14 Reviews

This is the best tasting salisbury steak I've ever tried. If I could give it more then 5 stars I would.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri-BDB January 16, 2003

This was so good and so simple! I served it with rice, and my whole family raved over it.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shasha January 03, 2003

Dave you did it again. This was indeed simple. Only problem I saw was not enough sauce. I had to add a little bit of water to thin it out. Loved all the mushrooms in it. I will make this again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tarynne March 17, 2002

I have been making this recipe for years and finally had to give a review. When I first started making this, my husband would leave happy hour early because it was "Salisbury steak night". Great recipe exactly as written.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy Melly September 14, 2016

Great base recipe! I do this in the oven as well, but a little differently. I make foil packets like you would camping. Use this recipe to make the patties (I add a little garlic too). Then put them in foil boats, add cut up potatoes and fresh mushrooms on top. Put the rest of the cream of mushroom soup on top of this, 2 Tbls of beef broth and a pat of butter. Cook in the oven at 375 for an hour. You dirty very few pans this way too because your veggies cook with your meat int the oven!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katiebear381 April 29, 2009

This was a very good meal...I did add worcestershire (2tbls.) and minced garlic (love garlic). It was a simple and delicious meal. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf February 17, 2009

I found this recipe about a year ago and never wrote a review. It is really good. The only thing is that I make mine in the oven. Cooks very fast. Drain off any excess fat and pour mushroom soup over with some sauted mushrooms. Served with mashed potatoes. We all enjoy this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel June 16, 2008

This is so delicious!!! We had this for supper tonight and my husband just couldn't quit raving about how good these were. The only changes I made was I sauteed the mushrooms in butter with two tablespoons of garlic. Removed to a seperate pan and combined the mushrooms and garlic in with the patties and soup mixture at the end.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chris_tam July 18, 2007

This was a good last-minute meal. It was very simple and I easily had all the ingredients on hand. I left out the mushrooms and onions as DH doesn't care for them, and I used Italian bread crumbs which gave it a little more flavor. Think I would add some garlic next time. I served it with Tri-Color Rotini and Parmesan Baked Zucchini. Overall a great meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilShowers January 31, 2007

This was a quick and simple dish to make, the only changes I made were to add 2 tablespoons of worchestershire sauce, and instead of the chopped onion (I didn't have any in the house) I added half a packet of liptons onion soup mix, and 1 tablespoon of minced garlic. I also didn't have enough sauce, so I added about a 1/2 cup of milk and the other 1/2 packet of onion soup mix to the sauce. It was very flavorful and the patties had a great flavor. Thanks for adding this one, I will make it again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starryangel777 January 23, 2007
Simple Salisbury Steak