24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I give this 5 stars. I wanted to exfoliate before using a self tanner and I hate spending so much money on the scrubs sold in stores. This was cheap to put together and worked great on my skin, it feels so soft. I did skip the lemon, but used a couple drops of vanilla oil I happened to have. Thanks for posting this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasKelly May 18, 2010

This is an awesome recipe! I have super duper dry skin and this scrub really helped. I didn't have enough olive oil, so I added some tea tree oil to the mixture!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deannatroupe May 01, 2010

If I could give this more stars I would. I didn't use the lemon juice but did use oil - I will never purchase expensive sugar scrub again! Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PamMal February 28, 2010

I have used this recipe for years now, no store bought for me! :-) I only use the sugar and olive oil. I also buy those green pot scrubers to scrub dry areas (feet, knees, elbows of dry skin) before using sugar scrub. Keep in a container in shower and use twice a week to keep skin smooth! At 40, skin feels wonderful, for pennies!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FaithfulCookInNC July 29, 2009

I can't tell you how nice it is to know that I can make my own spa products at home without spending a huge amount on lower quality retail stuff. I'm lucky enough to have an organic store right down the road from me, so I made up my own batch of this with some grape seed, jojoba, sweet almond, and apricot kernel oils mixed in with the olive oil. I also tossed in a spoonful of cocoa butter that I had laying around (5 bucks for a HUGE bottle at wal mart) and scented it with a chopped up vanilla bean and some coffee grounds from the kitchen. It's a really nice treat to wake up to in the morning :) thanks a million again!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaze_no_sennyo October 02, 2007

I'm getting ready to make my third batch of this! I have a real tough time with dry skin and this has made a huge difference. It's not too abrasive so it doesn't irritate my skin. I made it both ways and suggest NOT using extra virgin olive oil - the smell of the oil is not as strong and it's less expensive.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugaree October 19, 2006

This is a great, simple and inexpensive way to treat yourself special (or your sister, mother, friends, etc...) I add different scented essential oils I buy with coupons from MIchael's, and use the clearest extra virgin olive oil I can find, to avoid that greenish color. I also use only about 1/3 cup oil to the one cup sugar...I find a half cup makes it a little too liquidy for my personal preferences.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tornado Ali May 17, 2013

Excellent scrub! First time I have made a scrub and it will not be the last. I made 1/2 of the recipe and had plenty, with even some left over I did feel like the ratio of oil to sugar was a bit too much. Next time I will cut back on the oil. Thanks Pepper Monkey!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobtail June 24, 2012

WOW! This scrub is amazing. My mom and I made a batch together and we both came out with silky smooth hands. I am going to save a fortune on scrubs thanks to you! Such a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyLuck May 10, 2012

I made this along with "Lime and Ginger Salt Scrub" and preferred the other one. The sugar was much more abrasive than the salt, and though the oil lingered a bit after washing -- a nice touch of moisturizing -- it was a bit sticky due to the sugar. This one IS a lot quicker to make, so points for that. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS October 19, 2010
Simple Sugar Scrub