62 Reviews

Wonderful and refreshing. I added chick peas for additional protein and a contrasting texture. I also added some cilantro. I will say that I had to add 1/8 tsp. of sugar to contrast the excessive vinegar in this dish. I'd fix that next time by cutting the vinegar down to 3/4 Tbs. instead of the full tablespoon. I served this salad with grilled chicken and white rice. The kids wouldn't touch it, but my husband and I loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scribbler515 July 07, 2015

This is delicious. I made a little change by adding a pinch of ground cumin, and the family licked the bowl clean. Next time I add the cumin, I will also garnish with fresh cilantro.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kategolden1951 April 18, 2015

Delicioius. Next time I will wait to add the advocado right before we sit down to eat [because they turned brownish from the balsamic]. Its a beautiful salad and very tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueski April 24, 2014

My go-to tomato avocado salad! So simple, yet delicious. And very versatile as well. Great side for many different kinds of ethnic dishes. Can't believe I haven't reviewed it until now!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glaber April 02, 2014

This was so, so good and it couldn't be any quicker or easier to make. <br/><br/>I loved that the sauce soaked into the other ingredients and the flavours incorporated so quickly. Using top quality ingredients is key I used a 250 gram punnet of sweet, vine-ripened cherry tomatoes, a perfect, creamy avocado and and everything as listed. My only complaint is that I wanted more.<br/><br/>Thanks for a fabulous recipe I plan to make often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soobeeoz November 23, 2013

This is such an easy to make, yet really flavorful salad. I used an 18 year old balsamic vinegar. The salad made a great side to Grilled Black Bean Burger Quesadillas. I could see making it often to accompany a Mexican meal. Thanks for posting this keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny June 17, 2013

Wow. How simple and yummy. Use a nice firm avocado.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calteri1 June 12, 2013

This sounds really good. Can't wait to make it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tennisgamer3 April 26, 2013
Simple Tomato and Avocado Salad