Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Simple Roasted Butternut Squash Cinnamon Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simple Roasted Butternut Squash Cinnamon Soup

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on September 05, 2008

      wonderful, simply delicious, there is not too many more words to describe this soup, all the flavors blend wonderful together, I love the addition of the fresh ginger, I increaded the garlic by 2 large cloves (can never have too much garlic lol!) also added in a pinch of cayenne pepper, thanks for sharing such a wonderful soup recipe that my family thoroughly enjoyed tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2011

      This was amazing! I have never tasted such good soup, if I don't mind complimenting myself! I skipped the butter, just sauteed the onion in veg. oil. I also had an old leek left in the fridge, so I chopped that up and sauteed it with the onion. I used my homemade chicken stock and minced some frozen ginger I had in the freezer. It was so delicious after I used my immersion blender to puree the soup, I skipped the cream --- It didn't need it! Thank you! I'm making a second batch right now, checking the ingredient list, and thought I'd leave the review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      Fantastic! Like another reviewer, I omitted the butter (used olive oil) and the heavy cream (used 6 oz of plain, Greek yogurt). I also added a Granny Smith apple -- extra delish! Couldn't decide at the end whether to add cinnamon for sweetness or cayenne for spice, and ultimately forgot to do either. It was superb all the same!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2013

      Great recipe! Super easy and the roasting really brings out the flavor of the squash. I did swap nutmeg for cinnamon because my cinnamon is old. Next time I'll just use 1/4 cup half and half. THanks for hte keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2013

      This was wonderful! Added a great big honeycrisp apple and had to sub the cream for evaporated milk. Would make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2013

      Very good recipe. I almost doubled the squash and cinnamon, added a little flour and water paste and let simmer to thicken it up. After it thickened, I added a little half and half and parsley flakes at the end for color and it was delicious! Will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      Wow - this soup was delicious and impressed my dinner crowd. I don't usually review recipes, but this was so outstanding I just had to put in my $.02! Definitely will be making this for Holidays. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      This was simply fabulous! I made it per instructions and it was great. DH thinks squash is grounds for divorce, so I neglected to mention the main ingredient... he ate it all. The flavors blend beautifully, and it must be good for you. Definitely a recipe I'll try again and again. Gracias, Liza!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      This was wonderful! I omitted the cinnamon and sprinkled some cayenne, instead. I'm not a big cinnamon and savory fan. Thanks, so much for the recipe! It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2011

      This is the best squash soup recipe I have ever made hands down...Great texture I used fat free half and half and it still was
      to die for...will put in my favorite recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      this was really good. thanks for the recipe. i also added a little cayenne pepper - and used coconut milk instead of cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      Absolutely Heavenly! Sour Cream added a nice touch. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      I'd like to add one more rave review to your collection. OMG, this was so fantastically good, just like I dreamed a good butternut squash soup could be. This may be the best soup I've ever had in my life with the exception of the conch bisque I had in a restaurant in the Miami airport. I prepared this just as written, with one exception--I didn't have quite enough butternut squash so I added half of a large roasted sweet potato. Oh my, it was so yummy. Thanks, Liza, for sharing this awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      Made this with many substitutions and it still turned out great. The directions for roasting the squash worked perfectly. I wasn't sure my hubby would like it, but he downed two bowls for supper last night. My subs included: 1 additional squash (acorn), veg broth instead of chicken, 3 chopped apples added to broth, 1/2&1/2 instead of heavy cream, and just about tripled the ginger quantity (personal preference, and also to tone down the sweetness). This was quite yummy and I will enjoy the leftovers. :) Thanks, Liza!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      This was a big hit at Thanksgiving! I carried it to my nephew's house in the crock pot. I let it heat up while visiting and then added the cream shortly before serving. This is excellent with a little sprinkle of dried cranberries on each serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      Made this for a luncheon last week. I substituted the 2% greek yogurt for the heavy cream. I served the soup with a side of sherry to add to taste. It was delicious!! Had some soup left over, and added chunks of roasted squash, which made it even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Wonderful. I did add about 1/8 tsp each of red pepper, nutmeg, and all spice. I also used 2% greek yogurt in place of the heavy cream...and it turned out beautifully. A bit of light sour cream & fresh ground pepper on top finished it off nicely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      We loved this soup! Roasting the squash makes all the difference! Followed the recipe with the exception of adding a little lemon grass with the ginger; and only used 1 quart of broth. Served with garlic croutons . . . forgot the sour cream, but didn't even miss it! Thanks Liza . . . a great comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      i made this soup it had rave reviews.. although I thought it tasted okay I didn't love it. I think I may have added too much ginger. and i didn't have enough boullion.. I tried it first without sour cream but then added some and it improved the flavor and texture so be sure to add the sour cream..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      This was fantastic. My children had seconds and even licked the bowl. This is a great way to get them to eat their vegetables. Way to go Liza

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simple Roasted Butternut Squash Cinnamon Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (238 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 150.3
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    45%
    Total Fat 7.6 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 422.4 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites