Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Tomato Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Tomato Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    174 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 174

    Sort by:

    • on August 22, 2009

      There needs to be a 10-star rating, because this is just about the most delicious thing I've ever shoved in my face. Hellman's mayo and some salt and pepper and this is just heaven. IMHO, there's no need to toast the bread, and the whiter and more refined, the better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      Yummmmy! The best sandwich ever.. just add a piece of cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      Tomato sandwiches are THE BEST! I agree that the taste of the tomatoes make a big difference in the taste. I personally prefer miracle whip and I also add some black pepper. Also, for me, the bread must be toasted with margarine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2012

      I love fresh tomatoes!! Great use. We found a wonderful produce place here in Florida, but I try to avoid mayo due to diet restrictions. Mustard has no calories and works well too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2012

      I ate tomato sandwiches as a kid, Its right up there with a BLT!!! I lean more towards the mayo(Hellmans) and not the light kind either than anything else.I know it was probably my grandmother that got me started on 'em. I think they came about while you were eating BLT'S and you ran out of bacon. White bakery bread was usually the bread of choice too !! It feels good to know there are other people out there who love the simple things in life just like I do .

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      Are you my daughter in law? I remember when my son introduced her to tomato sandwiches for the first time. She was 29 at the time and I had a garden full of heirloom tomatoes. We like ours with garden fresh tomatoes, especially the beefsteak types like brandywine, black seaman, or kellog's breakfast. Then add mayo, salt and pepper and enjoy a slice of heaven. We like ours open faced. Saves a bit on calories.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2011

      My favorite summer sandwich! I grew up eating tomato sandwiches. Dukes or Hellmans mayo is a must, fresh ground salt & pepper, and I prefer mine on bread that is not toasted. For an added yum - slice some garden fresh green bell peppers and add them to the sandwich. Can't go wrong! Delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      oh yeah!!!!!!! this is awesome, I like to add a sweet vidalia onion sometimes too. MMMmmmm.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2014

      I started making these because I was hungry for a BLT but had no B or L. For me toasted bread is better because it soaks up the juices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2014

      I have been eating these for more years than I want to say. We always grow tomatoes in the summer, and this is my favorite way to eat them...I love mine on fresh bread, not toasted with or without cheese. Must be best foods Mayo.. It's a race between my hubbie and I for the first tomato of the season for a fresh tomato sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2013

      Simple, yes, but just about the best thing EVER! I've been doing this for years. I agree, junky grocery store tomatoes are just tasteless and awful once you've had a big, homegrown, juicy tomato. Tomatoes burst with flavor! I especially love pretty much any heirloom variety...on a sandwich, with sea salt, fresh cracked peppercorn medley and real Hellman's mayo (Miracle Whip is an abomination!!!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2013

      I make this w/wheat bread, Miracle Whip, a nice thick slice of tomato, American cheese & lettuce. Salt & pepper are a must. So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2013

      Hey, don't feel bad about missing out for 29 years on this sandwich because I'm 62 and found out about this delicious summertime treat just a few years ago! Absolutely wonderful and really says, "Summer" to me:) I hope everyone will try this while the tomatoes are abundant in the garden because out-of-season tomatoes aren't even close in taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2013

      Have always loved tomato sandwiches made this way!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2012

      Love the sandwich, but will go into the garden with just a salt shaker, for a nice ripe tomato...I know about washing it, but we live in the country and hope for the best!
      Agla

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2012

      There is nothing like a big ripe juicy slice of tomato between to slices of bread, mayo & lettuce one of the best sandwiches ever. Have you ever tried tomato & cucumber sandwiches, they are great too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2012

      I prefer mine untoasted (fresh and white as rice) and with Hellman's and S&P. Just a matter of taste and what we grew up on. I could eat these 3x's a day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2012

      I can't agree more about tomatoes from my garden and used this way. We are Helmanns fans though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2012

      This can be absolutely fabulous with the right tomatoes. I like to use a good, rich cheese bread and toast it. Put on a good amount of mayonaise, with a little salt and pepper, and you've got yourself a tasty treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      So cute to see a tomato sandwich recipe here...LOVE it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Tomato Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (221 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 266.0
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    36%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 12.4 mg
    4%
    Sodium 655.7 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites