Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Thai-style Lemongrass Shrimp Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Thai-style Lemongrass Shrimp Soup

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 09, 2012

      This is such a great recipe, both for the taste and for the incredible ease of preparation! I have used it with both chicken and shrimp (sometimes simultaneously), and I usually increase lemongrass and fish sauce somewhat; sometimes, I also add a bit of sugar and scallions. But really, this is pretty perfect, and it is also ideal for our low-calorie diet. Thank you, this has become a staple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      Made this tonight for me and my husband. This is definitely resteraunt quality. I could not find lemongrass. Used "Gourmet Garden"-Fresh Blends, Thai Herb & Spice Blend (This has all of the ingredients that was called in the recipe). I had clam sauce, so I used this instead of Fish sauce.Used fresh shrimp and put them in with the mushrooms and tomatoes. Like others I used chicken broth rather than water and added more lime, then threw the leftover lime into the pot to add more zest to it. This was absolutely delicious, We loved the heat and all the flavors this dish gives. It's a keeper! Next time I think I will try throwing in a pinch of cumin, and see what happens. Thank You for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      I used this as a base for my soup for a sick friend. It came out wonderful. I upped the lemon grass to 2 stalks and grated the ginger and put it in the soup. I also added a can of coconut milk to make it authenticly Thai. It was a big hit with my sick friend and my family also wanted some because the fragant was wonderful. Keeper over here. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      This soup was delicious. The flavour of the broth is really nice. I notice that several reviewers have used chicken broth, and I have no doubt is probably good also, but it doesn´t really need it. As Baby Kato said: "The fish sauce, lime juice and chili paste made a wonderful base for the broth." Thanks for posting Anya.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      This was a lovely hot & spicy shrimp soup. My dh & I enjoyed it very much. I used fresh, lime leaves, lemongrass, ginger, peppers and thai basil. I loved the flavor of the broth . The fish sauce, lime juice and chili paste made a wonderful base for the broth. The shrimp were perfect. This was quick and easy to make, thanks so much for sharing. I will be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      It was delicious. I also used vegatable stock insted of water and had to substitute soy souce for fish souce. Add I added zest of lime. This receipt got into our soup menu. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      Wow this receipt was HOT. I loved it, my b/f could not eat it so I gave it to my dad who can eat any hot sauce you throw at him. Very good soup. Thank you !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      OH MAN! This recipe was fantastic! I too used chicken stock and extra lime. Also added bamboo shoots. This was the best Thai soup we've ever had. Eating this felt so clean, light and filling. Made some yellow curry & jasmine rice to serve with. Absolutely delicious!! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      This was extremely simple and took me about 10 minutes to make, which was perfect because I was super hungry. I didn't have red chilies so I dropped two small green Thai chilies in the soup. This is much easier than other Tom Yum recipes I've made in the past. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      This was really simple. I substituted soy sauce for fish sauce & sauted chicken for shrimp, couldn't find fresh red chiles, used the dried instead and just let them simmer about 15 minutes . We were amazed at how close it was to the soup at our favorite Thai restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2005

      this recipe is so simple, yet very tasty! I used chicken stock instead of water. I also also used 4 chilies, 3 limes, fresh tiger prawns and added 1 TB rice vinegar. Thanks for the easy week-night recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2004

      This was very easy to make and had a very close taste to the restaurants with out all the hard to find ingredients. I recommend adding a little more water or less chile.. mine was very spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Thai-style Lemongrass Shrimp Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (369 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 37.0
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    26%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1426.8 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemongrass

    chili paste with garlic

    shrimp

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites