Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Steamed Cabbage, Simply Good Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Steamed Cabbage, Simply Good

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2008

      This is the perfect way to make cabbage in my opinion! I did sprinkle 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes, the second time that I made the cabbage this way. I used to always put the cabbage in with the potatoes and corned beef. While it was of good taste, it certainly was mushy. So you have that problem solved. Now to add the flavor of the cabbage to the pot of corn beef and potatoes, I simply put the cabbage cores into the pot with the meat. Flavor problem solved. If there are any left overs, I chop everything up the next morning and saute all in butter to make a lovely homemade hash, for breakfast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      This is a wonderful recipe, However I did make a couple of changes. In the steamer water pot, I used a can of chicken broth and added a can of water, I dropped a bay leaf in the liquid mix.
      I wanted to steam cabbage and potatoe's and carrots yet use dill and honey to garnish the carrots. Was the best I have ever made. I did seperate the different veggies into seperate serving dishes tossed each with a bit of butter. I used a tablespoon of fresh dill and a tablespoon of honey on the carrots. Son ask, "is this all you made?" I should have doubled the amount of veggies I made.
      I love all the comments they are very helpful. {Did not use salt, the broth had enough salt to season everthing.}

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2012

      I steamed this in the microwave and it took eight minutes. It was so good and sweet tasting without any seasoning. I did add a tad of butter but actually liked it better with nothing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      So easy and so good. Reading the reviews, I was surprised to see that people "boiled" cabbage! I've never heard of that....being from the south, we always cooked it in the skillet....slowly and sort of fried? Always with bacon grease. This is a nice way to enjoy it without the extra fat. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      I made this for supper tonight and ate it with Reuben Meatballs. Both were good although it took me about 30 min. to get the cabbage the way I like it, not crunchy, crunchy but not soft and wilty. I will use more butter on it though next time. I have enough left over for lunch tomorrow which I will put the cabbage on the bottom of my sub roll, than a layer of Reuben Meatballs, a layer of regular sauerkraut and some Thousand Island dressing. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2011

      Excellent dish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2011

      Hubby and I are on a particular diet and couldn't use butter. So I just sprayed a little I Can't Believe it's Not Butter on it. I also added a few dashes of red pepper flakes. I thought it was pretty good but hubby LOVED it and that's what's important! Said it was cooked perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      Sometimes, the old, clear ways are the best!!! Absolutely and awesome recipe and used this for my St. Pats day cabbage (just put on top of the taters/carrots/onions) and never, EVER will boil my cabbage to mush again!!! (Sorry, Nan!!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      This is the first time I've steamed cabbage, and it's great. Simple and delicious. Steaming brings out a little sweetness in the cabbage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      Great. I can no longer fear cabbage - not like I ever did, really. :) This method made the cabbage taste kinda sweet and I steamed it until tender-crisp. I served it plain, and I set butter/salt/pepper out if people wanted it. Made to go with Corned Beef and Cabbage in Guinness. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      OMG! So simple and so good! Love it. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      All I can say is Simply Wonderful!!! No more watered down, soggy cabbage. We added nothing except a little salt at the table...Sheer perfection. Thank you Bergy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      Bergy, I don't know what else I can say about your method of steaming cabbage, except it is so very delicious. I just bought myself a rice cooker/steamer and was anxious to try it. It took a little longer to cook, than yours, but, it was well worth waiting for. I took Miss Annie's advice and added a quartered onion, not sweet. M-MM-MMM. Thanks so much for posting this, for us. It will become a standard, in this house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      Made this cabbage for our St. Patty's Day. I usually boil the cabbage in the water that the meat cooks in, but it's always so soogy. Steamed this way was very tasty. Thanks Bergy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      i think i cut it too big cuz i was hving trouble putting it in my mouth. I didn't add butter as i did not hv any at home at the time. But even without the butter ,it came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2006

      I Loved It. Made it for company and they asked for More. Will make it again. Thanks Cheryl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2006

      Can't go wrong with this. This was so good. I plan on doing this alot. I had half a hamburger with this on the side and I was in heaven. I added some balsamic vinegar as the start to give it just a bit of zing. It was perfect. Thanks Bergy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2006

      As the title says, simply good!! it really is simply outstanding! So easy and soo delicious, I was cooking a small corned beef, so for the last half hour I put the steamer over the corned beef and steamed the cabbage that way. I also added some thin ribbon carrots with the cabbage. The butter and salt and pepper was all that was needed to make mouth watering cabbage and carrots. DH likes his cabbage softer, so I steamed it about double the time specified. Thanks Bergy for sharing a recipe we will use again and again!! — Oct 23, 2004, just to add a note, that I make this often and we love it, this time I added some caraway seed to it, nice additions, thanks again Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2006

      You sure can not go wrong with this one. I love cabbage. This is lightly flavored not messing with the true taste of freshness. Thank You..Hugs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2005

      I made this tonight and it was wonderful! I used 3/4 of the cabbage (since all 4 wouldn't fit in my pot) and steamed it for 15 minutes (I like mine softer too). I melted half a stick of butter in the microwave and poured it over the steamed vegetables and lightly shook some pepper over it. Took it to a potluck and people were raving!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Steamed Cabbage, Simply Good

    Serving Size: 1 (113 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 28.3
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    48%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 20.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites