12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is such a great recipe, both for the taste and for the incredible ease of preparation! I have used it with both chicken and shrimp (sometimes simultaneously), and I usually increase lemongrass and fish sauce somewhat; sometimes, I also add a bit of sugar and scallions. But really, this is pretty perfect, and it is also ideal for our low-calorie diet. Thank you, this has become a staple!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vlada January 09, 2012

Made this tonight for me and my husband. This is definitely resteraunt quality. I could not find lemongrass. Used "Gourmet Garden"-Fresh Blends, Thai Herb & Spice Blend (This has all of the ingredients that was called in the recipe). I had clam sauce, so I used this instead of Fish sauce.Used fresh shrimp and put them in with the mushrooms and tomatoes. Like others I used chicken broth rather than water and added more lime, then threw the leftover lime into the pot to add more zest to it. This was absolutely delicious, We loved the heat and all the flavors this dish gives. It's a keeper! Next time I think I will try throwing in a pinch of cumin, and see what happens. Thank You for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
raleipold December 16, 2010

I used this as a base for my soup for a sick friend. It came out wonderful. I upped the lemon grass to 2 stalks and grated the ginger and put it in the soup. I also added a can of coconut milk to make it authenticly Thai. It was a big hit with my sick friend and my family also wanted some because the fragant was wonderful. Keeper over here. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB April 04, 2009

This soup was delicious. The flavour of the broth is really nice. I notice that several reviewers have used chicken broth, and I have no doubt is probably good also, but it doesn´t really need it. As Baby Kato said: "The fish sauce, lime juice and chili paste made a wonderful base for the broth." Thanks for posting Anya.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsPia March 10, 2009

This was a lovely hot & spicy shrimp soup. My dh & I enjoyed it very much. I used fresh, lime leaves, lemongrass, ginger, peppers and thai basil. I loved the flavor of the broth . The fish sauce, lime juice and chili paste made a wonderful base for the broth. The shrimp were perfect. This was quick and easy to make, thanks so much for sharing. I will be making this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato November 13, 2008

It was delicious. I also used vegatable stock insted of water and had to substitute soy souce for fish souce. Add I added zest of lime. This receipt got into our soup menu. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpmazur August 13, 2008

Wow this receipt was HOT. I loved it, my b/f could not eat it so I gave it to my dad who can eat any hot sauce you throw at him. Very good soup. Thank you !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Valerie in Florida January 11, 2008

OH MAN! This recipe was fantastic! I too used chicken stock and extra lime. Also added bamboo shoots. This was the best Thai soup we've ever had. Eating this felt so clean, light and filling. Made some yellow curry & jasmine rice to serve with. Absolutely delicious!! Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Japanese Delight December 19, 2007

This was extremely simple and took me about 10 minutes to make, which was perfect because I was super hungry. I didn't have red chilies so I dropped two small green Thai chilies in the soup. This is much easier than other Tom Yum recipes I've made in the past. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pikake21 February 07, 2007

This was really simple. I substituted soy sauce for fish sauce & sauted chicken for shrimp, couldn't find fresh red chiles, used the dried instead and just let them simmer about 15 minutes . We were amazed at how close it was to the soup at our favorite Thai restaurant.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Morti January 07, 2007
Simple Thai-style Lemongrass Shrimp Soup