Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Sour Cream Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Sour Cream Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on May 24, 2004

      Wow! These WERE very simple and quick & easy to throw together on the spur of the moment. My dough was a little sticky but the floured surface used for kneading was enough to make it less so and workable. I cut mine with the bottom of a drinking glass and got 4 great biscuits that rose nicely and were golden in my oven at 10 mins. I had one leftover that I enjoyed this morning for breakfast with butter & jam. These were tender and light,I was impressed that I made such a nice biscuit! Oh, and I didn't have self rising flour so I used the following substitution to equal the one cup ( 1 cup all purpose flour + 1 1/2 tsps. baking powder + 1/2 tsp. salt)I may try adding a touch of sugar next time for a little sweetness( I'm used to it in my tea biscuit recipe) but these certainly are great as is! Thanks T Girl, I will be making these again! ( T Girl's Cook-a-thon, May 2004)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2013

      I love an easy biscuit recipe that actually works!! Perfect for the two of us, too, so we don't overeat all that biscuit loveliness slathered in butter. I used bacon fat instead of vegetable oil (as I had just made bacon and I couldn't resist!). Lovely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      I doubled the batch and got 10 or so medium sized biscuits. They didn't raise very high, but they were light and delicious. I will make these again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      Just found this recipe this morning because I was oul of bisquick, and didn't want to take the time to make a sub. I think these biscuits turned out better than any I've made in years, Great taste, very light and fluffy without being crumbley, and beautiful golden brown. will be making these often. No need to make Baking Mix with this recipe around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      What a great simple recipe to have on hand when a friend visits. I just cut the dough into four and it made lovey, light scone like servings (very generous size) without the fuss or density of some scones. Very light and fluffy on the inside. Golden brown on the outside which adds to the home cooked look with little effort and ingredients. Thanks for the recipe it is a keeper! These tasted great with butter and honey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      A Wonderful recipe. I used fat free sour cream so the only fat in them was from the 2 tsp's of canola oil that I used! I got 6 biscuits including the slightly smaller one from the cutting remains. Mine didn't brown much at 14 mins but they were well baked with a light fluffy interior. The sour cream gives them a very satisfying body and flavor. My DH, who refuses to eat anything with sour cream ate 2 very happily, I will now be making these often as they taste fab and can be made almost fat free! Whats not to love!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      I made these today and I love the fact that it only makes 4 biscuits (very large ones though)! They came out just right for me even though I made them as drop biscuits. Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2005

      I have made these many times and they just come out perfect! Awesome recipe! My DH loves biscuits and gravy and these go over well. Also, Thank You Rhonda J for how to substitute for self rising flour.... worked perfectly!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2005

      I made 5 batches of these with my Kindergarten class and they were a big hit! They were easy enough for young children and they really loved kneading their own piece of dough. Thanks for a great lesson!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2004

      These were so wonderful. I followed Rhonda's review because I never have self-rising flour and also added 1/2 tsp of sugar and they were absolutely perfect. I got 4 huge, fluffy, wonderful tasting biscuits, perfect for just hubby and I with one left over for him to take to work tomorrow. I baked mine for 11 minutes or so and though they were a touch pale on the outside, the inside was perfectly done. This will definitely be made again and again in this house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2004

      This *is* the perfect recipe for me, because I love "simple", I love biscuits and I usually cook for only one or two people. The recipe is so simple, and yet it truly makes one of the best biscuits I have tasted. Instead of adding extra flour for kneading and shaping, I scraped the dough out on a sheet of plastic wrap and kneaded and shaped it inside the plastic. I shaped the dough into a square and cut it in fourths because I am not very good with a biscuit cutter. Note: In my oven, it took between 15 and 20 minutes for the biscuits to reach the "golden brown" stage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Sour Cream Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (76 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 222.8
     
    Calories from Fat 104
    46%
    Total Fat 11.5 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 18.9 mg
    6%
    Sodium 498.3 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites