Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Syrup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Syrup

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2003

      Thanks for the basic recipe. It is one of those things that if you only make it rarely that you forget the proportions!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      I have discovered that if you boil the water in a kettle first, then mix the water and sugar, you don't need to cook it for 7 mins (too hot to have the stove on!) Works great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2011

      Perfect. I used it in Banana Ice Cream.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      I vote this the easiest recipe on Zaar! I use this simple syrup for the perfect summertime Mojito (along with fresh mint from my garden). Cheers! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      This is very good. I even used a sugar substitute (Xylosweet or something like that) and it worked great for another recipe for Whiskey Sours. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      Went to make a lemon drop martinin and it called for simple syrup. Had no idea what it was then found this recipe. Worked like a charm and soooo easy to make. Now I've a small container sitting in the fridge so I can have a repeat performance - YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      I use simple syrup mainly to sweeten iced tea, and brush on loaves after baking. I've seen "gourmet" shops selling simple syrup for $5 a bottle...lol.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      The name says it all--simple. I made this to use with Banana Ice Cream. The directions were perfect. Thanks for taking the time to post this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      turned out wonderfully and works great for alcoholic drinks and mojitos!! or add to tea if you dont' like the settling sugar granules!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      I used this recipe to make some caramel popcorn when I did not have the corn syrup I needed. It turned out great and I don't think I need to buy corn syrup anymore.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      I always have a stash of this in the fridge. During the holidays I first simmer the water with ample mulling spices till I have a fairly strong concentrate, THEN add the sugar and proceed with the recipe. Then, you can heat up apple juice, rum, wine, or whatever, and add the spiced simple syrup to make a wonderful holiday beverage whenever you want! I love to make hot buttered rum using this!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      Perfect. I used Organic Turbinado Raw Cane Sugar, so mine turned out a light brown in color but is VERY tasty. I also added Vanilla flavoring with great results. THANKS

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      This turned out just right. I made it with an equal amount of Splenda instead of sugar. I added 5 tablespoons of vanilla. Good in coffee! As well as, iced skim milk. Next time I shall try it with a new flavoring I have just discovered, called Bourbon-Vanilla. Then on and on with no limit. This is cheaper then the coffee flavorings found in stores. Although Splenda is not cheap, I still think this is the way to go and it's quick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      Thanks for posting! Used this in Nojito (Nonalcoholic Mojito Cocktail) last night and it worked well!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      Thanks for the easy recipe. I made it for mojitos...yum!!! Will use this often I'm sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      I used this recipe for making Long Island Iced Tea and it was perfect. Easy to make, I am sure I'll be falling back on this recipe anytime I need simple syrup. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      A great syrup to use in all your cocktail recipes. This is great because it doesn't make alot of syrup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      A terrific simple syrup recipe to use for beverages, moistening cake layers and any recipe calling for simple syrup. Thanks for posting. :) Burnice

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2006

      Quick, easy, and perfect for when you want to sweeten without the crystals.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2006

      Just what I needed to know! Straighforward and simple. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Syrup

    Serving Size: 1 (54 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 96.7
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 24.9 g
    99%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites