25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the perfect way to make cabbage in my opinion! I did sprinkle 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes, the second time that I made the cabbage this way. I used to always put the cabbage in with the potatoes and corned beef. While it was of good taste, it certainly was mushy. So you have that problem solved. Now to add the flavor of the cabbage to the pot of corn beef and potatoes, I simply put the cabbage cores into the pot with the meat. Flavor problem solved. If there are any left overs, I chop everything up the next morning and saute all in butter to make a lovely homemade hash, for breakfast.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grannydragon March 13, 2008

Thank you for such a lovely recipe. I am generally not a cabbage fan, but not only did I love it, but so did my 14 year old son. Thanks so much<br/><br/>Holly Zendels

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Holly A. January 15, 2015

This is a wonderful recipe, However I did make a couple of changes. In the steamer water pot, I used a can of chicken broth and added a can of water, I dropped a bay leaf in the liquid mix.
I wanted to steam cabbage and potatoe's and carrots yet use dill and honey to garnish the carrots. Was the best I have ever made. I did seperate the different veggies into seperate serving dishes tossed each with a bit of butter. I used a tablespoon of fresh dill and a tablespoon of honey on the carrots. Son ask, "is this all you made?" I should have doubled the amount of veggies I made.
I love all the comments they are very helpful. {Did not use salt, the broth had enough salt to season everthing.}

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
raisins mom January 01, 2013

I steamed this in the microwave and it took eight minutes. It was so good and sweet tasting without any seasoning. I did add a tad of butter but actually liked it better with nothing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol November 08, 2012

So easy and so good. Reading the reviews, I was surprised to see that people "boiled" cabbage! I've never heard of that....being from the south, we always cooked it in the skillet....slowly and sort of fried? Always with bacon grease. This is a nice way to enjoy it without the extra fat. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom February 19, 2012

I made this for supper tonight and ate it with Reuben Meatballs. Both were good although it took me about 30 min. to get the cabbage the way I like it, not crunchy, crunchy but not soft and wilty. I will use more butter on it though next time. I have enough left over for lunch tomorrow which I will put the cabbage on the bottom of my sub roll, than a layer of Reuben Meatballs, a layer of regular sauerkraut and some Thousand Island dressing. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 September 26, 2011

Excellent dish

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djmartino28 July 08, 2011

Hubby and I are on a particular diet and couldn't use butter. So I just sprayed a little I Can't Believe it's Not Butter on it. I also added a few dashes of red pepper flakes. I thought it was pretty good but hubby LOVED it and that's what's important! Said it was cooked perfectly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cymplicity27 June 11, 2011

Sometimes, the old, clear ways are the best!!! Absolutely and awesome recipe and used this for my St. Pats day cabbage (just put on top of the taters/carrots/onions) and never, EVER will boil my cabbage to mush again!!! (Sorry, Nan!!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dgpat March 21, 2011

This is the first time I've steamed cabbage, and it's great. Simple and delicious. Steaming brings out a little sweetness in the cabbage.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raichka March 20, 2011
Simple Steamed Cabbage, Simply Good