23 Reviews

Fairy Godmother's Jr. Here: Fantastic pick for a college student, simple and quick. Served over rice on kebobs with red and yellow peppers makes for a great presentation. I added garlic, thyme, and fried the chicken in sesame oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fairy Godmother March 16, 2007

Wow, was this good! I followed the recipe with the addition of about a tablespoon of garlic. It took me less time to prepare this than it took to grill! I served it with rice and broccoli. Having read the other comments, I tried drizzling some of the marinade on the broccoli and that was also really good. What a great weeknight meal!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie in Atlanta January 30, 2007

This is the perfect recipe-- it's easy, doesn't take a lot of ingredients, and is delicious! I have been looking for something healthy that's easy to make with a good flavor and this is it! The soy sauce and honey mixture is surprisingly tasty! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SanchezJsc March 29, 2006

I think this was a really nummy recipe. The whole family liked it just as it was written. I think that I would add a few more sesame seeds. We served it over rice with a salad and bread. Will definetly make it again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Jones January 14, 2006

This marinade has a great flavor. Here's an adaptation I came up with that also turned out well: substitute pork for the chicken (I use the boneless butterfly chops), and cook on low in the crockpot for 6-8 hrs., adding water chestnuts and broccoli for the last 30 min. Goes well over rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joannaopaskar April 15, 2005

Very good and quick marinade. I added garlic, crushed red pepper, and more ginger to the marinade and fried it in peanut oil. Oh, and to "roast" sesame seeds, just take regular sesame seeds and either throw them in a pan or in the toaster oven to brown them. Mmmmm, so good...Can't wait to try it grilled next time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Annie March 25, 2005

Wonderful taste and so easy! I stir-fried chicken breast pieces and then simmered them in this sauce for about 30 minutes. The chicken came out beautifully golden brown and delicious. I also used garlic instead of ginger. Will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaynine January 04, 2005

Wonderful Meal everyone loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ben Mason January 16, 2004

I didn't want to give stars yet but wanted to leave a suggestion...don't use a grill pan! I used one tonight and the marinade burned and smoked and made such a mess. I ended up finishing the cooking in the oven. Even with the charred marinade, I thought it was good, so I plan to make it again (in the oven) and will post stars then. Also, I used a little marinade to saute zucchini and it was delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elainegl December 07, 2003

Loved it! It was quick and easy with simple ingredients, perfect for when you don't really want to cook. I cut down on the ginger (not my favorite) and replaced some of it with garlic instead. Turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Len23 September 17, 2003
Simple Sesame Ginger Chicken