178 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

There needs to be a 10-star rating, because this is just about the most delicious thing I've ever shoved in my face. Hellman's mayo and some salt and pepper and this is just heaven. IMHO, there's no need to toast the bread, and the whiter and more refined, the better.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SilverOpera August 22, 2009

Yummmmy! The best sandwich ever.. just add a piece of cheese!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnaMarieCooking March 05, 2010

Tomato sandwiches are THE BEST! I agree that the taste of the tomatoes make a big difference in the taste. I personally prefer miracle whip and I also add some black pepper. Also, for me, the bread must be toasted with margarine.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phantom2010 December 14, 2010

I love fresh tomatoes!! Great use. We found a wonderful produce place here in Florida, but I try to avoid mayo due to diet restrictions. Mustard has no calories and works well too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DrJoan August 28, 2012

I ate tomato sandwiches as a kid, Its right up there with a BLT!!! I lean more towards the mayo(Hellmans) and not the light kind either than anything else.I know it was probably my grandmother that got me started on 'em. I think they came about while you were eating BLT'S and you ran out of bacon. White bakery bread was usually the bread of choice too !! It feels good to know there are other people out there who love the simple things in life just like I do .

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrpaul July 22, 2012

Are you my daughter in law? I remember when my son introduced her to tomato sandwiches for the first time. She was 29 at the time and I had a garden full of heirloom tomatoes. We like ours with garden fresh tomatoes, especially the beefsteak types like brandywine, black seaman, or kellog's breakfast. Then add mayo, salt and pepper and enjoy a slice of heaven. We like ours open faced. Saves a bit on calories.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovelemons September 24, 2011

My favorite summer sandwich! I grew up eating tomato sandwiches. Dukes or Hellmans mayo is a must, fresh ground salt & pepper, and I prefer mine on bread that is not toasted. For an added yum - slice some garden fresh green bell peppers and add them to the sandwich. Can't go wrong! Delish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fourkids June 30, 2011

oh yeah!!!!!!! this is awesome, I like to add a sweet vidalia onion sometimes too. MMMmmmm.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinda Lu June 13, 2009

Great sandwich but use Hellmans mayo instead. Not a Miracle Whip fan. People are usually in one camp or the other so do to your preferences.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thomas M. January 07, 2015

I have eaten tomato sandwiches since I was a little girl. I also use peanut butter instead of mayo and I have added bacon to the tomato and p & b. Good stuff!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy R. January 05, 2015
Simple Tomato Sandwich