Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Simon Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Simon Chicken

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on February 26, 2011

      I noted that the fat content is a bit high in the Nutrition Facts. This can be reduced by spraying the chicken pieces. Using an oil spray will greatly reduce the fat content.
      The receipe is very easy to modify: number of chicken pieces, crumb types, seasoning (take dried chilies and grind them to a powder), etc. I can even see using other meats, e.g., fish, pork chops, slices of pork tenderloin . . .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      This is soooo delicious. Really easy, and the flavour is amazing. Just enough cayanne to warm your tastebuds. I used panko crumbs in place of the cracker crumbs. I baked two bone-in chicken breasts, and after shaking the topping on in a plastic bag, sprayed with cooking spray and then added more of the mix on top, I've tried lots of 'oven fried' recipes, but this is by far the best. Thanks Baby Kato! Made for Auzzie/NZ Recipe Swap #28

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      I made this as for 4 serves though I was only serving 3 and used 3 maryland cuts (thigh and drumstick/leg intact). Made as per recipe except I used finely grated sharp cheddar as I am the only one who likes parmesan (the others refer to is as stinky or sphew cheese especially when cooked), the end result after an hour of baking at 175C fan forced was moist and very crispy chicken, thank you Baby Kato, made for Aussie/Kiwi Recipe Swap #73 February 2013.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2011

      This is an awesome recipe. I used the full amount of cayenne and it gave it a really nice kick! Thanks for sharing. I will make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2011

      I used saltine crumbs. I had a little trouble getting the coating to stick, so I patted most of it on top. The chicken was deliciously flavored, and very moist. I even enjoyed the skin, which I usually dislike. Great recipe, thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2011

      Fabulous and easy chicken! I used boneless/skinless chicken breasts and just decreased the cook time to about 35-40 min. For the favorite cracker crumbs, I used crushed up Rice Chex. The topping provided great crunch and flavor and the chicken remained moist. I loved the hint of spice from the cayenne pepper, too. This will be a family favorite. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      This was REALLY, REALLY good! I used a big pack of chicken thighs and doubled the toppings. After I coated the chicken with the mix, I sprinkled the leftover coating mix on top of the chicken. Cooking time was perfect! The best part was all the cooked coating mix stuck to the foil between the pieces of chicken!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      This recipe should be called Delicious Simple Simon Chicken! I used plain saltine crackers and 3 huge chicken breasts. The seasonings were perfect. I did bake a full hour, but I should have checked them at 45 minutes as they got a bit dry (my fault). I will make this again for a quick weeknight meal. Very tastey indeed :) Made for ZWT4 Family Picks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      MADE FOR ZWT4. I had a whole chicken, and husband asked me not to cut it up; he loves whole chicken! So I made a "flattie" -- cut the chicken down the breast, took out the breast bones, and pushed it flat. I used dry seasoned bread crumbs, more mustard than the recipe specified, and in the place of cayenne pepper I used a good teaspoon of dried, flaked, hot chilli peppers. Otherwise I didn't change a thing. My only problem was that this delicious chicken is not very photogenic!!! It's beige, and that's that! But it was delicious. I seasoned the underside with the same crumb mixture and added some seasoned salt mixture as well, then covered it with a foil for half the roasting time in case it burned. Then I took off the foil, but because the coating is dry it does not actually go golden brown. On one photo the strange veggie you see is uniquely South African: it's the unopened flowers of an edible pond lily! ("Waterblomme" - "water flowers") I cooked it with chopped potatoes, onion, and lemon juice. It is a delicious veggie accompaniment! Thank you, Baby Kato, for a coating I will use again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      Who would have guessed an oven baked chicken could look so crisp! I used regular cracker crumbs,chicken pieces equal to one whole chicken and made as posted right down to the sea salt - and wouldn't change a thing. The seasonings were just right for our tastes and loved that it was so crisp and juicy. Have that copy right close by to be making again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      Delicious! I used Ritz crackers for my "cracker of choice" and this lent a nice rich crumb to the crispiness level. Added a tweak more dry mustard, skipped the shallot and cayenne (just getting over a flu bug--no sense upsetting things again!). Unwisely, though, I used breast meat for this, and it was rather dry (I really should've known better!!!). But the flavor of the breading MORE than made up for a bit of aridity! :-) The Parmesan brings a mellow flavor to the whole blend, while the mustard nips back a bit! Best of all, the paprika lends a very nice color to the whole arrangement--very pretty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      Very nice results with this recipe, even though I used 4 chicken breasts & cut them into 1" strips! This was made to take to some shut-in neighbors [who, naturally, raved about it!], but I managed to eat a strip of the chicken before I delivered it on a bed of brown rice! I particularly enjoyed the mustard & garlic & cayenne [used just the 1/4 tsp]! I'll be making this again! Many thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2007

      This is really lovely. I cooked in two pans, one with cayenne for Dave and myself and the other without for my girls. Served with a lovely fresh salad. Thanks Baby Kato!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      For dinner I used split chicken breasts and Ritz crackers. I was already in the process of making the crumb crust when I realized I didn't have the shallot, but the chicken still came out tasty and crunchy. I really liked the cracker crumbs and parm cheese together. Thanks Baby Kato!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      I used 2 leg and thigh pieces and cut the recipe in half. The cayenne and sweet paprika worked very well together while the crackers and parm made a really good coating. I'll defiantly use this when I want a whole roasted chicken. This is so simple and easy that it's a treat to make a baked chicken dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2013

      A very nice baked chicken recipe, I did substitute bread crumbs in place of cracker crumbs. I sprayed breasts with cooking spray and added other ingredients and made my own shake in bake mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2013

      Delicious tasting chicken!! I used breadcrumbs, garlic powder instead of cloves, onion powder instead of shallot and only used 2 chicken breasts. I will be making this one soon! Made for Rookie Tag Game 24 hr rule 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      A nice twist on oven fried chicken - the leftover will be great on a salad. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Simon Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (129 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 423.9
     
    Calories from Fat 249
    58%
    Total Fat 27.6 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 58.9 mg
    19%
    Sodium 441.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 17.9 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites