Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple White Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple White Bread

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on December 30, 2013

      Thank you so much for posting this, Bill Hilbrich. It truly is simple, as the recipe's title says, AND delicious. I'm not a baker and the loaves came out perfect the first time, and the second, and I'm hoping history will repeat itself today. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2012

      great recipe. simple and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2012

      This was my first time baking homemade bread and I have to say I am hooked! Your recipe was delicious and it was easy to follow. Thank you so much for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      INCREDIBLE! After my failed attempts at batter bread, I decided that this recipe would be the first time I attempt at kneading dough so naturally, I was concerned about how it was going to turn out. But it came out great! Great texture, soft crust, just perfect! Thank you so much Bill! This will be the only recipe I'll use!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

    • on November 12, 2009

      Thanks ever so much! Truly simple, and yet perfect. Light, beautiful loaves and rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      Beautiful loaves everytime. I love that you can add flavors and still get the same results. In one batch I added shome shredded onions and sprinkled the tops with sliced onions and a little cheddar, Talk about yummy. I added some chopped rosemary and used olive oil in another loaf and it was also terrific. This recipe is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      Not a bad bread, but i found that it was very bland tasting. More like a biscuit then bread. or like a wonder bread. It wasnt as sweet as home made bread usally is. Thanks for the post. This would be great for school lunch sandwiches though:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      This recipe is a keeper! Easy to follow instructions, easy to do AND it makes 2 loaves with the work of one. You can't go wrong. The whole family enjoyed it. I will be making this my go to bread recipe. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      What an excellent bread recipe!! I looking for simplicity and easy to follow and I definately found it. The taste and texture were superb! I love the golden brown crust and its just too good as toast with warm butter and jelly. I am in the process of making it again right now! Thank you so much! Its going in my all time favorite recipes book. Susan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      Just wanted to say, this was the first loaf of bread I have ever made, and it turned out wonderfully! I cut the recipe in half (I only have one bread pan), and it turned out fine. Thank you for a great tasting and easy to make bread recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      Lovely, perfect loaf. I cut this recipe in half and it unfortunately rose out instead of up lol. It is because of the silicone loaf pan I used though. I will certainly use this recipe again though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      I use this method all the time. I think the 375/ 30 minutes 190 degrees is the key to it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      I have made this bread twice. The first time I forgot the oil. The bread wad good. The second time I remembered the oil and added a little more salt. With the egg wash the bread was perfect and beautiful. Now my favorite white bread recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      This is the best recipe for a simple loaf of white bread. I've tried other recipes, but none have come out as good as this one. I made a half batch and did it all by hand and it came out wonderfully. Within a few hours, both me and my husband had eaten almost half the loaf. A great bread for the beginner bread maker, but even the experienced will appreciate the simplicity of this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      Love it! For the longest time I couldn't figure out a very subtle background taste and then realized that it was a slight essence of biscuit. Remarkable texture especially when toasted. I did a couple of subtle variations by putting parmesan on one loaf and honey almond nut on the other. Wonderful. I think I found the perfect bread recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      Best bread I ever made. My family loved it and so do I.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      Man was this ever good. I made garlic toast to have with our soup tonight and it was great! I forgot the oil as well and mine turned out fine. It was super easy bc I did it all in my KA. This is definitely staying in my rotation. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      Woohoo!! Thanks so much Brother William! This bread is amazing and it is sure to be a cherished favorite for years to come. I looked so hard for a bread recipe without using a bread machine..and this one is wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      Perfect bread! Made just one loaf as part of our New Year's Eve feast. This was the first thing ever made in my new KitchenAid stand mixer, and it was so incredibly easy!! Just set the yeast to proofing while I put the flour and salt in the mixer bowl. I used 3 cups of flour total, and after the mixer did its work I barely needed to knead the dough at all. It rose nicely in an hour and then again (in loaf form) in 45 minutes. Baked up perfectly in 30 minutes, and we loved it. Reading through the recipe again today I see that I forgot the vegetable oil, but the bread is great even without. My first review for 2007 is a real winner!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple White Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1482 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1670.7
     
    Calories from Fat 163
    76%
    Total Fat 18.1 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2346.2 mg
    97%
    Total Carbohydrate 325.5 g
    108%
    Dietary Fiber 12.8 g
    51%
    Sugars 13.6 g
    54%
    Protein 44.8 g
    89%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes