8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was wonderfully appealing and tasted marvelous. It is perhaps thinner than other chowders but is just fine as is because of all the vegetables and shrimp. I took some other reviewers' suggestions to heart and made my own hashbrowns by cubing and parboiling some potatoes, setting some aside to be fried for a garnish. I used skim and evaporated milk and fish stock made from shrimp shells rather than the water. I can appreciate why this is your friend's Christmas Eve tradition, Heather.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea January 25, 2006

Other than using regular potatoes, I went by the recipe and had very good results. My DH had 2 bowls and asked for the leftovers for lunch at work! Even my DS and DD loved it, which makes it a winner for my family! It's now in my favorites folder waiting to be made again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda's Pantry! February 02, 2011

This was soooo delicious! I love white clam chowder and when I saw this recipe using shrimp I had to try it. So glad I did!! We all love shrimp. Followed the recipe exactly and it was awesome. Thanks HeatherFeather

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeNut September 24, 2005

This is an incredibly good, easy and quick chowder. I used shrimpstock that I had prepared previously from roasted shells, some garlic and veggies. I also used precooked shrimp (though I doubled the amount since I love shrimp) and thus skipped one step and added them just before serving to heat through. Next time I might add a few fried hashbrowns as garnish on top. I think that gives a nice crunch, but the recipe is just great as it is. Good for company and because of the nice mild taste also good for kids, if they eat shrimp. Thanks for sharing. this was really yummy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anke R December 01, 2004

Fin-Tastic!!! Great as is,But tried adding chicken stock instead of water,(Don't like water,fish do funny things in it)much more flavor in stock.Thanks for posting such a great chowder Lorene Deal

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorene Deal January 06, 2009

This is a fantastic chowder. I used homemade hashbrowns, just a personal preference. I also added just a touch of Spanish Paprika for a little extra flavor. This recipe is the perfect meal for these cold winter nights. Thanks for the great recipe!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jellyqueen December 02, 2004

this recipe was divine and delicious and simple too. I am 13 years old and this was scrumptious and of course easy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nicholas Maraj December 15, 2011

very nice filling soup. will enjoy often. thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jellyko January 18, 2006
Simple Shrimp Chowder