Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Steamed Broccoli Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Steamed Broccoli

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 18, 2006

      I love steamed broccoli more then any other vegetable. I use my electric steamer and place the sugar, or dill or a bay leaf in the little drawer that fits under the steamer basket. Sprinkle it with a little kosher salt and steam until desired tenderness. Mix it with the melted butter as Marg suggests. The most delicious vegetable side to any meal. Use this technique for califlower (with seasoned salt mixed into your melted butter), fresh green beans and onions (add a layer of bacon strips to the top), carrots, artichokes, corn on the cob (try this with some red sweet bell pepper stips on top) or just about any kind of fresh vegetable you desire. Nothing tastes better then fresh steamed vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      This was good and easy to make. We love broccoli but I had never made it with butter. It was tasty and everyone enjoyed it. I followed the recipe as written other then I used Splenda instead of sugar as that is all I buy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      This really does make the most delicious broccoli! Melting the butter the bowl and stirring to coat was a new trick for me; works much better than dotting the butter on top and letting it melt down. Deceptively simple -- it's always fun to learn new and better ways to do things. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      I eat broccoli quite often, even if the Bush family hates it
      :D
      I always steam it, but have never heard of a teaspoon of sugar in the water below basket.
      I am fixing it today to accompany lamb loin chops and oven roasted potatoes.
      Thanks for the suggestion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2011

      Simply wonderful! I already have made it half-a-dozen times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      A super method for veggies. I made the broccoli, will try other veggies. I like that the broccoli remains a vibrant and appetizing green. Marg, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      Thanks for this simple way to make a quick, easy and delicious side. I especially appreciate the tip of melting the butter in the serving bowl in the microwave! Came out perfectly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      Very good and very simple. Thanks for sharing Marg. Made for Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      I usually serve my broccoli with olive oil in the bowl rather than butter, along with fresh lemon juice & minced garlic. Have never cooked it with salt, but tried the sugar method tonight. Not sure that I could detect any difference, but it tasted good nonetheless! Thank you, Marg!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      This turned out perfect! We are watching what we eat and eating alot of Broccoli. Ilike this method the best. My Mom got me a microwave steamer and that is what I used. I will make this often and try other vegetables as well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      We love steamed broccoli. I have been using this recipe ever since finding it. Definitely no salty flavor to the food, which makes me happy. Thanks for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      This was very good. I followed the recipe exactly (although I don't know what the addition of sugar does) and served it with steamed rice & baked salmon. I overcooked the broccoli a bit, but not so much that two of us couldn't eat the entire thing. Thanks for posting, Marg!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2006

      i use it pretty much 2 to 3 times a week, great for me since i have been watching the cals and carbs,, thank you for the great recipie. Ralph

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Steamed Broccoli

    Serving Size: 1 (45 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 120.7
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    87%
    Total Fat 11.6 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 115.6 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes