Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Shrimp Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Shrimp Chowder

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2006

      This was wonderfully appealing and tasted marvelous. It is perhaps thinner than other chowders but is just fine as is because of all the vegetables and shrimp. I took some other reviewers' suggestions to heart and made my own hashbrowns by cubing and parboiling some potatoes, setting some aside to be fried for a garnish. I used skim and evaporated milk and fish stock made from shrimp shells rather than the water. I can appreciate why this is your friend's Christmas Eve tradition, Heather.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      Other than using regular potatoes, I went by the recipe and had very good results. My DH had 2 bowls and asked for the leftovers for lunch at work! Even my DS and DD loved it, which makes it a winner for my family! It's now in my favorites folder waiting to be made again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2005

      This was soooo delicious! I love white clam chowder and when I saw this recipe using shrimp I had to try it. So glad I did!! We all love shrimp. Followed the recipe exactly and it was awesome. Thanks HeatherFeather

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2004

      This is an incredibly good, easy and quick chowder. I used shrimpstock that I had prepared previously from roasted shells, some garlic and veggies. I also used precooked shrimp (though I doubled the amount since I love shrimp) and thus skipped one step and added them just before serving to heat through. Next time I might add a few fried hashbrowns as garnish on top. I think that gives a nice crunch, but the recipe is just great as it is. Good for company and because of the nice mild taste also good for kids, if they eat shrimp. Thanks for sharing. this was really yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      Fin-Tastic!!! Great as is,But tried adding chicken stock instead of water,(Don't like water,fish do funny things in it)much more flavor in stock.Thanks for posting such a great chowder Lorene Deal

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2004

      This is a fantastic chowder. I used homemade hashbrowns, just a personal preference. I also added just a touch of Spanish Paprika for a little extra flavor. This recipe is the perfect meal for these cold winter nights. Thanks for the great recipe!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      this recipe was divine and delicious and simple too. I am 13 years old and this was scrumptious and of course easy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2006

      very nice filling soup. will enjoy often. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Shrimp Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (278 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 232.1
     
    Calories from Fat 107
    46%
    Total Fat 11.9 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 93.3 mg
    31%
    Sodium 765.4 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 14.0 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites