Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Sugar Scrub Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Sugar Scrub

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on May 18, 2010

      I give this 5 stars. I wanted to exfoliate before using a self tanner and I hate spending so much money on the scrubs sold in stores. This was cheap to put together and worked great on my skin, it feels so soft. I did skip the lemon, but used a couple drops of vanilla oil I happened to have. Thanks for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      This is an awesome recipe! I have super duper dry skin and this scrub really helped. I didn't have enough olive oil, so I added some tea tree oil to the mixture!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      If I could give this more stars I would. I didn't use the lemon juice but did use oil - I will never purchase expensive sugar scrub again! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      I have used this recipe for years now, no store bought for me! :-) I only use the sugar and olive oil. I also buy those green pot scrubers to scrub dry areas (feet, knees, elbows of dry skin) before using sugar scrub. Keep in a container in shower and use twice a week to keep skin smooth! At 40, skin feels wonderful, for pennies!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      I can't tell you how nice it is to know that I can make my own spa products at home without spending a huge amount on lower quality retail stuff. I'm lucky enough to have an organic store right down the road from me, so I made up my own batch of this with some grape seed, jojoba, sweet almond, and apricot kernel oils mixed in with the olive oil. I also tossed in a spoonful of cocoa butter that I had laying around (5 bucks for a HUGE bottle at wal mart) and scented it with a chopped up vanilla bean and some coffee grounds from the kitchen. It's a really nice treat to wake up to in the morning :) thanks a million again!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      I'm getting ready to make my third batch of this! I have a real tough time with dry skin and this has made a huge difference. It's not too abrasive so it doesn't irritate my skin. I made it both ways and suggest NOT using extra virgin olive oil - the smell of the oil is not as strong and it's less expensive.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2013

      This is a great, simple and inexpensive way to treat yourself special (or your sister, mother, friends, etc...) I add different scented essential oils I buy with coupons from MIchael's, and use the clearest extra virgin olive oil I can find, to avoid that greenish color. I also use only about 1/3 cup oil to the one cup sugar...I find a half cup makes it a little too liquidy for my personal preferences.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      Excellent scrub! First time I have made a scrub and it will not be the last. I made 1/2 of the recipe and had plenty, with even some left over I did feel like the ratio of oil to sugar was a bit too much. Next time I will cut back on the oil. Thanks Pepper Monkey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2012

      WOW! This scrub is amazing. My mom and I made a batch together and we both came out with silky smooth hands. I am going to save a fortune on scrubs thanks to you! Such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      I made this along with "Lime and Ginger Salt Scrub" and preferred the other one. The sugar was much more abrasive than the salt, and though the oil lingered a bit after washing -- a nice touch of moisturizing -- it was a bit sticky due to the sugar. This one IS a lot quicker to make, so points for that. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      This was so softening. A great recipe. I made just a little bit and used on my face, hands and feet. They feel so good. So much cheaper than what you can buy and I had to use some self control. I used orange extract instead of essential oil. I kept wanting to lick my lips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      This is a great recipe! I used light olive oil so it wouldn't have the smell of EVOO. I also added a few drops of lavender oil. It smells great and makes my skin so soft!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      Wow I love this stuff...I haven't had any essential oils laying around so haven't made it using those..but I love it just fine just the same...the only problem it's a tough choice whether or not to use it as a face scrub or eat it as a dessert LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      Even better is to use coconut oil instead of olive. OMG it's wonderful. My skin is so soft right now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      This was fabulous! I can't wait to use it in the shower each day! I also subbed the extracts for scents instead of the oils. My mom, who's very picky, made this and loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      Awesome! I have used this for myself and given it as a gift many times over in the past couple of months. I am regularly asked for the recipe...or simply to make more! Per the Angry Chicken blog (Amy Karol) suggestion, I make this with coconut and vanilla extracts. It smells great! The scrub leaves your skin so soft and moist. The texture is not irritating to my sensitive skin like some other scrubs I have used in the past. This is also easy enough for my elementary-age step-children to make as a gift. Thanks so much for a super new addition to my beauty routine and a perfect quick, inexpensive and unique gift idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      i love this scrub! i can't stop using it. i added some jasmine oil and my boyfriend loves the smell and how soft my skin is now. i was using something similar from country bunny (i think it was $30 a jar) and this is just as good for waaaay less. thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      This is defiantly my favorite sugar scrub! I add 1/4 extra sugar, the juice of a whole lemon and 1 tbs of pure lemon extract.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      This is my favourite scrub ever!!! I never buy store bought scrub cuz i know great facial scrub can be found in your kitchen cabinet! I make this every week but never thought of making it in jars. Thanx for the idea!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2004

      Just a comment - when making your own products with essential oils in them, you should put them into glass containers. You can use plastic, but when you use plastic, some of the essential oils gets absorbed into the plastic and the smell will not last as long as it would in a glass container. Glass containers do not absorb the oils, and you can wash it out easily. So, if you are using a plastic container make sure that you don't intend to use it for any other purpose (like food storage) because the oils get absorbed, and I dont think anyone would like lavender mixed with your leftovers! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Sugar Scrub

    Serving Size: 1 (357 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1728.7
     
    Calories from Fat 972
    56%
    Total Fat 108.0 g
    166%
    Saturated Fat 14.9 g
    74%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 199.9 g
    66%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 199.6 g
    798%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites