination of spices however I found it was a bit too sweet for my tastebuds. Looks great with the chopped cilantro - I chopped mine very fine.
17 Oct 2010Made again cut back on the honey didn't have cilantro. We really enjoyed the recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy October 18, 2010

This was just 'okay' for us. I found the cinnamon overpowered the cardamon. I didn't have it pre-ground, so I crushed the seeds from 2 pods, which gave me 1/8 tsp. Maybe it just wasn't enough. I used parsley in place of the cilantro, as I didn't have any. It was certainly easy enough, but nothing special.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 February 22, 2009

My Notes: RSC#13 These are very tastey morsels. I enjoyed eating them at dinner as did the famly. However, we all felt they were a bit too sweet for us. Next time I will dilute the honey with some water and use 1/2 the honey. There will be a next time. The cilantro did not thrill us and I thought it looked pretty but took away from the dishes taste. (Parsley or basil would look as pretty) No S&P needed. Good Luck in the contest.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie February 22, 2009

I really liked these carrots. Super easy to put together, I steamed the carrots then drizzled the glaze, but I think it would be even better to steam then, then saute them in the honey/butter glaze. Thought they might be too sweet but they were not. I was not crazy about the addition of the cilantro and would make these again without it. Very easy, quick side with minimal prep. Very nice effort for the contest. Good Luck!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly M. February 21, 2009

I loved most of the flavors of this recipe except for the cilantro. I just didn't like it with this combination of ingredients. I will make this again without the cilantro, though, because I really like the sweetened carrots.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 February 21, 2009

These were okay but we didn't feel like the cilantro added anything to the recipe. It was really just more of a garnish than a component. The cardamom was also a bit overpowering for the amount of butter & honey used. Thanks for sharing your creation! Made for RSC Lucky #13.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** February 20, 2009

These smelled wonderful cooking! DH is a fan of carrots, so I just had to try this one. I made the sauce without the cilantro. . .everyone tried it. . .it was a little too sweet, but flavors were given 4 stars. Then we added the cilantro and the flavor was too off. . .no one ate them! Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride February 20, 2009

This just proves that I often over think my creations for RSC. This creation is very simple and delicious. The carrots were cooked in the microwave and then the butter mixture drizzled over all. They were allowed to stand covered for a few minutes to allow the flavors to blend. Good luck in RSC #13.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG February 20, 2009

The spice combination here was divine and instantly drew my interest while perusing recipes. The dish itself was easy to prepare and tended itself while cooking dinner. My suggestion here would be to add the sauce a little before the carrots are done after draining most of the water so the veggies would soak up the fabulous flavors a bit more. The cilantro, an herb I love, created a thud here detracting from the spices while adding nothing to the composition. I will make these again and omit that final ingredient. Thanks for a great way to include cardamom in a savory dish. Gook luck!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni February 20, 2009
Simply Delicious Honey Spiced Carrots