24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made using chicken stock and followed Ritas idea for bringing it about 1" above the rice. I did have to add a little more stock while cooking toward the end, as the rice was not quite done, but I used brown rice, so that is probably why. It usually takes longer to cook then regular rice. Excellent side dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Miss Cheffie August 30, 2008

Quick and easy to put together! I put all in my rice cooker double everything but the water. Once all ingredients was in I pour chicken broth in about 1 inch above the rice. Walla! Perfect. I served for Father`s day part of my Menu #18443. Sorry I didn`t get a picture as my guest had it gone in no time. Thanks Kim.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ June 16, 2008

This recipe was great...we did a few modifications though. We used 1 tablespoon of tomato boullion and 1/2 tablespoon of taco seasoning instead of what was listed. We loved it. We had it with Lower Fat Chiles (Chiles) Rellenos Casserole and together they were wonderful. It's even better the next day for lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Berdie January 16, 2008

We really enjoyed this. I followed the recipe exactly but my rice took a lot longer to cook. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol September 07, 2007

So simple and flavorful. I made this exactly as listed. After cooking 15 minutes, it still had some liquid left so I cooked it an additional 5 minutes and that did the trick. Tastes almost the same as the packaged rice mix I have been making forever. I will be making this again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilchris September 04, 2007

Raves from my teenager! This rice is superb! I "fried" the rice in the butter first and it was oh sooo good! Thanks for sharing such an easy recipe. I would have never even thought of using taco seasoning in this way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doxie lover in the Rock 2 August 18, 2007

Kim D, DH and DS thoughly enjoyed this rice. They both went back for seconds. I added a tomato chipole boullion, green onions, cumin, and cilantro to the rice. I also cooked it in my rice cooker. I love everything goes in and your done. Ther rice was moist and fluffy. It was a great side with Southwest Meatloaf, Southwest Meatloaf, which was dinner tonight. I will definetly make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luvs 2 Cook August 06, 2007

*Reviewed for Zaar World Tour 3* Very easy to prepare and the flavours worked well with the rice. Photo also being posted*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** July 06, 2007
Simple Tex-Mex Rice