59 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Dorothy, my husband loved this meatloaf, he said it kind of tasted like pork. I think it was the thyme and the beef broth. He wasn't crazy about the topping, so he just scraped it off. Thanks for a good meatloaf recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 November 06, 2002

Killer!

UPDATE: I just made this again and I am still amazed at how firm and moist this meatloaf is at the same time.

I made this for a company who I cater for. To make it for fifty people I wanted to keep it basic so I didn't use the thyme or sage. I didn't use the glaze because I served it with gravy and it was the most delicious meatloaf ever. Thanks again, Derf. It is the only meatloaf recipe I will ever use.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissMia September 01, 2012

I made this recipe on 7/13/12 for mine and my SO's dinner. Except for free- forming the loaf and placing it in a 9x13 in.baking dish,the recipe was made as it was written.After baking, I let it " rest "for about 10 minutes and it sliced perfectly without any crumbling at all.!! Very enjoyable taste. Thank you so much for posting, and " Keep Smiling :) "

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � July 14, 2012

Was okay but I thought it was a little bland.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deerfieldbeach January 18, 2015

I started to make this meatloaf and realized I was out of egg's but I just went with it :) I used Ritz crackers and I have to say this was the most moist and flavorful meatloaf I have ever made family loved it! I thought the topping was a little to sweet but It did not change the fact that the meat was delicious!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ryan & Aliyah's Mommy November 16, 2014

Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! Yum! <br/><br/>Only change was using 1 cup of crushed cornflakes to be dairy free. My meatloaf hater devoured this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Burned Toast January 07, 2014

Awsome.... The reviews are true... this meatloaf holds it's form and is so moist and yummie!!! The changes I made were.... 1 1/2 grnd beef and 1/2 pd spicy suasage.... no sage ... no salt.... added a package of lipton onion soup and a full teaspoon of pepper and a little fine chopped green pepper..... the sauce I used was a small can of italion seasoned tomatoe sauce about 2 teaspoons BBQ suace and 1 tspn dijon mustard..... This was sooooo tender and yummie... I think its the beef broth.... whatever it is I DONT CARE... this is now my STAPLE recipe... THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
txsunray January 07, 2014

I do not eat meatloaf... well, I didn't use to... This was so delicious and moist! I think it made a huge difference that I purchased my ground beef at a local butcher's shop; it really made this a restaurant quality recipe! I can't wait to use the left over slices to make Grilled Meatloaf!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
G.I. Joe Girl August 30, 2013

This is the best meatloaf ever! My family raved and raved. I altered it a bit. One pound hamburger (lean) and one pound sausage. I did not use any topping. I will never make meatloaf any other way. THANK YOU for posting this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rinkydynk May 09, 2013

Easy to follow recipe, great tasting meatloaf. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark H. February 25, 2013
Simple Ranch House Meatloaf