41 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

wonderful, simply delicious, there is not too many more words to describe this soup, all the flavors blend wonderful together, I love the addition of the fresh ginger, I increaded the garlic by 2 large cloves (can never have too much garlic lol!) also added in a pinch of cayenne pepper, thanks for sharing such a wonderful soup recipe that my family thoroughly enjoyed tonight!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz September 05, 2008

This was amazing! I have never tasted such good soup, if I don't mind complimenting myself! I skipped the butter, just sauteed the onion in veg. oil. I also had an old leek left in the fridge, so I chopped that up and sauteed it with the onion. I used my homemade chicken stock and minced some frozen ginger I had in the freezer. It was so delicious after I used my immersion blender to puree the soup, I skipped the cream --- It didn't need it! Thank you! I'm making a second batch right now, checking the ingredient list, and thought I'd leave the review.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LawyerMom October 05, 2011

Fantastic! Like another reviewer, I omitted the butter (used olive oil) and the heavy cream (used 6 oz of plain, Greek yogurt). I also added a Granny Smith apple -- extra delish! Couldn't decide at the end whether to add cinnamon for sweetness or cayenne for spice, and ultimately forgot to do either. It was superb all the same!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenFish January 08, 2013

Incredible! Silky smooth & wonderful flavours!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dancerdeb December 17, 2014

This is my first attempt at making squash soup as we are not big squash lovers. Wow! It was delicious. I made it as written but halved the recipe since I bought the smallest squash in the store. I added some red pepper flakes to mine and a dollop of sour cream to both bowls. Will definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
surus December 07, 2014

Absolutely divine! I've never had butternut squash soup before, so this was a revelation. The instructions were easy to follow, and like many other reviewers, I too used some cayenne pepper. It was amazing on the day I made it, serving it with homemade crusty bread, but it became something brilliant on the day afterwards. Would definitely make again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NettieT September 16, 2014

Great recipe! Super easy and the roasting really brings out the flavor of the squash. I did swap nutmeg for cinnamon because my cinnamon is old. Next time I'll just use 1/4 cup half and half. THanks for hte keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz November 15, 2013

This was wonderful! Added a great big honeycrisp apple and had to sub the cream for evaporated milk. Would make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI October 19, 2013

Very good recipe. I almost doubled the squash and cinnamon, added a little flour and water paste and let simmer to thicken it up. After it thickened, I added a little half and half and parsley flakes at the end for color and it was delicious! Will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
taradalyn1 August 01, 2013

Wow - this soup was delicious and impressed my dinner crowd. I don't usually review recipes, but this was so outstanding I just had to put in my $.02! Definitely will be making this for Holidays. Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
malika November 21, 2012
Simple Roasted Butternut Squash Cinnamon Soup