12 Reviews

A very nice combination. I used Manzanilla olives, and I think they made it really special. I reversed the oil and lemon portions for our tastes. Served 2 for big veggie eaters.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito February 09, 2013

I dont care for fussy salads with so many toppings you cant taste the freshness of the lettuce so this salad was perfect for me. When looking thru the olive bar at our local grocery store I spotted some Kalamata olives that looked very good so subbed those for the green olives. Loved the simple dressing, all the wonderful greens, and the vege's were just enough. Will make this salad again! Made and reviewed for Family Picks during ZWT8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 September 02, 2012

This was great! I can't eat many premade salad dressings and usually do oil and vinegar - I really liked the lemon juice, oil, and salt/pepper combination and will definitely be using it again. :-) For ZWT8

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Random Rachel August 27, 2012

Fresh toms were replaced by sun dried toms because toms this time of year are horrible. Bought gourmet Spanish olives at the "olive bar" in the natural food store-forgot which variety-something a bit different...?? Worked perfectly for a Spanish/Mediterranean/North African themed meal. Be sure to use fresh ingredients, especially the lettuce! We had a wonderful head of loose leaf lettuce from our CSA box to use for this salad. Quality ingredients make a big difference in taste and presentation. Reviewed for Veg Tag/April.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl April 19, 2011

An outstanding salad. It is so light and refreshing. A mixture of spring greens with baby spinach was used for the greens. Fresh lemon juice is a must in the light and airy dressing. This was served with Maureen's Stuffed Peppers for a wonderful meal. Made for Diabetic Forums *Heart Healthy Eating*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG February 01, 2010

A delicious and refreshing salad: loved the different lettuces with the baby spinach leaves and loved the lemony flavour in the dressing. :) The only changes I made were to use kalalmata olives instead of green olives (a personal taste preference) and to add some minced garlic to the dressing (something I add wherever I see an opportunity to do so). We thoroughly enjoyed this salad with Lazy-Day Overnight Lasagna. Thank you for sharing this recipe, Dreamer in Ontario. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder August 21, 2009

This was such an easy salad to make & delicious. I served it with a Mexican meal and thought it worked well with it. The mildly tart, fresh flavor was a nice contrast to the heavier enchiladas I served it with. I did use black olives as I already had them open for another part of the menu.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D May 26, 2009

A perfect salad. Would not change it in any way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens May 20, 2009

Lovely clean tasting salad that would go so well with a rich dish or just cheese, one of my favourite ways of eating salad thanks Dorit. Made for ZWT

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindseylcw May 18, 2009

The name says it all. I was looking for simple salad to serve with a BBQ and yours was there waiting for me.. I did add some crushed garlic, it's like a bad habit I have but it did turn out Perfect.; thanks for sharing. I made this for WT5. Rita

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sage May 16, 2009
Simple Spanish Green Salad