13 Reviews

I love the simplicity of this recipe. I doubled the recipe to fit a 9x13 and added sprinkles to make it a funfetti cake. I used this as the base to a minion cake that I made for my daughters' birthday. It was delicious and got rave reviews! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MmeLaboss November 02, 2013

I was looking for a simple quick recipe to make at home with my girls. This worked great and we all liked the flavor. It was a good consistency though I did add just a bit of milk. Will make it again and again a sure keeper. Thank you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blacksky_ms June 17, 2013

this is a basic yellow cake! to make sure your cake comes out perfect make sure to beat the butter and sugar well! until it turns a pail yellow! this cake turns out delicious!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniek36 May 06, 2013

I really appreciate the simplicity of this recipe; how wonderful to be able to make a cake from scratch, with things readily on hand? This makes a nice cake; I used a 9 inch round, and split the layer, to make my hubby a birthday cake. Not too much, or too big, as there are only 3 of us. Not that there's anything wrong with too much cake! Thanks for sharing, MaryPackard. Made for Spring PAC 2011 - http://www.food.com/bb/viewtopic.zsp?t=352458

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl March 16, 2011

This is a basic yellow cake and not a white cake. It is perfectly fine for what I needed it for. Sometimes, I just want to bake a cake and make it quick and easy. I spend a lot of time in the kitchen as it is.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DanaJoy! July 23, 2015

Delicious! Very flavourful and sweet and I cannot stop eating it! It was the perfect size for my tall 6 inch cake pan and I love that it was all made in one bowl. So easy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC February 28, 2013

Just made this recipe was easy to follow for a first time cake baker like myself. Most importantly is that it was delicious!! The only thing that I feel I will have to adjust a little is the sugar, came out a little too sweet for my taste. Definitely will be making this again!! Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa H. May 17, 2016

Followed recipe except to double it for a 9x13 as another reviewer had successfully done. Batter was super thick and cake was then dense, flat, not tasty. Turned it into a jello poke cake for some flavor so family would it eat some rather than waste all the ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lamb2112 March 10, 2016

I was surprised at how easy this was. The cake rose nicely but could have been a bit more moist. My little ones liked it as well as my big one lol.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marjorie W. February 24, 2016

I agree with some of the other responders. It's a yellow cake mix. But it's still really good. I didn't flour the pan (I have never made a homeade cake so I didn't know how.) I just sprayed generously with cooking spray and it turned out ok. Double the recipe if you want a stacked cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachael C. January 17, 2016
Simple White Cake